Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Surface

by clearlyspam23 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A side scrolling rogue-like where you pick up weapons as you descend below the surface of the world to fight various monsters. Might be a little buggy as I rushed to finish up at the end there.

WASD to move, mouse to shoot and change facing.



I was trying to go for a rogue-like shooter thingy, in the style of risk of rain and the binding of isaac, however, I didn't really get to spend as much time as I would have liked balancing the things that make those games fun (items, bosses).

And being able to walk through the slimes is intentional, they only deal damage when they stop flashing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#916Audio1.94
#1001Humor1.75
#1009Theme2.58
#1041Mood2.40
#1061Graphics2.36
#1108Fun2.30
#1152Overall2.47
#1251Innovation1.72

Comments

Lolninjacatz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:42am

Hi John :). Great job; especially since you got this running off your own physics. You probably should add that in your comment, I think; getting an idea of what the maker did frames the grading I think. Like the wall jumping a lot. Kinda hard to tell what the power ups do. Graphics are great for a programmer, and audio is pretty fitting. The jump is a little too high pitched for my liking though. I think some background music/sound effects of a cave of something would have improved the mood a bit, but I'm not blaming you for that. Great job John! Thanks for encouraging me to participate too!

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35am

Fun 8bit game. Nice sound effects, enjoyable gameplay.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42am

I just kept running though the same halls with more and more enemies each time but never found anything else.

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03am

I like that you can upgrade your gun. I found myself just running and jumping and shooting through each level to just try and get to the end as fast as possible. That got me far, but not far enough. The jump sound needs to be changed!

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14am

Nice, but seems too easy.. Maybe it should be little bit faster imo :) Good job.

tanner101010 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:09pm

The jump control needs a little more tuning. I like the idea of running in the same room over and over again and the game seems to be endless.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Solid platformer!

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

I like the blobbies

udvaritibor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

"I just kept running though the same halls with more and more enemies each time but never found anything else." Same over here. I think it was a little bit to easy, I was just running and not shooting anything after a while and I still made it more than 5 levels. I like the character, it reminds me of the movie Alien, I don't know exactly why. But overall I like it, with a little tweaking it could be more fun.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Took me a while to realise you could wall jump (even with the flying eyes). More variety to the level might make it usefull as a mechanic. As it is, I don't really see the appeal.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Game was alright but the controls were way too floaty. The ground sprites were nice though!

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:18pm

I liked the game. I don't know what the red arrows do though...

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Not bad :)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Hehe, funny!

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Nice platformer, it does get a bit hard over the second gun. Still I liked it.

Blanky says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:52am

Nice game. I liked the audio together with the art style.
Some ideas I thought would be cool:
It would have been cool if you displayed the current depth level. And perhaps only enable the player to advance to the next level if all the creatures is dead. That would be a nice and fast way to give a cool purpose to the game. It would make it quite a bit more addictive for me.

May 7, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Good job!

I think it would have been cool to have a few more distinct level layouts. That's probably the least work you could spend to make the most difference in fun. Also, maybe lower the roof and raise the floor a little, to give it more of a claustrophobic feel.

The rate of fire of the gun was also kind of slow for my taste, and it meant that I had to click a lot to get anything done.

vilya says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:47pm

There's more depth to this than I thought at first. Some nice designs on the monsters and the wall jumping actually added quite a lot. Nice!

On the downside, I found the controls were a bit difficult to get used to & I think the pacing was a bit off.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]