Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Black Box Quest

by rogerklotz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Control an underwater robot to try to find a black box at the bottom of the ocean! Pick up broken pieces along the way which you can use to upgrade your ship! Use a keyboard or XBOX controller to play.

Made with Libgdx, RUBE, Box2dLights, Paint.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#316Theme3.54
#350Fun3.28
#388Overall3.34
#414Graphics3.38
#570Mood2.97
#634Innovation2.95
#748Humor2.18
#978Audio1.75

Comments

abrie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22am

Crash:
max texture size = 8192
Controllers: added manager for application, 1 managers active
0
Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" java.lang.IndexOutOfBoundsException: index can't be >= size: 0 >= 0
at com.badlogic.gdx.utils.Array.get(Array.java:127)
at com.kargames.bbq.widget.SensorInfo.<init>(SensorInfo.java:48)
at com.kargames.bbq.screen.BaseScreen.<init>(BaseScreen.java:57)
at com.kargames.bbq.screen.SplashScreen.<init>(SplashScreen.java:15)
at com.kargames.bbq.manager.ScreenManager.init(ScreenManager.java:40)
at com.kargames.bbq.App.create(App.java:46)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:136)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:114)

rogerklotz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30am

Sorry about that, and thank you very much for posting the log. It should be fixed now.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39am

Very fun. I like

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:51am

I win!

I liked the shadowing effect from the light, and the sub is fun to drive (swim?) around when it gets faster...

Very smooth feeling controls. The sound didn't work for me.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:06am

Nic game, cool concept!

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:12am

I enjoyed this throughout the game. The choice of the lighting engine was nice, and the controls felt good. Solid! :)

Belvar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14am

Cool game ! The lightning and graphics looks really good.
It would be even better with some sound.

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:52am

It really lacks some ambient, underwater music. But the actual game is implemented well and controls are smooth. I've also made game using libGDX and box2dlights, so look at mine if you are interested ;) Good job

l3dx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:32am

I liked it. The upgrades makes it fun, and the the shadows/fog of war was a nice touch. I managed to get stuck between some walls though.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41am

Impressive, with an eerie mood!

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:59am

Very very nice game and idea. This game has big potential.

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:59am

That was fun, I even kept playing after I won to get all the upgrades.

wicht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:34am

Fun little entry! I would prefer if the drone crashes if you hit rock too fast. But other than that nice little game which entertained me well.

Stepperz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:50am

I really liked the graphics with the shadows. Enjoyed playing it :)

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Fun little game. Maybe some obstacles would improve the game play, still a fun game.

HybridMind says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Pretty cool. I liked the weird lighting effect. I managed to find the black box and the upgrading was a nice enticement along the way.

kevinAlbs says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Really nice work. The movement is smooth and I like the lighting effect. I know that making/getting good music is really difficult, but some fitting music would definitely kick it up a notch. Also, I personally feel like the submarine graphic seems a little out of place. Maybe it would fit better if it were animated with a moving rotor and bubbles, not quite sure. But great work overall!

Muciojad says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:49pm

I very like your game, it's... "pleasant" :) Anyway, although there is a lot of game under water, your entry is original, but there should be some liquid music ;D Aach, is there random map generation? I really like it. :)

cheesepencil says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Dark and scary, like being deep under the earth in minecraft. I won!

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:37am

This was a pretty neat concept, and that light effect is really cool! The only downside is there's not much gameplay to it; there should be some threat or challenge besides knowing when to turn back.

romandtom says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:35am

Found the box :D
Loved your game!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:33am

I played through the whole thing, maxed out my stats, and found the box. Pretty nicely done. Now that you have the basics, adding a little variety will go a long way.

Teesquared says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 5:26am

Very fun and innovative game. The arrow that points back to your sub totally makes the game work. Cool shadows and bubbles.

May 17, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Solid entry. You established a nice mechanic with balancing cautious exploration with obtaining upgrades in order to go further. Nice lighting effects as well.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]