Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tenkosei ROBO

by radmars - Jam Entry

You, a robotic schoolgirl, have just transferred to a new school - but something seems amiss. What could be lurking... beneath the surface?

~~~~~

Type words as they appear to stay alive!
Type 1, 2 or 3 to select an answer.

~~~~~

made by team RADMARS:
adhesion - codin, noisin, shreddin
roushey - codin, drawin, butts
emarcotte - codin, shittin

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#18Humor(Jam)4.13
#23Fun(Jam)3.97
#32Overall(Jam)4.00
#55Graphics(Jam)4.36
#59Audio(Jam)3.92
#106Mood(Jam)3.73
#122Innovation(Jam)3.61
#364Theme(Jam)3.17

Comments

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Good this is awesome. I made it to the sensei. I wanted to see the end :(

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Nice game :D, as a non native english speaker sometimes it's a bit difficult to type some letters :P, but even tought it's entertaining

Darkuser says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:47pm

At first I was like, ugh I don't feel like typing, but it got me hooked on lol. Solid game.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I beat the game, yay! :D
First typing game I see in this LD, awesome graphisms and music! I really had fun playing it, the overall fast paced mood was awesome!

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Oh my god I love this game. Yes. Every element is amazing.

MrLeePerry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Hahahha, that's quite a bizarre setup for a game. Love it :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:13am

The world definitely needs more typing games like this one.

I hope your senpai notices you.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:35am

WHOA MAN - I was expecting a cool ending but I'll settle for TBC... One of my fave games thus far. Really cool use of the theme... rad art... great dialogue... rad music... just an overally refreshingly great experience. LOVE IT!

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:49am

GOTY.

Rofl, this game is fucking hilarious as shit man, love it. Wish the text was faster though (especially at the beginning), didn't take any damage, but the amazing dialogue made up for it. My favourite game of the jam so far.

zeh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:58pm

A fine specimen as always. Getting my ass kicked by the final boss. I love it.

ZYXer says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:16pm

If I had had this game as a kid I would defently be able to type faster now! :D

I love this game! Great way of combining storytelling and gameplay.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Well shit, that was impressive. Amazing job for a weekend for sure! Graphics are amazing and gameplay is not innovative but always fun. And the humor is just fantastic :D

JayPC says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:08am

it was really cool to see a typing game, I am a fan of games like typing of the dead. I think the speed of the words was a little too fast at least at the beginning. also If I got caught on a word I couldn't just accept I was going to take damage and skip the word and move on to the next one which was kind of annoying and after getting hit once by a word the next one is too close to have time to type out anything longer then 3 or 4 letters.

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:12am

Good. I beat it and it was fun.

mechabit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:12am

Hilarious!

radmars says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:05am

(roushey)
@JayPC: Ah good call, didnt think about that. Maybe something like hitting 'tab' to cycle to the next word would help. XD As far as difficulty goes, we had a bit of a time figuring out how hard to make it, we didnt have a chance to do different difficulty modes, so we had to middle of the road it a bit.

@SonnyBone aye aye, I too am sad about the TBC, but alas time, time, time. T.T

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:28am

This is a really fantastic entry. The art is crisp and functional, and you've hit upon a unique way to turn exposition into a game. Also, the last boss... wow. Not something I'd been expecting, and I kept on wondering what was "beneath the surface" until the very end. It's a nice smooth difficulty curve, too.

Very fitting audio and SFX. The only thing that I'd look to changing is the beam animation--watching it going past the enemy as they complain about how much it hurts damages the immersion a little bit.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to the continuation!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Haha seriously, wtf? That student is so creepy
It gets hard really quick though, I couldn't pass the second enemy.

Good job, this is a great entry

2HitAdam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Just incredible and hilarious all round. Wanting to know what happens next is the main driving force in this game, so the idea of having to replay sections on death made me not try to beat it more than once, but I had lots of fun! :)

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Damn, crashed my browser (Pale Moon v: 24.4.2 (x64) after I met my "future self" and typed "God damnit." :/. Crashed again after reaching my future self and typing the first word. Managed to finish it on the latest version of Chrome though.

