Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under Earth

by illugion - Jam Entry

Under Earth is a game about killing monsters with a gun and breaking rocks with a drill.. at least for now haha

Controls:

Keyboard

Arrows - Move
S - Jump
D - Drill
A - Shoot ( Hold for big shot )
Esc - Reset/Exit Game

Joystick

Analogs - Move
A - Jump
X - Drill
Y - Shoot ( Same as above haha )
Start - Reset

All music in the game is from Kevin MacLeod (http://www.incompetech.com).

I worked alone on this and I was busy on saturday so I coudn't finish it but at least it's pretty solid, I'm happy with the results!

Tools:

Graphics Gale
Construct Classic
sfxr

Tell me what you think ! #LD29 !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#43Fun(Jam)3.79
#92Overall(Jam)3.70
#111Graphics(Jam)4.14
#126Audio(Jam)3.65
#158Mood(Jam)3.56
#210Theme(Jam)3.48
#250Innovation(Jam)3.29
#284Humor(Jam)2.79

Comments

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:45am

This was great fun, loved the gameplay and the graphics. busting through the dirt was great

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48am

This is quite impressive. I love how "crunchy" it all is with the explosion effects etc. Been taking some lessons from Vlambeer, perhaps!

Shame you didn't have more time to round it out a bit more... I like using the drill to dash in the air.

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:09am

Thanks a lot guys !

@RARoadkill I love doing that too! haha cool that its not just me

@danbo Yes! I watched lots of videos from Vlambeer talking about game feel and other developers too, i kinda tried to put it all in the game!

I'll definitely make a post compo version with at least one boss and more elaborated stages haha

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:24am

Great game! Smashing rock is very satisfying, explosions are well done. Plays really nicely with a controller. So sad when I got to the end room :( Needs more levels!!

nddrylliog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:25am

Please become famous so I can buy Under Earth HD on Steam with controller support and local multiplayer. <3

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

Agree with others about the feel/crunch. It reminded me of Cave Story personally, but Vlambeer is another good comparison for sure. Great job.

uniquecorn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

My game has similar mechanics to yours! That explosion is so Vlambeer!

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31am

Drill feels great, nice use of sleep()!

HBurd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31am

That was great. The mechanics and art were genuinely good.

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:08am

@LandoSystems Yes ! I will make more levels !!

@nddrylliog You gave me chills by saying that, it would be a dream to get my game into steam haha, i'll work hard !

@fueelin I love Cave Story so i probably put some cave storyish things in there :D

@uniquecorn yea ! i learned how to make that explosion with them, i would make a more elaborate animation for that if i had more time tho.. I'm gonna check out your game !

@petey123567 you noticed ! haha thanks !

@HBurd Thanks a lot! I'll try to refine it as soon as possible !

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:27am

hahaha, I recognized the musics from Incompetech!

Look, let me level with you: I hate downloading .exe games to rate. I did it to be fair 'cause you liked mine. And yours was very worth it! I loved the art, the commands felt nice, the sounds were well chosen and drilling consecutive blocks felt SO FUCKING GOOD. You'll have many high scores on this one from me

I hope to see more of this in the future =]

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28am

And damn your screenshots do not do justice...

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:44am

@pedro.thiers Thanks a lot man! Yeah, most people doesnt like downloading .exe files to play and yeah, i dunno, im not good at taking screenshots but i think the game looks better in movement, ill try to take some new screenshots when i get home :D

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:05pm

I would record some gifs with gyazo or with fraps/xplit (twitch) too

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Yea ! I'm doing that right now ! :D

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:36pm

No success, unfortunately :( the sleep almost didn't show in gifs.. maybe i'm doing something wrong haha

RobotParking says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:01pm

WELCOME TA URTH

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Tight controls! Loved it and would love to play a full game with bosses and such in this style!

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Great Graphics, Great Gameplay, just GREAT.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Really really great! The whole game just felt really good to play. Nice work. I WANT MORE!

Cosine says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Very cool. Love the jump sound!

BrothersT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:55pm

What you got done is really nice! would love to play when there's a bit more of something to do :) feedback on the hits was spectacular.

vexille says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:28am

Very cool, too bad it's so short! Also I found it weird that you can't kill the shield guys with the drill, even when you hit them in the back. If fact hitting them in the bad with the drill just makes them move towards you!

illugion says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:35am

Thanks a lot to all of you guys !!! There will be more, i promise ! I already started working on it !

