Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kalahari Babysitter

by TijmenTio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Energetic youngster meerkat has to babysit his little sisters and protect them from vultures while their parents are off to see a concert.

Controls: Any key you see fit! (one-button control)

Thx for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#7Fun4.29
#15Overall4.21
#20Theme4.13
#30Graphics4.37
#50Audio3.84
#54Humor3.77
#67Innovation4.01
#147Mood3.63

Comments

GuyUnger says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:17am

What kind of sick blender did you use? This game is juicy as fuck!!
Dang it man, im really impressed!

Lrnk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Beautiful graphics and general feel. Love the simple controls. Failure is subtly heartbreaking.

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:38pm

yo thats some pretty rad stuff dawg
gameplay is smooth as, and quite original too. as Mr GuyUnger above said; juicy as rock

Nickabilla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Awesome game! Especially the shockwave. Also love the music!

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Fun, simple game! Had to turn down the volume after playing a few mins though hehe :)

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Holy shit that plays smooth as hell. And is so damn well and responsively animated. Wasnt expecting this, holy shit.

Superb job.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Freaking awesome animations! Love the graphics and the gameplay. Seems easy when it starts but it becomes harder later! Specially a good work with the animations.

Airwaffle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56pm

6200 score! Probably my favorite game presentationwise so far in that I've player! Nice work man!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Congratulations, I love everything :D You did an amazing work !

dector says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Yep, game is very sweet.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Everything is good. Audio, graphics and gameplay.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Creative concept found myself getting stuck into it, nice game

fueelin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39pm

You can get a pretty high score by spamming the button in the middle two tunnels, but other than that this game is awesome! Great graphics and mood and a very original concept.

Seraphina says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:40pm

As simple as it looks, this game is gorgeous. Lots of fun too! Great work.

davidB says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:42am

may be the first game, I'll replay later.

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Banging! This game was really awesome and fun :-) I couldn't quite get the timing of the double perfect jump, but I did try.

Really liked the music.

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43pm

"Where's Lily"? Where indeed.

Your games are always an absolute joy to play man. I don't know how you get the graphics so juicy, but you have a real talent for it, and you do text like no other. That's such a weird thing to say, but it's true. Like, how do you get dialogue windows that look so good? I think you just have my sense of humour too.

The game is awesome, I dunno what engine you used, but if it's easy to port to mobile, I mean.. you already have a game here, and it's that kind of addictive "you only need one button" like Flappy Bird. This could do really well with minimal effort on your part, you'd probably just need a longer music loop or something and that'd be it.

And obviously, fits the theme perfectly. Awesome man.

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Awesome, super fun gameplay, you should totally port this to mobile

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Awesome game! Nice gameplay, easy and fast. Nice entry.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:47pm

To echo what others have said, this game is juicy as hell. Great presentation and clever gameplay.

DrMelon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Really good job on this one! The visuals work perfectly, and the one-button control scheme is taught efficiently to the player in a way that makes sense. Good job!

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Nice game with very funny mechanics. I also like the graphics and the sound. Thank you for the game.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:48pm

You're welcome

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Thanks for the great feedback y'all ^^

Jed T. says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:33am

I managed to finish the game with 1 sister remaining The game is really good! controls are simple yet fun to play the graphics are fantastic. I most especially love the feedback when the score goes to the bottom left. And when you go back and dive to the tunnels dirt particles go splashy. Wonderful game sir.

GFM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:44am

WOOOW!!! This so friggin' fun!! Jumping, and then diving back to the ground, felt so satisfying... so damn good!
You've put some crazy polish in this game, congrats!! =D
(it's definitely going into my permanent folder of LD games =D)

Filecreation says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:44am

My PC is a bit too slow to run this game smoothly it seems, but when it didnt lag up, the game was crazy cool!
I really like the simple controls, even my grandmother could play a game like this.

Sanguine says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:18pm

So great, loved all the juice!

Eddy93 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:54pm

I can't wait to play the game man! By the look of the feedback you did a great job again! Well done!

9joao6 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:12pm

It's sublime... it's a thing-a-beauty, man! Perfect in every respect ;_;

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Cool game !
The animations are awesome !
And the gameplay is so smooth !
Good job !

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:37am

UGH YOU ARE GOOD. I ended up with 11,500 score. This is a really great use of the theme. I almost went with an idea similar to this, but without the arcade style timing-based fun. You really know how to make games simple yet exciting and fun to master. Great work as usual, man!

Ditto says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:00am

5 in all fields from me actually, this is probably the most dangest cool game I've played yet! The graphics are amazing, the way the controls work are super smart and even the sound is really good! My only complaint could maybe be that the game needs to have a bit more of a difficulty curve? Apart from that though, this is amazing, I really want this game on my cellphone, :D

terraco says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:47am

Wow. Juice as!

Kragnir says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:27am

Nice put together game, if you extend the runningarea you can avoid the problem with having the edges harder to hit. Could use some extra depth and I got very surprised when the game suddenly ended. But endings are always nice to have.

Ellian says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:41am

I LOST VIVIAN.
Man this game is so effin' good! Addictive, great art, great sound, amazing gameplay, incredibly simple and efficient...
Gah that was so rad! Thank you for allowing me to play this!

2HitAdam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Okay that was slick as hell, amazing job!

Dominator_101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Really nice!

I didn't realize it was one button controls at first, so I was trying to direct myself underground and kept popping back up. Once I realized that, though, it was pretty fun!

Jools64 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:11pm

This is a fantastic game, I'm really impressed! I love all of it, the sound, graphics and game-play. It felt like something quite unique that I've never seen before. The amount of polish with all the little animations is awesome.

Great job! One of my favorites.

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:40am

Hitting a double perfect W O W adore this.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:00am

this was an awesome game - added to my favorites list - great job

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:28pm

10350! I'm the best babysitter ever! Amazing game!

hissssssssss says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:42am

Both the graphics AND the audio are really juicy, responding to the play so well. I'm floored. Amazing job.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:28am

Screenshots can't do this game justice, it's smoooooooth. Beautiful work, I don't have any criticisms, but my jaw actually dropped a bit the first time I hit the spacebar. Phenomenal job!!

TobiasW says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:28pm

The description and intro is priceless, haha. And I love the look and feel of the gameplay! And with a game like mine I'm probably not allowed to complain about difficulty, but damn, this game is hard considering that you don't only have to be exactly under a vulture, but that position also has to be under a tunnel.

I lose pretty quickly, but it's still fun for me and feels great. Good job!

PS: I love how he's still active in the ending sequence, getting points for everything that hits him, haha.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Great game!

May 19, 2014 @ 11:45am

Didn't really understand why I lost, since one time I had two sisters left, and another time I only had one sister left.

It's certainly quite polished for a jam game, but it quickly got repetitive. First time playing it was fun, second time less so. Great job nonetheless.

klianc09 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Really awesome game, plays and feels simply great. I tried several times, but I can't get over 9900 points.
I would be really interested into how such a graphics effect is achieved. I wanted to look at the source but it's apparently a gamemaker file, and I don't feel like downloading gamemaker.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Awesome!

wilbefast says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Wow, this is great :D Very original gameplay, this is the first game I'm giving a high innovation score to so far ^^ I couldn't quite figure out when to press space to get a perfect, seemed a bit random. Oh, and the game is so juicy it hurts my face :P Well done!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Congratz! You did a very well done game and you was rated pretty well too! I hope i have the same rating look for the next ld xD! Really, congratz ^^

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]