Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Schist

by ix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Schist is an abstract game somewhat about mining. It is written in HTML5/javascript (with WebGL), with some level preprocessing in C++. Sounds were created in Reason.

Requires WebGL; it works well for me in Chromium on Linux [33.0.1750.152 (Developer Build 256984) Debian jessie/sid], your mileage with other browsers and OS's may vary.

Further notes:
- if background music does not start, try reloading.
- also works for me in Firefox on Linux.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#5Audio4.24
#38Innovation4.11
#39Overall4.00
#79Mood3.83
#96Graphics4.03
#143Fun3.61
#497Theme3.33
#1043Humor1.56

Comments

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

Wow, this was super cool. Relaxing and fun

GreenyUk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

Really like this! Great controls and love the overall feel. Awesome work :)

louiscarl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

Beautiful! Love the mechanics!

dpulrich says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46am

Pretty cool game! I love the music and sound effects

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48am

The audio is probably the best part about it. Love how addicting it gets.

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

Nice riff on artillery. The graphics and sound fit together nicely.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:09am

I really enjoyed this! A refreshingly unique game! :)

Woftles says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

Enjoyed the mechanics. Rather curious as to how you did the destruction and rendering.

aeveis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:42am

wow, very polished, the rendering and sounds are great. It works fine for me on Windows 8 64bit Chrome.

Jed T. says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:41am

At the beginning it was confusing to me, I didn't know that I should pull an invisible slingshot. But once I figured it out it's really fun. The angry bird mechanic is really a masterpiece.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37pm

I love finding beautiful gems like this in the middle of an LD-rate-a-thon. Everything works together so nicely. I've been on it for 20 minutes now just to listen to the soundtrack.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49pm

I love that entry. The audio and art are fantastic and the gameplay feels great. Good job

Afal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:45pm

I love the music in this. Very relaxing :)

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:49am

Nice music and art! Strangely addictive and relaxing.

thinkster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21pm

I really like this! Reminds me of worms when you launched the missile and it blew up the terrain. Fun to play!

Katamori says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Beautiful graphics and great atmosphere.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Very atmospheric, the musical element made me fall into a rhythm with the shooting.

Snild says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:54pm

The "mining" mechanic reminds me a bit of Worms.

The game should keep track of the smallest number of bombs used to finish a level, so that I can try to beat my records.

Figglewatts says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:16am

Really cool. I liked this one. Solid game.

dook says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Very well done! Super satisfying and relaxing mechanic. Only thing I miss is a challenge, but the audio and graphics and everything is simply great. I would definitely play a longer game like this :)

Bernhard says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Wow! Love all the dynamic audio and visuals, really impressive stuff!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]