Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flash's Cash

by aneeslol - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Help Flash the Starfish collect all the Sand Dollars using your ability to raise and lower the water level!

Controls:
Arrow Keys to move
Space to jump
Z to raise water
X to lower water
R to retry level
M to mute sound

---

I really wish I had more time to think up levels(and that I wasn't so bad at it), and come up with a few more mechanics. I think the concept turned out to be pretty awesome, even if it's not super strong on the theme.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#305Humor2.86
#371Audio3.04
#450Fun3.13
#505Innovation3.13
#619Mood2.92
#639Graphics3.03
#640Overall3.10
#958Theme2.70

Comments

telaviv says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

no linux version :(

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35am

Cool idea you've got there! The controls felt a bit "off", though. The various mechanics (electricity, buttons, boxes etc.) were a nice addition. Nice job. :)

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:01am

Nice and simple!

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47am

Nice puzzle game. Couldn't figure out level 5 for the life of me, though.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:54am

Very entertaining! Curse you evil monkeys!

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:00am

The graphics look simple, but they're quite nicely animated and the music was good as well. The actual mechanics work quite well and I thought it was fun to play. Very nice.

rojo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:14am

Nice puzzler! The electrocution animations are pretty great.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Great idea and well executed :D Enjoyed it a lot.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:30am

Pretty creative idea.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:03am

This is not a valid Win32 application.

pyrogames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:10am

Nicely animated graphics. I like the changing water mechanic and what you did with it. A Linux build (if you can) would be nice =]

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:43am

Pretty interesting game! The rising and falling water is a neat mechanic. I wasn't super keen on the way you control your character while it was swimming. When I was trying to stay floating at the top, having to jump around and hear the jump animation all the time was a bit grating. xD But otherwise it's a pretty neat game!

ndebruyn says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:47am

Crashes at startup. Does not want to run.

jsmars says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:36am

Nice platformer and fun little puzzles! :) Good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]