Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

PET RUN/STOP

by Ludonaut - Jam Entry

An arcade-y arena shooter featuring fake PETSCII graphics.

Second time participating, first time using Construct 2. Submitted as Jam entry because it really has nothing to do with the theme and I didn't have the time to make music myself.

I learned a lot and there are still some bugs left over, but I think it turned out pretty well overall.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#18Fun(Jam)4.03
#37Audio(Jam)4.03
#107Overall(Jam)3.66
#209Mood(Jam)3.44
#224Graphics(Jam)3.75
#320Humor(Jam)2.70
#608Innovation(Jam)2.49
#758Theme(Jam)1.58

Comments

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Fun to play and the graphics feels great. So does the audio!

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Love the use of ASCII for the graphics. A lot of fun too. Really great work.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38pm

This game has a really good feel. Love your graphic choice. Really good job! :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48pm

It's really fun to play and feels really satisfying to blow those enemys up. Great game!

jillheden says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

I guess you can say, he just wanted equality.

AdamSwaggoner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10pm

This is awesome, the ASCII characters made it really cool to look at. I loved the retro.. ness.

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Controls are tight, graphics & UI look and feel really nice, gameplay is fun and quite challenging. Not 'Beneath the Surface' but an awesome game!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Very much enjoyed that, great work.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Pretty nice looking, love the color switching

pht59x says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Nothing to do with the theme. However, it is a good arcade game remake.

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39pm

I had lots of fun! :)

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14pm

It is really fun to play! gotta agree with MrShortee

sensenmann666 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:05pm

nice arcade shooter. thanks for creating :)

Move127 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Fun on a bun!

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Really fun to play and addictive. Too bad it hasn't anything to do with the theme.
The audio and graphics are really good though

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:10pm

A Construct 2 game- don't see a lot of those! This one hits some pretty good vibes- swooping around and avoiding the somewhat neo-digital foes. And everything shakes! Fun.

snooze82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:10pm

yeah, fun to play - love the music <3

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Really loved the game! Graphics are cool and it's fun to play.

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:26pm

This ROX!
Super cool game! I wouldn't change anything.
Add features, levels, port to all devices and profit!

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27pm

vibrating and stylish!

dylanigan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51pm

The audio just made it amazing! Love the graphics too!

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:00pm

music is sick, was gonna ask how you made it until I saw you didn't! And yeah not on theme at all, but a fun little game.

taocayo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:57am

Ok, this was waaaaaaay more fun than I was expecting. The music was in tune with the mechanics. Love the ASCII. Great work!

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:29am

The controls are so tight and fantastic! It just feels "right". The graphics and VFX are all great, and really give it a great retro arcade feeling!

acehk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:31am

Yesss. This kind of game is perfect for jams. Fun, fast paced game that anyone can play first try, but there definitely a good skill curve.

shalskar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:44am

Awesome game, simple but fun and smooth. Well done.

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17am

Great style!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:39am

Wow Amazing audio and graphics! :) I felt like the controls weren't as tight as they should be but I really enjoyed it!

cirolve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:34am

I definitely like the look of the game, and it feels very retro. Overall, it was a job well done!

snickersnacks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:52am

Really solid entry, fun to play, the controls feel right. Good job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:35am

Just rename it geologic explorer and you'll fit the theme! Nice camera shake. Or seismic activity, that is.

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:05am

A simple yet nicely polished game, keep up the good work !

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:11am

Yeahhhh! Very fun and full of nostalgia. Great job!

Hermes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:50am

Very interresing use of ASCII and I love the music!
Can I ear it somewhere?

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Great game, nice job making the kills feel weight-y.

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Awesome graphics! Nice! Audio idem! Easy but fun gameplay :)

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47pm

I love ASCII so much.

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Can't stop playing :-) As you say, it doesnt have much to do with the theme, but still a whole lot of fun :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Smooth controls, I like that.
Like the graphics, Simple bit fit their purpose and that makes
a good balance and a good choice.

But I guess the could have pushed inovation a bit further

mat1er says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Wouhou! I love it! *favourite*

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:05pm

I like it a lot. I wish there was more variation and maybe some powerups, but other than that, it is great!

eufrik says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23pm

I liked the audio and the art and everything. You did a good job!

Beavl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Tight controls! Autoshoot option maybe? Perhaps spawning indicator make it to easy at the beginning, less time there might heat things up. Nice game overall and fun! Congrats. And hey, that description: “It really has nothing to do with the theme”. Love your honesty, man!

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09pm

I think this is one of the best entries I've play so far gameplay-wise. Super slick and nice controls!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Very nice game! Had a very nice polished feel to it. The graphics were great!

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:10pm

The music is fantastic and the gameplay is really fun!

runvs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Great game, graphics and sound!

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Music was nice, solid game.

Jake_Cohen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:05am

This was awesome! The retro graphics and sound, along with the tight gameplay makes for a perfect arcade experience. I really enjoy the way the enemies spawn with a warning, allowing you to exercise your short term memory and multitasking. Fun!

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:16am

Nice fun gameplay! love the ASCII stuff too, felt like i was back in an arcade!

Valandre says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:15am

5 stars in fun!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:02am

And where is the theme?

Fritzendugan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:07am

Nice bullet hell shooter, plays a lot like geometry wars with ascii graphics, which is fine by me. Really like the visual style and the graphics were executed very well. Music was good, too. Not really seeing the theme in any of this though.

Got pretty repetitive after a while. No power-ups or anything, and seems like there's only 2 types of enemies. Background probably changed colors a little too often.

Solid entry, though! Good job

May 2, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Nice little game! Super smooth controls and really nice look and feel. Cant say I see a relation with the theme though....

Zerkruemler says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Nice retro style game. The graphics is cool, but probably because it is only retro-inspired. Sound fits the fast gameplay.

TaoPhoenix says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Yeah well when fellas go Retro, you "lose" all those million dollar CGI renders but you go back to the games that made us as children.

Especially in a time limited compo/jam, it's a clever trick that can save an entire day if you can polish it enough. I think I'd wish for more than one life here.

But I was slightly too late for pure PET goodness. I'd seen notes about it all here and there, but I grew up on a C128 which was a C64 packaged with a top-layer of easier Basic. But I screen-shot'ed the opening intro! Commodore lives again for one weekend!

TaoPhoenix says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:36pm

I will post a different comment that the mere mention of "PETSCII" sparked a 14 page excursion into Wikipedia! I only knew the C64/128 "as is", and except for a couple of times I peeked at all this, I didn't know much of anything about the earlier models. My father had a choice on what to buy, he was smart enough to know "computers are the future", but he waited to buy a pair of C64 and later C128.

ActionRemix says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:55pm

27159 - world record! : O

jorgemoag says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:46pm

I love this genre, very arcade-style! The graphics and audios work very well.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Controls are fine, nice graphics and it has overall quality.. Next time try to include the theme into your entry and it's gonna be really good ;-)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]