Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

June 20th

by Pierrec - 48 Hour Compo Entry

He collects beer caps.
She loves birds. Seashells too, but not as much.
They're alone on the beach.
It's warm.
They're in love.
Everything's fine.

>>>I fixed some typos and added some ambient sound in the post-compo version. I recommend to play this one since it's better BUT if you do so don't rate the audio : this sound isn't mine.


Download the file, unzip it, then run June20.exe.
If it doesn't work run winsetup.exe, try different things, and click Save and Run.

The game is played with the mouse.
There is only one ending (but some few things to discover along the way)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#8Mood4.38
#39Overall4.00
#67Humor3.68
#181Fun3.53
#212Theme3.66
#308Graphics3.58
#505Innovation3.13
#909Audio1.96

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

Amongst all your games you now made a "Going to the beach-episode" ;P

Nice idea! Love the dialogue and the interplay.

pereubu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:48am

Makes me want to play my old point'n'clics again :3

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39am

Fantastic game. Loved the dialog, and the ending was so sad.

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31am

Really liked it for the most part! The shells and photographs were really nice distractions and looking up/down was a nice mechanical touch.

sam101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:46am

Genius ! I really liked your entry, the dialog was really really nice, and the ending was really touching.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Thanks! I added some sounds in the post-compo version. It's better that way.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Looks so good, and I like how people do something more with the narrative and add some depth.

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Awesome game, my favorite so far! :)

Zed says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Dude, that was... wow. Sudden emotional ending out of nowhere.

Also, I really feel the need to go and buy some Crispy Crisps...

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Wahouuuu. I'm subjugated by so mush talent oO. Good job Pierrec !

Gaeel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Oh and I'M the shitty asshole?
At least I didn't make the player CARE about the character first!

(For people reading, Pierrec knows I'm kidding, I'm not ACTUALLY insulting him)

andymar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Really good, but goes a bit slow.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Very nice one! Dialogs are great and the story is well told. Many good ideas along the way. Nice entry and i think your best one so far.

tomvert says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:59pm

I'm impressed. Your characters seems always so true and full of life, I didn't think I could get involve with the main character so quickly, I had the impression to know her with just a few details. As always there's a great sense of humour. SPOILER: Such a sad ending was unexpected at first, but then I was thinking "What was the theme again ? Oh no...". Bravo !

Volute says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Awesome! I totally felt like I was at the beach. The very simple and elegant graphics perfectly built the mood. I enjoyed looking up for birds and down for seashells. And the theme is omnipresent. Great job!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:19pm

The dialogues felt so so real, you sure know how relationships work out don't you? ;) I just hated the ending, I'm sorry...
Loved the main characters personality.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34am

I love the idea of a 1D point-n-click. Only being able to move back and forth along a straight path was a really unique choice, and it works perfectly.
Fantastic as always!

Toki Anholmes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:40am

Women who never stops talking when you're trying to enjoy your holidays... haha

Anyway, well done, amazing game

flavio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:07am

Ahah j'avais beaucoup aimé At the Cafe et la c'est vraiment cool aussi. Les dialogues et l'ambiance marchent vraiment bien ! Felicitations ! :)

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:45am

About the ending : I was first planing on adding an alternative ending (a bit less tragic), triggered by the finding of all birds/seashells and linked to the monolog. But you know, 48h.

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:59am

Ah ah! Crazy asshole! I DIDN'T EVEN REALLY CARE ABOUT THAT FUCKING BIRD!

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:21am

That's precisely why I wanted an alternative ending, on the car side :/

Hermes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24am

Very impressive!
I love the moment with the metal detector!

Helopol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:50pm

That is truly amazing. Loved it :D
And the ending is really damn well brought.

andymar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Amazing. Only critisism is that not everyone is going to know how to open .rar files; consider zipping it or something.

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Thanks for the game! I think you shouldn't have added the spoiler at the airplane -- it half-spoiled the ending for me :-)

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31pm

I didn't think someone would actually read the whole banner ^^

Anoarith says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:37pm

+1 caranha x)

Once again, it was a typical Pierrec's game : mood, love story and humor :)

GFM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:40pm

This! This is exactly the kind of thing I thought when I was thinking about how to use the theme differently! Amazing use of the theme!
Great narrative! But what I liked most were the monologues... They were just awesome! =D

bentosmile says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Oh no :( I tried a bunch of different things to get it to run, but couldn't. Damn, I really wanted to play. (Using 64bit Win7 if it's any help)

Meedoc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:09pm

As always, your games rocks. Just found the ending too predictable on that one though :-(

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:15pm

@Benttosmile : I'm really sorry. I know AGS game sometimes doesn't work on PC, and I really do not know why ...

Bashosha says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:41am

not working here :(

May 1, 2014 @ 8:09am

This is simple but does everything it needs to do. Works great with the sound (although I've not rated for that) and the way it plays out is moving - great work!

May 1, 2014 @ 10:11am

Thanks your game is a kind of virus X( You can't delete it and it launch by himself X(

TobiasW says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Oh wow, that was cool. I don't think I ever rated any game mood 5 without any sound, but the writing in your game nailed it! Interesting monolog and dialog sprinkled with lots of little bits of humor and a sense of discovery - I like it.

The only thing I could really criticize is that I've clicked away auto-appearing dialog once I enter a screen MULTIPLE times by accident.

Also, you're a monster.

PS: Is http://oujevipo.fr yours? If so, you left a really cool review for Catcher there - thanks a lot! Google Translate had problems with some of the more poetic phrasings, but I think I understood most of it :D

Pierrec says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:36pm

@tobias oujevipo is mine yes. Glad you liked the article and the game.

@jaques this obviously isn'tt normal. Can you be more specifiv?

allinlabs says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Even with those pixelated minimalist graphics, you made me feel at the beach. The little stuff, like looking up and see birds flying, looking down and have the feet in the water while searching for seashell.
Second ending would have been nice, I'm pretty sure I got all those little fuckers soul! Muahaha.
Anyway, great entry, and as always, delightful dialogs full of life <3

jerombd says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Great!! ...but the end is so sad... :'(

zebi24 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Absolutely love it!

Striwx says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:47pm

The mood and the story were cool. Maybe this was too long with all this fedex quests :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]