Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

An Ode to Violence

by Benn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my entry, An Ode to Violence! The aim is to consume as many humans as possible by moving into them via the mouse. Avoid the lava and bullets and get as high a score as you can!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#109Fun3.69
#176Humor3.21
#227Theme3.64
#238Audio3.29
#381Overall3.35
#449Mood3.11
#745Graphics2.86
#751Innovation2.80
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

dejant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:48am

Nice game! I like it.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49am

That moment when you try to get the plane and it actually works. The splurgh sound made it for me, especially trying to imagine you having to perform it.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:33am

This is a good example of how simple components staged well together can create a nice gaming experience. I like the juicyness and the slomo together with the sound on hit is just great :)

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:36pm

That slow-mooooooooo! Nice game!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Awesome! The slow motion works really well and it's fun to control.

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Haha - that slowmo! And the planes too. :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:25am

Great Gameplay! Would love to see a more advanced version of it afterwards (GUI, more blood, persistent corpses?) haha

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Really addicting and fun, awesome that I can destroy the plane as well. Bookmarked and will play again :)

NeiloGD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Needs some achievements for multi kills and what not :) Nice simple to play game, and pretty fun too.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:55am

This is a really fun game with great controls, I really like it.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:56am

Nice game! Simple but very fun, reminds me a lot to a flash minigame where you controlled a shark and had to jump to take down ships and planes.

lief says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:24am

heh that was cool

sorceress says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:43am

nice. I would have liked to see greater retaliation from the paratroopers. And where is my hiscore? :P Nice to see you use more colours in your games too :)

Diptoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:04am

Simple and fun! The slow motion was awesome. And it's addicting! The music fits in well. It a bit annoying having to reload it again and again, but it was a great experience overall!

tomvert says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Awesome ! I felt so powerful destroying planes in slo-mo ! Good job !

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:12pm

great work! had a blast being a worm : D i am sure you know for yourself that it is to easy as it is (- ;

had fun! thx for making it and looking forward to see more

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Not the first game I see with this concept, but the addition of the killcam made this extremely more satisfying. Good job!

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:53am

nice, like the slow-mo, and the overall style. also feel the need to watch Tremors now for some strange reason. . . agh who am I kidding, I always have a need to watch Tremors.

Gazok says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:19am

Very fun, I liked the slow motion. I couldn't tell if you could kill the planes, but I felt like that would be interesting. I didn't like killing the player if they go too far left or right, though.

May 1, 2014 @ 9:20am

fun concept, but could use some more explanation.

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:19am

Nice gameplay :)
Nice use of the theme aswell
GG

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Really nice entry. Cute art, good choice of colors, catchy tune...

The slowmo effect was a nice addition too, but I think you should not activate it for each kills, it breaks the rythme a little.

ActionRemix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Why is slow mo so fun?

Lacaranian says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:03pm

The planes, man, the planes. Finally got killed by lava. Silly me, thinking I could avoid hitting it. Cool game!

sharpcoder says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:08pm

A nice entry, for sure! I would have liked to see some indication of my health (or maybe it was there and I didn't get it?) but overall, a super addicting game! Great job.

BrothersT says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:40pm

very nice. tight controls. I was about to say that it takes a long time for the enemies to spawn but then saw that you can kill the plane. Very graceful solution for those who want things to move along a little faster.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Nice solid gameplay

BuKaneerz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Good job !
The movement are cool !
Maybe you should have added some bonus, or combo, i don't know. But it was cool (:

Jools64 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Really cool game, reminds me a lot of a game called Death Worm. Good graphics, solid controls and nice sound effects. Great work!

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Very cool with the slo-mo effect. Blowing up my first jet was a life altering experience. :D

euske says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:43pm

I liked the slo-mo effect. I hope I could control the player without holding the button.

Eniko says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:09pm

The dynamics of the movement and speed, trying to get to the planes and the slow mo makes this deceptively simple looking game feel really good!

May 2, 2014 @ 9:15pm

So fun!! And that sound!! It actually made me hungry... Nice little game!

May 2, 2014 @ 11:42pm

That slomo zoom is so damn cool. Even though the gameplay is basic, the sense of style, and the graphics and sound, make it into a surprisingly cool experience.

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:58am

Doesnt load :( white screen forever

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:59am

Scratch that! had to press a key or something.

GrooveMan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:25am

The slow-mo closeups was really neat and satisfying (though maybe best reserved fer passing certain kill count thresholds for best effect)

Ditto says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:50am

This is really cool, I like the slowmo effect when killing! ^^ sounds are really good, I'm gonna guess you made them all with you voice? Entertaining game, congrats! :)

Crowbeak says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:13am

I really enjoy it -- the slowdowns at gobbletime make the splashes of blood really apparent and I think the game fits its title well. But the challenge never ramps up. I feel like it really needs that, because it gets monotonous after a while.

Snoother says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Really fun! Though it lacks challenge a bit. The sound effects and music are really quite excellent also.

ehtd says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Great feel with the slow motion! very cool

Rodaja says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Slow motion when closely failing a kill made me laugh. Gameplay reminded me of LUFTRAUSERS. Keyboard controls would be a nice addition.

May 5, 2014 @ 6:26pm

haha top marks for fun!

conormn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:46am

Very nice innovation with the slow-mo and absolutely love the music loop!

Managore says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:50am

Very fun! The slow motion really adds a lot to the game.

wademcgillis says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:30am

Moving the mouse outside of the game window moves you at maximum speed.

I couldn't figure out how to lose, so I ran off the side for a bit.

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:00am

wow nice! like the movement mechanics but I wish 'graceful' play was more rewarded, top-skimming was the easy way to win for me.

the slow-mo is awesome and really makes the game addictive!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]