Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Surface

by praporomsk - Jam Entry

Hi! We'd like to introduce the Beneath the Surface, 8-bit styled survival horror game. You control a lame hunter who had a bad luck to fall into abondoned mine infested with giant centipedes. What is worse, he wanders in darkest darkness, only the smoldering cigarette illuminates his path. Your objective is to get out alive.

Controls:
* Left/Right - walk
* Up - Jump
* Space - Fire
* Z - lighter
* X - signal grenade

Spend wisely ammo and signal grenades, it given only at the start!

Built with cocos2d-x 3.0

Fixes:
- Windows-build crash on startup fixed
- MacOS-build set target to 10.7

P.S.: Please, leave comments after rating and I'll rate you back :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#120Graphics(Jam)4.11
#155Theme(Jam)3.59
#165Mood(Jam)3.55
#254Humor(Jam)2.86
#353Overall(Jam)3.24
#410Audio(Jam)2.98
#431Innovation(Jam)2.87
#530Fun(Jam)2.69

Comments

KumoKairo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:40am

Sick graphics, the game really fits the there of this LD.

Привет! :)

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48am

It looks great but I think the character moves too slowly, it is tedious to get anywhere. Maybe I'm just not meant to play this kind of game haha.

blahoink says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48am

i cant run it. (0xc000007b)

JayPC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:04am

"The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b). Click OK to close the application." Running Windows 8.1, Sad because the graphics looked really good!

praporomsk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:44am

Thank you for error. We will try fix it.

praporomsk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:20am

Hooray! We're fixed Windows version of a game! Please check it out.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:04am

Sick graphics dude

praporomsk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:52am

We've set minimum OS/X version to 10.7. Please check it out!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Game looks great, very hard to play though.

jaxonf92 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Great game. love the atmosphere

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Great job! The only critique I thought of was the lighting mechanic and the slow movement of the dude. Other than that, Nice work. :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Nice atmosphere, wonderful graphics, amazing work !

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Great graphics, great atmosphere. It clearly matches the theme well. I would have liked the controls a little bit more polished, especially the jump. That would have made the game a little bit easier.

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Beautiful. Everything is just beautiful. (Apart from the character speed, it makes an otherwise perfect game a little tedious in parts)

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Wow. Astonoshing graphics. Good work on the game. Its a bit slow but really good :D

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Played win32 version. Awesome game. Awesome graphics. Really nice concept (not actually the first one to use light in this manner). I hated how slow moving the guy was, other than that... really enjoyable entry. Good job.

Anoarith says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:55am

I like the light system but the game is too hard, that's too bad :(

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:43am

Lovely art and sound works well. Also liked the mechanic but did find it hard.

adamwfindlay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Looks lovely! I like how the different items can light the room up.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:21pm

I have some trouble jumping near the first hole. The up key doesn't respond once I'm near there and the character slides even without me pressing anything.
I'm guessing the player is not properly registering as "on ground" when he landed.
I retried two more times but still couldn't jump correctly.

The artwork is very well done though!

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Pretty nice graphics, but it's a shame there is no animation of the character movement (Or maybe there is a problem at my side).
The gameplay isn't really fluent and I felt lost sometimes. Could use a little polishing, but it's a very nice jam game. I hope you will make a post mortem version.

Tomski says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:21am

Really like the look of the game and it was quite fun too!

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Really great entry. The tension is great, and the glowing eyes! The jumping controls felt a little sluggish to me, not snappy enough or something. Great audio and graphics, and I love the art style. Nice work :)

loxo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Great graphics, audio and atmosphere! I would like to see a faster moving character and improved lighting options. The light of the lighter and the signal grenade is too small I think. The short light burst when firing the gun I like best.

Kimau says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:08pm

The art style is amazing, use of the theme is brilliant. The eerie feeling of being in the dark all alone. It was ruined for me by the poor platforming, getting stuck on this and the like. Other than those gameplay issues a great entry, also love the opening.

Exergy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Amazing graphics! A bit hard for me ;)

robcozzens says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:00am

Pretty cool.

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:08am

Very atmospheric. Visual are fantastic - fits theme really well. Like it.

May 4, 2014 @ 9:41am

Great idea, but the movement is way too slow.

Penguincat says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:09pm

I would've given this an even higher fun rating if the glitchy jump over that first pit hadn't caused me so many restarts! The art and music were absolutely great, though, and after the first room navigation got a lot easier. The limited light/bullets made for a nice challenging and added a lot to the game's mood. I'd love to see more of this character and world. Great job!

Thorig says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Great mood and nice art, but yeah, the movement really needs some improvement

csanyk says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:40am

Graphics style is superb. WAY too hard, unfairly so because of instadeath and inability to see far enough to deal with enemies. Could have been really fun if it was more forgiving and gave you some capability to cope with the situation.

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:34pm

The game is nice, but its difficult to get around the scenario when the character can only do one action at a time. Also, sometimes it's hard to predict what's coming in you direction, even with the help of your equipment.

alvivar says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:22am

Nice graphics, cool idea, great mood and audio.

I recommend, work a little more on the move and jumping, it feels a little loose.

Good job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]