Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Reggid

by bombjack - Jam Entry

Inspired by game like Dig Dug, Boulder Dash or Digger, Reggid let you mine and collect coins and gems.

I expected to add more stuff like treasure chest, bombs and lava but unfortunately I ran out of time.

I hope you'll have some fun with it.

Use arrows to move, jump and dig.
'R' to restart game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#232Theme(Jam)3.44
#311Humor(Jam)2.72
#337Fun(Jam)3.05
#458Audio(Jam)2.86
#469Overall(Jam)3.05
#494Graphics(Jam)3.05
#594Mood(Jam)2.65
#673Innovation(Jam)2.28

Comments

IcyLava says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Pretty fun, but I think the death detection is a bit glitchy. Also when you go right by using the D key you just die for no reason (and the death sound scared the heck out of me), but if you use the arrow keys it's fine. And why are diamonds only 10$? :P

bombjack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:05pm

oops, I forgot to remove the test 'D' key to kill the player :) I fixed it! Thanks.

Seme says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Nice little digging game! And yes, I saw it too that death detection is a bit glichty, just make sure to really run away from falling block. Nothing serious though. I really liked that 'scream' when player died, really funny :)

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Cool game. Death sound is awesome.

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Best die sequence :)

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Fun game - plays really well. Yeah, needs something else (like enemies) to really complete it, but you've done a great job so far. Death sequence will haunt my dreams :| !!

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Gameplay is solid. Perhaps the hitbox of the player is a bit too big at times. (I died unfairly once! x) ). Like the graphical style

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:27am

The sound when dieing is great! Nice entry.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:30am

Simple but sweet. I really liked that you could see the depths below as you feel to your death! A bit of music could do all the difference for this game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:41am

OMG, this dying scream could be the new Wilhelm scream no doubt!
Nice little entry, simple but efficient!

JoshOS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:06am

Nice, simplistic game! I don't know but for once the lack of music I felt was actually pleasant.

I'm not quite sure why you fall 1000ft when you die, but the visuals match the sound well, so, who cares? XD

I feel the falling block death is a bit harsh when on the furthest to the edge columns, you can't really avoid it. D:

As you said you intended to add lava etc, that'd help make the game feel more complete. Perhaps items like bombs or drills that move on their own?

Overall a fun little gem-hunt of a game, keep it coming! :)

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Dat death cry! XD

Ellian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Very reminiscent of Boulder Dash.
The controls could be tighter if you snapped the character to the grid, but it's quite a solid base if you want to expand the game further!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:29pm

aaaaaah , that sound when you die!

nicely done

Stuffie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Damn falling rocks! good game though I felt the down arrow mining was sometimes unresponsive.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Good game- As a kid I was a fan of Boulder Dash, so a little nostalgia in here :-) The movement and death detection was a bit weird, but all in all the game felt good, and I liked the sounds :-)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05pm

LOL Dat death sound, I enjoyed playing this game. Good job, most of my points goto humor because of that death scream and graphics :D

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Fun game! The controls act strange if you use the wasd keys instead of the arrow keys. Great art! Simple premise but I like it.

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:09am

that death sound is the best

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Simple, but well put-together! Nice art. The digging sound effect in my headphones hurt my ears though.

bombjack says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:09am

I just fixed the hit box. It feels better now.

Miltage says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:50am

Game looks good and the digging mechanic is implemented well. Would have been nice to have had some variation on that dig sound, especially if you have to hear it 1000 times.

Game became less challenging when I realised I could dash under blocks without being hurt. Death animation was well done, I like the way he falls to the bottom of the map.

Yword says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Fun and quite additive! Well done!

klianc09 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:51pm

The sound effects get kinda repetitive, but maybe only because there are so few. Except the death sound, which is of course really great. Otherwise nice little game, although maybe a bit easy.

Catman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Another good entry reminding me of the Suppaplex game I used to play when little! This one is well done, nice palette and I loved the death animation! :D

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Awesome graphics, cute and lovely! Congrats!

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:04am

I didn't wanna die so I don't hear that scream:) fun game.

cageinabird says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Makes a change from games with bfxr sounds. :)

It's pretty easy, but fun nonetheless.

neekobus says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:05pm

That's a good old school game.
I have reached the bottom and see... nothing :(

Good start, I will come back after you add lava, chest, enemies, explosions :)

caranha says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:23am

Nice, I had fun! The death sound, and all other sounds, were pretty nice. It would be nice to make the controls on mobile clearer. A few times I pressed down when I meant to press left or right.
Thanks for the game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]