Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rats Under My Skin

by Gregory Avery-Weir - Jam Entry

Created by Future Proof Games (Melissa Avery-Weir and Gregory Avery-Weir).

This game uses free assets from the Unity Asset Store (Decal System), freesound.com, and cgtextures.com

It was made using Unity, Blender, Audacity, GIMP, and Sublime Text.

The cat controls with WASD, shift, and spacebar. You can latch onto walls for a few seconds by jumping on them. When latched onto the wall, you'll be able to jump powerfully toward the reticle.

Cleanse patches of vermin to clear the infection. When you've cleansed enough patches, the level of the infection will drop. You can then go beneath the surface to find more vermin and progress.

There are three main regions: the desert, the tunnel, and the cathedral.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#228Innovation(Jam)3.32
#334Humor(Jam)2.67
#441Fun(Jam)2.88
#528Graphics(Jam)2.97
#543Overall(Jam)2.91
#565Mood(Jam)2.72
#613Audio(Jam)2.11
#715Theme(Jam)2.09

Comments

vogon101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Virus?

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Probably not a virus? Because this is a new, little-downloaded program, many virus scanners will mark it as suspicious. Are you seeing any evidence of infection, or is your virus scanner just warning you?

CDK says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:39pm

couldn't really see how it fit the theme - but it's a nice way of doing a jumping puzzle game.. but the point of the game was hard to follow.. :)

But had a couple of minutes of fun ^^

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Interesting and moody. Though the controls are a bit frustrating.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53pm

This was very fun to play. I'm really enjoying it. There are a few bugs in the jumping mechanics but hey that's to be expected.

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Nice, with more polish it could be a great game.
The world needs more game with cats

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:51pm

I like the 3d walljumping mechanics and the terrain.
Sometimes reaching higher spots is quite frustrating, but it's a good entry nonetheless.

Btw, how did you do this "low poly" terrain?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:19pm

@baykush_figtree: The terrain started as a high-poly mesh in Blender. We shaped it with the Sculpt tools and then applied a Decimate modifier to drop its poly count. There's probably a better way to do it, but it worked and was fast. :)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Really liked the idea of a parkour cat!! It was fun when it worked the way I wanted. I think with smoothed out controls, this would be a ton of fun!

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Good mood, i like play a cat !
the controls are a bit difficult ..
Great work by the way !

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:36pm

I got off the sand island and into the netherworld. Long live cat!

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:42pm

That was really cool.

Be made a lot neater if the mouse was locked to the game.

João Kucera says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Very fun to play! Congrats!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:45am

@CMaster, I totally agree... that was the thing I was working on near the deadline. I'm clumsy enough with Unity that I couldn't get it working right.

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:26am

This game is broken in all the best ways. It could be called spider cat, or "supero-funtime jumpcat no glitch".

It did absolutely all it needed to do to be a weirdly compelling and yes fun fun game. I really enjoyed it even though some of my compliments might sound bad, I really enjoyed it. It's like a video game version of an awesome B-movie, where a lot of things are a bit off but it still comes together to be a lot of fun.

May 6, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Love the latching feature! Also neat how the basic move is "prowling" :D

noom says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 3:30am

I was a kitty, I was cute as hell. Great concept, loved the wall leaping and the idea behind unlocking new parts of the level.

DraKlaW says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:16am

I can't play the web version (and i've not test the other)
I get stuck on the animated start screen. I can clic, press any key but nothing happend. I'm still in front of the begin button :(

From text descriptino : Very cool concept. I will test windows version when i have more time.

May 18, 2014 @ 12:04pm

I like this so much.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]