Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

See

by Esenti - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Eat smaller creatures to grow, avoid larger ones to not die a horrible death.

Controls: WASD to move, SPACE to attack.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#641Fun2.93
#798Overall2.93
#837Innovation2.68
#843Audio2.17
#997Mood2.45
#1080Graphics2.31
#1155Theme2.20
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33am

Bit hard at first, but once you get the mechanic its really good ^^. There is a visual bug when red eyes are close, but that doesnt affect gameplay, and its understandable on compo games :)

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42pm

I really liked the game, but I don't relate it too much to the theme

eowindil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:09pm

The mechanic is interesting, and quite hard but the attack movement is, I think, too wide.

Snoother says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Yeah, once I grasped the mechanic it became really fun. But I too am curious how it relates to the theme.

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Hi. Managed to eat a couple of greens, but then everything Red as moved down. Shame no sound.

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:29am

I found the game ended very quickly for me. I did manage to get a score of 40 a few times though. Neat use of all black and just glowing eyes for the critters.

Candyhandy says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Really nice, it has a spore feeling to it.

vilya says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:40pm

The collision detection seems to be a bit off sometimes. The gameplay is not bad, but I found myself just sticking to the top of the screen most of the time. I do think there is potential in this idea if you wanted to keep working on it. Not really anything to do with the theme though, as far as I could tell?

Esenti says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Thanks for all the comments! Well, the basic idea for connection with the theme is that the game takes place somewhere "beneath the surface" of an ocean, hence all the darkness and things. But I do agree, it's not that obvious.

May 18, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Amazing! I love the artwork and graphics! :D Good Job! -Mallot1 GameGrape Corporation: www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

tompudding says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Colourblind mode please :)

May 19, 2014 @ 10:43pm

On Firefox, I only see yellow eyes and have to judge by size (which is hard, since the size resolution is not that high). I like the idea of the game, it kept me playing for a couple of minutes. My main suggestion is to make sure the player doesn't get stuck in an unwinnable situation, where she's too small to eat anything anymore.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]