Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Surface

by Taffaz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my 3rd Ludum Dare Entry. I hope you enjoy playing it and feel free to give me any feedback, positive or negative.

The instructions are in the game but they are fairly easy to pick up.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#699Humor2.24
#844Theme2.91
#970Audio1.78
#1010Fun2.46
#1160Mood2.07
#1166Graphics2.09
#1178Overall2.40
#1211Innovation1.97

Comments

Integershift says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:21am

The game was alright in my opinion, I experienced some bugs in the beginning...

Tipyx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Little bug with the sounds, but good job.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Decent little game, good entry. :)

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:44pm

The sound is weird. But the game is nice

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Got to 1000, thanks for the game!

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:46pm

I had a few bugs where I could not move left or right anymore, and some sound issues.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:01pm

The game is really nice and you made a good job on the level design but please, get rid of that jumping sound!!!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:36pm

I found a bug that allowed me to go... beneath the surfaces... *Inception sound* ;)

Taffaz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Thanks everyone for the comments. I never experienced any sound issues in dev (apart from the annoyance of the swim sound) so not sure what is causing that or what it is which sucks.

@Crocantidepollo, does that mean I get extra marks for the theme :)

Nezzhil says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Found a boug at the third level that block me left and right movement. Good entry

pkenney says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Good execution, you had a little of everything with graphics, sound, music, a HUD, etc. But I thought the sharks were a little too similar and non-sharkey to keep me replaying.

There was a bug on level 2 where I went off the top of the screen and got stuck outside the game world.

dj_pale says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Small issues with collisions, sound gets annoying (do not replay if sound is already playing for example). Could be a nice start.

frogcheese says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Nice obstacle course game. The diving sound got annoying pretty quickly, and the collision was a bit wonky (especially on level 5) but overall it was quick, simple fun.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:50pm

This is a fun start. Like others have said the collision detection is a little *too* sensitive and the movement can seem a bit jerky, and with some polishing this would be a really fun game!

May 18, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Awesome Job! :D -Mallot1 GameGrape Corporation: www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]