Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

GroundBreaker

by Figglewatts - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a small robot sent to mine out an asteroid in deep space!
Venture beneath the surface of the asteroid in search of revered and precious materials, but be careful you don't damage yourself or run out of fuel!
Be sure to upgrade yourself so you can be more efficient at tearing this asteroid apart.

This is a procedurally generated 2D mining game. The deeper you go, the more money you make.
The more money you make, the better equipped you can be to make more money.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#221Overall3.56
#228Audio3.31
#248Fun3.42
#269Theme3.60
#367Mood3.20
#482Graphics3.27
#691Humor2.25
#797Innovation2.73

Comments

x1212 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02am

Nice game!

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Nice job :) Dug straight down and wasn't able to fly back up. Next play I had to strategically dig so that wouldn't happen.

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

You made a lot of progress on this, it turned out pretty well. I always like a game like this where you can upgrade as you progress. It's a bit difficult in the sense that the limited thrust can make it hard to get the miner back to the base, but it's probably nothing that a bit more planning ahead of time in regards to where you dig wouldn't solve. Graphics and audio are nice, and the caves being procedurally generated is a plus. Good job overall!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Nicely done! Good game play. You really want to keep going down. Though, not shure why I died.

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Wow, pretty well done for such a short time :o
Had a lot of fun exploring this world, the controls feel very natural to me.

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Like it. There's a bit of balderdash in there somewhere..

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Addictive! Control is a little bit slow, but that's the biggest problem.

Absolute 5, even if not outstanding.

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I think we all had the idea to first make this kind of game when we found out about the theme. :) You did pretty well. It's challenging, but rewarding enough for me to want to keep playing. The shop UI is a bit of a mess, but that can't be helped frankly. UI is always fucking hard to make. Well done!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Competent little minin' game! Did somethin' quite similar! :D Decent progression, looks great and good sound 'n music too!

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

dig dig dig... love digging games. Fits theme well

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Nice game, reminded me of Motherload and other digger games. Sounds were a bit harsh, and nobody likes playing on small screens. Felt pretty complete though. First time through, I fell and couldn't get back up.

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Very nice! Sadly I couldn't go back to the shop because I couldn't fly high enough... but this is very, very well done. Kudos!

maffydub says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Really nice! There's a good strategy element - if you dig too directly early on, you'll find it hard to return to your base later on. Good graphics and music too!

delfino says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:39am

Nice! I see a lot of the digging type game which make sense given the theme, this one is well executed

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Felt really good, I think this game could cross over into awesome with more objectives. Nice job!

Brodenino says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15pm

The music style reminds me of games from the Sega MegaDrive (that classical drum sound). A bit difficult at first, since I made several mistakes underestimating my available fuel. Nice to see some procedural level generation as well :)

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Wow, great game. The only problems I had was sometimes it would generate a world where I couldn't get back up to the shop since there was just a large air pocket below the entrance. The digging sounds were also very loud and harsh compared to the music. But it looked great, the music was awesome and it was fun and addictive. Awesome job!

Jaenis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Great game!

TomboFry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Do you know what really annoyed me about this game?
The fact that I played it for an hour without realising! This awesome game is incredibly addicting, and I only lost because I got a bit cocky and tried to collect too many ores before returning to the surface

igwb says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:29pm

I am a big fan of digging games.
However I had some troubles playing those one.
I think that the way you implementet the jet thing is fairly good and quite special. However, in my oppinion, there are two flaws with it:
1. I spent a lot of time just waiting for it to recharge.
2. On some maps, even before you dig anything, you can not get back into the shop because your jet runs out before your're in it. I found that very frustrating and was quite the game breaker for me.

Another thing I find worthy re-thinking are the controls. Is there realy a need to move with WASD and dig with the arrow keys? Why not put both on WASD? I'm not sure, just a suggestion. However I like the arrows that show up in the top-right corner of the screen to indicate where you can dig to. (Without those I probably wouldn't have figured out how to dig at all.)

Overall, I grant you a 4/5. I think that you have created a solid game here that's lots of fun to play (if you aren't stuck outside of the shop).

Ragzouken says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:13pm

got all the upgrades and went to the bottom, the hull damage didn't seem to matter that much - would've been nice to have some kind of ending

StudioWolfox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Nice little game! Got quite far but then I died while flying into my base, because I didn't have enough fuel to land in it xD UI is clear, was easy to understand. Although I wasted 280$ on refuel but I didnt know that a fuel tank upgrade of 100$ would also refuel :P

Knowledge says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Probably best Ludum Dare game for me(except maybe Wriggle Worm)!
Please play and rate my game again(I fix the isue)!

otato says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Solid game all around. Had issues getting back into the shop a lot of the time though :(

May 3, 2014 @ 12:03am

Neat idea.

Considering how often you need to go back to base, the rate at which collision damage rises makes it a tedious chore. Was starting to get the hang of it, but then I crashed into a one-width hole in the floor while speeding horizontally back to base. Hit for about 60% damage. Left a sour aftertaste.

Visual-wise, it's clean. Everything's easy to spot and intuitive. Collision issue aside, it's quite enjoyable. Good work.

Spaceoff says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:02pm

That was absolutely brilliant! Seriously addicting, loving the artwork, and the music loop fits really well too.

May 5, 2014 @ 2:19am

I rage quitted once i got many diamonds and the fuel went empty when i was like 10 meters from the shop e_e
Awesome game

rincewind_cz says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:41pm

First game I never made it back, second and third I actually did, but I wasn't able to collect proper amount of resources to refuel and upgrade myself.. I think that I would be pretty bad director of asteroid mining company with that results... :D Overall nice entry

KeyMaster says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Really good job! Had me playing for at least 15 minutes just because it was interesting to go deeper, earn more money and upgrade. Art and music were both good and the controls feeled good.
Bug-wise I only noticed a bit of tearing between the tiles, I guess that's because of gaps between the tiles (flooring tile coordinates normally helps)
Really nice and small game well executed :)

Nanolotl says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:53am

Really addictive. I ended up playing until I had maxed out every upgrade and had found every resource type, including the '?' one. Great job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]