Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Dark Dank Dusty Musty Dirty Decrepit Massive Moist Manholes

by CharlieLove - Jam Entry

DDDDMDDMMM is a simple typing game. Birthed from the likes of Nintendos Game & Watch Manhole and those ridiculously stressful blinking platforms from Donkey Kong Country, DDDDMDDMMM sees the players tasked with guiding their little goblins and ogre minions to the other side of the screen without any accidental deaths.

Goblins are the little green guys. They're super fast and run to the right. Ogres are quite large and quite slow and go to the left.

Power is used to activate the manhole covers. These last for about three seconds before deactivating. Power is given as needed based on minions on screen. This was done to prevent people with mechanical keyboards spamming keys. Note that the power also only goes to 10 (10 fingers).

Created for the 29th Ludum Dare Game Jam.

Tools Used:
Game Maker Studio
Audacity
BFXR
Bosca Ceoil
Photos Taken By Myself

Chaz Louviere 2014

Twitter: @crashbanito

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#156Innovation(Jam)3.50
#255Fun(Jam)3.20
#325Overall(Jam)3.29
#334Humor(Jam)2.67
#540Audio(Jam)2.58
#578Theme(Jam)2.68
#616Graphics(Jam)2.70
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

Gaeel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21pm

I only have one brain damn you!

(I think I'm too stupid to multitask more than one task n.n)

In any case, a fun idea, would love to see someone acing this game...
That someone is not me though, try as I might, I can only save one goblin at a time...

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30pm

"HJKL"? DAMN YOU CharliLove, DAMN YOU! My typing brain only knows "JKL;"!

Fantastic game - damn tricky. I feel like it was too slow at the beginning (especially when you die straight away and have to wait for the lil' fella to fall) but thinking it was too slow doesn't last long...

sam101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Nice game, a little bit too hard even in easy mode, but the idea overall is fun !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:39pm

This would make an incredible typing game if you added more letters or even words.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

A game that requires keyboard control, what do you think we are, programmers?

oh. :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50pm

The music was kinda catchy. The easy level was a bit too easy. Cool game :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08am

I like it! Bookmarking to play when I finally decide to type correctly

aneeslol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:29am

Oh my god multitasking is hard T_T

alvarop says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31am

Nice and simple concept that can get pretty hard after a while. While the gameplay is somewhat limited, I like it's simplicity. Believe it or not, I find your game relaxing.

I saw this game while it was in development and had a hard time understanding what it was all about. With the graphics you added it all makes sense.

Managore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:00am

Wow, this game does a fantastic job of making you frantic. When that ogre appeared I started to lose it! Great game!!

TheMaster99 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:35am

I'm pretty sure this is the first time I've ever seen a typing game for Ludum Dare! Good game, not much to comment on, but this is fun compared to most typing games.

Tanner says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Nice game!

pkenney says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:23am

A real brain-bender! Keeping track of everything was really tricky, I got to fingerspaz mode pretty quick.

Jeffalisk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Could maybe have done with a "medium" difficulty between the easy and the hard, as hard was VERY hard!

Liked the idea though, an original game mechanic well implemented.

edibletoaster says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Really tough on hard but fun. Easy was far too easy and dare I say a bit boring. But something a bit harder than that would probably be a sweet spot for easy. Again hard was great. Loved it.

Good stuff

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]