Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gold Diver

by SirJson - Jam Entry

Loading may take a while!

Goal: Collect gold nuggets and sell them in the dome before your air tank is empty! You will get some air with every nuget you sell!

Move left / right / up / down: Arrow keys
Dig: Arrow keys (for direction) + A

Created with HTML5, Javascript and Phaser!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#51Theme(Jam)3.87
#316Graphics(Jam)3.53
#337Fun(Jam)3.05
#352Innovation(Jam)3.05
#387Overall(Jam)3.18
#561Mood(Jam)2.73
#621Audio(Jam)2.00
#630Humor(Jam)1.77

Comments

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Oh man does this induce a lot of panic when you're low on air. The collision is dodgy, it's hard to actually tell when you can and can't pass through something. Good game!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:51am

A hard game :)

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:08pm

The amount of air for each nugget could be higher, but great work, I love mining games!

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Difficult, but fun. I agree that nuggets can give a little bit more air.

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Nice art.

kristof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Pretty hard. Maybe the amount of air you get by selling the gold should be a bit higher. But the game is definitely fun! I also like the pixel art and the colors you chose.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Hi. The pickup gold noise made me jump! Balance seemed a bit off about collecting and getting air replenished... are you always doomed to lose after 1 long trip ?

Jaenis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Indeed, quite hard game and somehow I couldn't restart it without reloading the whole page. This would be lovely if it would be slightly easier, maybe you wouldn't use any air at the dome? Also add Terraria style crafting like bigger air tank, better drill... drool... :)

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:57pm

I feel like nuggets should give you more air, but other than that it's fun! A nice take on the classic digger game.

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:48pm

well done, I dont think is too hard !

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:47am

Good game, could have used more sound.

x1212 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:06am

Had fun (dwaft fortress definition of fun ;D ) playing this.
Did any one get a score beyond one thousand and a few hundred? (an online highscore would be really nice for this kind of game)

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:18am

Nice game, I like the little fish swimming around...
Some more air per nugget would help.
And an explanation of the white nuggets, they dont seem to be helpful at all...

neosam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Difficult but a good idea!

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Pretty hard, but fun! Great work. Would be nice to have a "play again" button ;)

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Kinda hard game! I really enjoyed the graphics and I love your take on the theme.

ZYXer says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Nice and clean game idea, I like it! It kind of reminds me of Dare to Dig from LD28.

You might want to make the width of the character's collision box smaller. It is extremely hard to get into a already-built tunnel from the top.

kasarun says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:23pm

A submarine dwarf :) Fun game!

dertom says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:47am

Nice fun game! I dashed through the earth as crazy, but the people in the dome gave me so less air, knowing I wouldn't have much time to argue about :D
Good job

psychonull says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Good job. I could spend a lot of more time playing this game if it was better balanced!

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:47am

Difficult, but I like it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]