Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Harold's Musical Hamventure

by Space_man - Jam Entry

It doesn't look like much, but there's much more awaiting you beneath the surface!

...Ok, well we ran out of time implementing stuff so there only a little awaiting you beneath the surface. Effectively it's a puzzle game where the levels aren't quite what they seem. We'll try to release a post-compo version at some point.


Arrow keys control your musical hamventure.
z propels you hamventure to new heights (aka jumps).

Note: As you may be able to guess from the title, music plays a major role in the game and will even more if we release a post-compo version. As you may also be able to guess, being a pig or at least ham-adjacent is recommended.

If the game doesn't run, you may need the visual c++ redistributable available here:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1798Coolness35%

Comments

ThingoStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:35pm

I'm unable to open the .zip, and I can't view the contents either. Which is unfortunate because I actually REALLY WANT TO PLAY THIS GAME.

Space_man says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Huh, not sure why it's not working for you, I just tested the download again and it seems to be working, and it worked fine for some friends too, only thing I can think of is to try redownloading if you haven't already.

May 3, 2014 @ 1:23am

Ah, it's end too fast. Might like to see more content from this :)

Knowledge says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:09pm

It's not valid exe file (that my computer says).

May 17, 2014 @ 7:40am

If you guys continue this project, well, looks like it will be a very trippy and fun game! =)

Nice music at the end!

nSun says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:13pm

I dont understand how you interpreted the theme, but I loved playing a flying pig, although I did not understand the meaning of all this. However, I noticed that there was ambition in the level design. I guess you had to find more ideas than time available to implement them.

Moosefly says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Couldn't run it, even after copying the correct DLL (MSVCP120.dll) from System32 to the games folder. Getting error "The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b).".

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Jiddo says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:02pm

At first I went for the x64 vcredist package, but seems like you need the x86 one for the game to run.

I like the pig and the levels are quite cool starting levels. I just wish it had a bit more content and got a bit more challenging before the end.

The egg that spawns a huge bird and the disappearing wall were both cool additions!

The slow acceleration did feel a bit off tho, as did the fact that you stopped immediately when releasing the movement keys.

Also, cool music!

Crefossus says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:58pm

I really like the tilesets. Walk animation feels a bit weird sometimes. I liked where you were going with the sounds syncing up with eachother.

I love the detail in the idle pig animation.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]