@vexille oops, my bad, thats actually unfinished, the drill was supposed to damage them but the charged shot started lots of bugs near the end of the jam so i had to upload it like that D: maybe i'll make a post compo version with that fixed and a first boss :D

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:20am

really nicely done! the controls took a bit to get though. seems like an ideal gamepad game

Katamori says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Way too few levels... :(

Though, the engine itself is a truly amazing one! It has a lot of potential, I swear!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Shame there isn't more, what's there is really nice and well polished - The beginnings of a decent little platformer - Reminds me a bit of Konjak's work. Controls a bit funky, but then too used to WASD :p

illugion says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:25pm

@Katamori I spent too much time preparing the engine i guess D:

@mcapraro @DragonXVI yeah, i know D: if i had more time i'd make at least a wasd alternative but it was already hard to make the gamepad work x.x sorry guys!

Wertle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:12am

Love the feedback. MOAR PLEASE. Thank you.

illugion says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:50am

@Wertle Love your stream !! Thanks a lot ! There will be much much more !

2HitAdam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Oh man I love that old school vibe, and although there wasn't terribly much to the levels, the gameplay was so rewarding (and yeah, I can see the Vlambeer "feel" influences too ;) that it was just loads of fun to play, and if you don't polish up that BG art and turn what you have here into a full game it would be a crime against the gaming industry, because this is just fucking awesome. DO IT!!!

illugion says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:51pm

@2HitAdam YESSIR!!! Thanks a ton !!! I'm already upgrading everything haha

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Awww... too short, man! I loved the feeling of digging and shooting. The mechanics to kill the bad guys was also spot on. Beautiful art. I'm impressed of how much you done in "48h". :)

illugion says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:33am

Thanks !!! I'm really glad you guys liked it that much, i'm still really hyped with this ludum dare and I'll continue developing this until I have a full game !

May 2, 2014 @ 3:38am

Love the graphics! Hope you continue the game! I included this game in part 7 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Lm7qNa6SIqA

Rialgar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:49pm

I made a Let's Play of your game, see it here:
http://youtu.be/xOJHVT78iYY

illugion says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Thanks a lot guys for playing my game! There's nothing better to understand where are the weaknesses in your game than watching someone play like that haha That was really valuable feedback :D

Oye Beto says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:42am

I'm going to rate it before playing the post compo version.

It's a little unfinished, the tiles could be more complex and there should be some goal or arcade point system.

It feels very good to play. I liked the graphic feedback, it's very juicy. Very promising game, great start.

Oye Beto says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:45am

I though there were gameplay in the post compo link.
The gif looks neat! I really want to play the finished version :)

Yword says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Well done! The Drill move is awesome, I think it will be very cool if the player can attack the enemies with drill combos.

lightsoda says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:52pm

The controls where superb, the dash, kickback when shooting, everything felt really responsive (played the windows version with 360-controller). I sure wish I knew how to do stuff like that :p

GlowingSnail says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Sometimes I press jump and my robot doesn't jump. Also it fires horizontally while pointing the gun down.

illugion says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:26am

@Oye Beto Thank you man ! Sorry, I should've written that it's not playable yet, fixed now ! There will be clear objectives in the finished game :D

@Yword Yes ! That will be possible and probably one of the main mechanics haha

@lightsoda I tried to put as much feedback as i could to everything in the game so it would feel fun, it's not that hard to do, just keep adding things as you like and you will probably end up with something like that :D

@GlowingSnail Oh you can't shoot downwards or upwards in that version yet, sorry ! ( Maybe you're talking about the animation, yes, I know about that haha ) But that's really weird, I don't remember that jump issue happening, maybe i should try on some other computers but I fixed lots of bugs already so maybe its already fixed ! :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:20am

great effort - the enemies were a little too hard at the early stages - great game

May 13, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Great work! I think I'm going to give this my "most satisfying mechanic" award. I just wanted to go back to the thank you screen and keep drilling!

Dreii says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:58am

Great stuff, very well done on the effects!

illugion says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:24am

Thanks a lot for all the support guys ! This is the most satisfying game jam I've ever participated and I'm working hard to make this an incredible game :D

wilbefast says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Nice graphics :D a pity the game is so short, I was really getting into it. I like how you need to learn how to fight the enemies, rather like in Spyro: you have only 2-3 attacks but each enemies requires a different approach.

illugion says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Thanks man ! I love spyro, definitely like the way that they do enemies and stuff, it's really fun to run around destroying things, I hope I can bring that feeling to my game too !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]