Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Magma

by DMinsky - Jam Entry

This planet is cursed. People are mired in sins, mortal sins. Force, was lurking billion years beneath the surface, ready to wipe them off the face of the Earth.

Design and art by grlmc13
Code by dminsky

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#13Theme(Jam)4.14
#35Innovation(Jam)3.89
#40Audio(Jam)4.00
#64Overall(Jam)3.78
#69Mood(Jam)3.88
#91Graphics(Jam)4.21
#97Fun(Jam)3.54
#316Humor(Jam)2.71

Comments

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:11pm

nice graphics and good concept.

soulrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

A relatively simpel concept, but a lot of fun to play nonetheless. Visually pleasing and the music fits the game very well!

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Absolutely fantastic! great play on earths crusts and stuff

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Absolutely fantastic! great play on earths crusts and stuff. Thought the graphics and audio were great and the gameplay was really fun. Will share with friends!

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45pm

The concept and music was quite depressing, otherwise great mood, audio and graphics :) Nice job!

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:07am

Good job,
It's a nice concept !
The sounds and graphics are really cool !

brogrammers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:09am

is there a way to regain energy or is it just that you have a limited amount of projectiles per run? nice game anyways (:

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:19am

@brogrammers, yep, you are limited by 5 projectiles per game. Thanks for feedback!)

nxT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:32am

Fresh and fun mechanic

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:40am

Finally you've added gameplay aka avoid the obstacle) Like the atmosphere and polish. Thx for realworld gathering)

matheod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45am

Really nice sound and graphics. My record : 3164562500

Seem hard to kill everybody oO

dartsdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:50am

Nice game, fairly simple but fun.

matheod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:53am

3924003905 :D

Okay I starting to know how to kill everybody :D

bldr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:55am

Молодцы, в последний момент запилили геймплей. не хватает кнопки рестарт. супер дизайн, концепт музыка и красивый код!

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Wow this game is really well polished and the concept is great. I really love the animation of the volcano forming.

Great work

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Excelent concept. Please finish this. :)

lajos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Looks awesome. Fun game!

suurin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Very cool..everything. Really enjoyed this one a lot.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Really liked the graphics and the clean look of it. The general perspective reminded me of our own game. :) Gameplay is easy to understand and pick up. Would be cool to add some variation, like being able to recharge your powers depending on if you hit planes for example. I think the idea has potential.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Wow, made me feel really weird. Great concept and polish, totally addicting.

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Wow, the gameplay was amazingly fresh and innovative. Great use of theme, soundtrack and art were also very good. One of the best I've played!

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19pm

This fits the theme better than any other, I think. Something powerful lurks beneath the surface.

Crabman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:02pm

6351999912. Where are the last 88 hiding? >_O

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Great visuals and fun to play. :D Really enjoyable. :D

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Nicely polished and an interesting concept. I wish there was a restart button -- if you mess up once while trying to get "Kill 'Em All," you have to give up and try again.

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Nicely done, tho this did freak me out a bit since I need to fly on a plane tomorrow :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Pretty cool idea. Simple but effective. I really like the atmosphere on show here, very moody and oppressive. The presentation in general is top notch. Nice!

miwuc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:41am

Great graphics, simple and intuitive gameplay, and great use of the theme.
Although it's a bit disappointing that the only way to kill everybody seems to be to wait for them to commit suicide by volcano. Even then, I didn't manage to kill everyone. Apparently 209 people live in the countryside or something, since all the cities showed "Punished", and no planes flying anymore.
I couldn't figure out how to get "mega vulcano" either (I tried firing several volcanos in the same place, next to each other, and not missing any of them).

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:55am

The audio, art, gameplay and theme all feet so well together... brilliantly designed and executed. Good job!

May 1, 2014 @ 10:20am

We almost had the same idea!!! At least we have the same view :) Great little game, I like the presentation. Nice work!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:27am

Like the concept =)
Very adictive game at all.
Its a good job, man!

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Very beautiful and addictive ! 5/5. But I just ended up like Crabman with 88 mysterious survivors...

May 1, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Very well polished game with good graphics and sound, well done.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Amazing, such a dark feel. Very well executed.

DMinsky says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:21pm

@Crabman, @miwuc, @flavio and many other who have issue with survivors, sorry for that, it's my bug. @miwuc getting "mega vulcano" is simpler than you think)

miwuc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Ha, indeed, I never realized that you could use more energy for single volcano :)

asotelo94 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:55am

Very fun game! Specially liked the achievements. Hard to get.

wdebowicz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:50am

One of the top entry! Great concept, great mood!.

Katamori says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:27am

The 100th game I rate in LD29.

Great concept, I expcted a little bit more content.

Snoother says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Music really consolidated that powerful, earth-shaking feel. Concept was perhaps a bit underdeveloped -- could have had different levels or a larger planet -- but it was nevertheless very fun to play. Regardless of the premise, I felt evil for what I was doing. Congrats.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Pretty solid entry! I enjoyed this, great concept and interpretation of theme.. It was hard for the first time, but then it's just pure fun.. Didn't actually managed to kill'em all.. last 19 people was in plane when their last city exploded :-/ I hope they enjoyed that orgy for repopulating their planet...

lightsoda says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Pretty simple but enjoyable gameplay. Nice graphics and audio. Overall pretty well done!

Zerkruemler says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Huuuuu... the earth strikes back. Nice idea and implementation. Also the changing popuplation with the planes is a good idea and makes the game more dynamic.
Fantastic soundtrack.

mcapraro says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:29am

nice idea and mechanic

darke_shard says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:50am

Wow, I thought this was just a simple blast'em game with an annoying timing mechanic until I realised the population fluctuated based on the airplanes. There's more depth here than I realised, no pun intended! The music and the graphics really set the mood to this game.

Candyhandy says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Incredibly simple and effective concept, also i love the atmosphere.

mustaine says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:09am

I think this is my favorite game thus far. Great use of the theme, simple, challenging, great audio, and unique mechanics. Love it.

goerp says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:50pm

It took me while to figure out that the planes were not potential targets but moved the people.
After that I had mo0re fun playing this game.

Very nice take on the theme and easy to play with nice graphics.
Enormous scores! (sometimes to big to fit in the screen if I'm not mistaken?)

michelfontes says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:49am

A-WE-SOME.

May 13, 2014 @ 3:49am

Neat game. Took me a second to realize i was supposed to shoot past the crust. Fun once I got into it.

Nice entry!

jorgemoag says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:04pm

it's very funny but I dont know if I can get more earth power, is it possible? Aynway, very good entry!

May 19, 2014 @ 4:01pm

You have been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGeNgHcRBLQ

IAmSpencer says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:13pm

nice clean graphics, unique concept, and overall fun, great job :)

DMinsky says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Oh, Ludum Dare to Believe! That's cool!
Also, thank you all guys for your feedback, glad to hear it!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]