Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sprites.CSV: Cute,Snuggly,Versatile

by awppy - Jam Entry

4/29/2014: Changed Build settings from Debug to Release to attempt to fix dependency issues for some users

4/30/2014: Linux build up! Not 100% sure of the dependencies; you may need to pull opentk/openAL from your distro's repository. If all else fails you could just grab the requirements for Monogame, but I'm guessing if you're interested in the Linux build, you already know more about Linux than I do

5/2/2014 - Removed some unnecessary files



Have you ever wanted to throw an antlion at a tiger? Have you ever wanted to walk through a field of beer and marshmallows as a corgi? Have you ever wanted to touch a Gameboy, but it was too prickly and kinda hurt? Do you long to watch marshmallows or eggs roll down a hill made of birds?

If you answered yes to any of the above, this game is definitely for you. Embark on a new adventure defined BY YOU - go behind the scenes of the game's Draw() methods by adding, removing and rearranging the sprites used to draw the game. Throw things, avoid things, bump into things, and fall into places you shouldn't in this cute, lovable, do-as-you-please platformer that is sure to warm your heart, win you the love of your life, and make your parents finally forgive you for getting caught smoking weed that one time.



System Requirements: WHATEVER MONOGAME GAMES REQUIRE. I don't actually know. Here are some theories:

- .NET Framework 4
- OpenAL (installer included in Dependencies folder)
- OpenGL 2.1 or greater (may not work on embedded GPUs)
- The latest DirectX???

Linux and probably Mac ports will be coming soon!

Code: @CheeseWarlock, @LordGarvar
Graphics: @Wanyodos
Audio: @HangOnGetReady, @armcannon

ps: you can change window size with 1, 2, 3,4 on the keyboard

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#5Innovation(Jam)4.26
#24Fun(Jam)3.96
#27Overall(Jam)4.04
#38Humor(Jam)3.83
#99Audio(Jam)3.73
#112Mood(Jam)3.71
#226Graphics(Jam)3.74
#444Theme(Jam)3.00

Comments

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:07am

hm I could not get it to run, the exe did nothing. I know i have windowsGL installed as well. Running win7

nddrylliog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:14am

Best game.

IndieST says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17am

I can't run the game. Opened LD29.exe and a window popped up and told me the application stopped. My OS is Windows 7 x64.

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17am

Great pixel art, and a really fun 'twist'. Wish it was a bit longer though!

(My attack was a chicken, which is excellent)

gene-z says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19am

Very nice job, congratulations

awppy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19am

@Magdev

Do you have .NET 4.0?
Do you have XNA 4.0? That might be a requirement, too. It shouldn't be but tbh I have no idea what the dependencies are

LPGhatguy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:44am

That was pretty fantastic. I wish there was more to the game. I was confused when I first finished it and thought that I perhaps might be able to unlock additional sprites. Wasn't sure how it fit in with the theme unless you consider a technical perspective. Otherwise, nice work!

Fritzendugan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55am

Solid platforming mechanics, wish I could've used a controller, but other than that the jumping felt very tight and the collision worked as expected. Some of the jumps were borderline challenging enough to make me quit, but a couple persistent attempts later and the feeling of accomplishment more than made up for the difficulty. So, I'd say the level design was pretty good in that regard.

At first it was very disorienting when you don't have enough sprites, but the mechanic of "managing" your sprites as though they were resources was actually pretty neat. Some secrets that only get revealed when you activate certain sprites would've been pretty neat.


Now, for some nit-picky things. I wish I could've stretched the window and/or full-screened the game. I kind of wish there were at least a few more levels, or that playing through the game again had some purpose other than experimenting with sprites (which, don't get me wrong, was still a pretty gratifying reward for completion). Multiple ending paths at the last level that reveal different sprites or something?

Not sure what you're going with as far as theme here. I guess something along the lines of at first the game looks very barren until you attach sprites to things? Or is it something about "looking beneath the code?" Kind of a stretch, but that's fine, at least it was something different from all of the "underground" skinned games.

Overall, very cute, fun little game. Absolutely loved the music, brought back fond memories of gameboy and nintendo games. Well done.

awppy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48pm

@Fritzendugan: Thanks for the feedback and insight! Also, thanks for reminding me:

You can resize the game window by pressing either 1, 2, 3 or 4 on the keyboard. No fullscreen though; that was disabled to make preserving pixel aspect ratio easier ):

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:09pm

This is super cool. I only wish the movement was arrow keys or controller based so I could make it through some of the more difficult areas. This is a really solid platformer, I had a lot of fun with it!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Awesome! Just amazing! Best game so far :)

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:20am

I couldn't play this one. I have a non-qwerty keyboard, and while normally I would just use the qwerty IME, that didn't work on this one, it wouldn't let me switch.

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:25am

The game concept is real innovative and great!

kogyblack says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:43am

Really nice!
The concept is awesome. A full game in this concept would be great. Nice job!

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Brilliant.

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:10pm

I had some trouble running it until I found the Dependencies folder. D'oh! -_-U

The game idea is really original and it works wonderfully well. Also, retro-like graphics look great.

Congrats for an amazing entry! :D

ChuiGum says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:48am

Awesome music and graphics! Very original too

TobiasW says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:49pm

I had two problems:
- The number keys change the window size, but with the instant mouse lock I couldn't move the window properly. The mouse lock acted up sometimes ingame too.
- You know what people sometimes use to close ingame menues? Right, Escape - the same key that closes your game without confirmation :(

Apart from that (and those weren't big problems) it was quite enjoyable and a very cool concept! And I really like games that allow for user-created creative humor - there are never enough of those. Great job!

awppy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:31am

@TobiasW - I feel you on the Escape thing (I did that at LEAST once during development). Normally would put an "Are you sure you want to quit?" overlay, but didn't afford the time ):

Almost says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:36am

This game is hilarious. I initially was trying to run LD28.vshost because I hadn't noticed the other exe.

kunzbe says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:17am

Played as a brick, hillarious

2HitAdam says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Really cool innovative and fun idea, that did a great job of showing the player how it worked incrementally. Loved it! The knockback on damage was sometimes frustrating, like I think getting hurt is bad enough without getting knocked to your death haha, but otherwise really solid and great music too! My only other criticism is that the game wasn't titled "The Floor is Chickens," but that's just a minor gripe ;)

asotelo94 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Can't open, running on windows 7.

Maniulo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:31pm

I don't like platformers, but the concept behind this is great. I wish there were more levels, really interesting what else could be done with this mechanic.

radmars says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Super confusing at first but awesome concept! The platforming physics felt pretty weird at times, but maybe that was because of different sprite sizes vs collision boxes. Great music too.

ActionRemix says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:42pm

I was worried I wouldn't be able to run this one. I got it up and running but I was colliding with invisible hitboxes, so I assumed I was missing a dependency. :D

mortus says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Nice approach, wish changing of graphics would change mechanics someway (at least minor).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]