Grinned like a madman while playing this. Awesomely whimsical "story" and atmosphere. Lovely experience. I think this has the best implementation of typing based gameplay out of all the similar games I've played so far. Too bad for you though, I am also a robot. BEEP BOOP.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Garris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:20pm

This was incredibly silly in the best ways and I love it!

Tuism says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Awesome! Fantastic! :D I just can't believe you left it... like that! :P

Good damn job, looking forward to more? Though gameplay wise... Not sure what more there could be :)

Typing of the dead was epic though, damn :)

wicht says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Nice mix of mechanics, funny story, well done!

miwuc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:23pm

I do love me a typing game. I wish there was more, I was really intrigued by the story! Great job.

D2FXRayG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:37pm

This is AMAZING :D

TaoPhoenix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Tips for first timers:
Ignore punctuation
love love is a double word
try to stay way ahead to give time for the big words.
The first couple are magnificent and administrators

mortus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Never thought I'd like a typing game! :D

sharpcoder says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Amazingly well done. It's a hilarious story that is nicely presented and has a lot of polish. Fantastic take on the theme!

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Fun and funny. I managed to beat the future you at the first try, yay :D(not sure if there's a different ending, guess I'll have to keep trying)

Great, great entry. Congrats!

Shide says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Great idea, great realisation, everything is so good. Except the difficulty, maybe, I've almost died beating the guy, and than there is a sensei. It forced me to rage quit :)

MSaul says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:22pm

cool music, cool graphics, cool game, fun as hell. Well done.

Jod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Loved this! I didn't get the feeling my choices made a difference, game-wise. Although I got to say 'Suck beam, robo-creep', so that made my day.

Did have some problems showing the graphics on chrome though, but I guess that might just be my shitty comp. Awesome entry, loved the humor!

7heSAMA says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Crashed when I beat myself from the future... what happened? Don't really feel like going through it again.

Anyways, nice entry. Typing games aren't my thing but it was funny.

Oye Beto says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Yes! I beat the game at the first try. I think I type pretty fast but it was a little hard.

I liked the feedback (sound and visuals) it feels very polished and the length of the game is good. Fun and exciting game, great entry.

PS: I remember your splash screen from other LD :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Fun to play! Some letters are hard to read which made the typing a bit frantic at times. ;)

May 1, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Damn you! Who can type 'administrators' that fast! Really good fun

TheGreenTie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:19pm

That was hilarious! Great job :D

Sakuyan says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Ok I have found the most perfect game.

GFM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Awesome game! The way you guys used typing in this game was interesting. I don't think I've seen another game like this. I stopped at the third enemy.. it is though! ARG >_<
Everything is great in this game... but the audio... Wow!!

Great job!!

lyla says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Woah, what a polished game and pretty fun too. Got to the end and wanted to keep going because of the bizarre story and simple but satisfying game play. I’m interested enough to wish there was a little more variation, whether it comes from narrative choice or battle strategy. The graphics, sound, and mood come together to create the campy-anime mood really well.

jacklehamster says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:48am

Got drawn in by the graphics. Then at first, I fought... meh it's just words. Then it turned out to be quite engaging, especially with the funny dialog. Nice work!

rvmook says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:42am

Awesome! I suck at typing though so I kept getting my ass kicked

May 2, 2014 @ 8:08am

lovely! quirky, funny! very hard at Nani for some reason...

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:31pm

hehe, nice game! :)

May 2, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Well I can't say I was expecting to play Anime Typing of the Dead during this competition, but there you go. Fun stuff indeed! The graphics and sound are top notch.

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:09am

Holy crap that was awesome! on like every front! 5 stars haha!

NoNoBattle says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:17pm

To make one thing clear first, this is unfortunately really not my type of game, but it made me stick longer than to any other typing game.
A LOT longer!

Graphics and sound worked very well on creating this japanese date-game style atmosphere, and the characters look interesting enough for me to crave for their stories.

Text is comprehensive and polished, while the SFX on typing fit very well and aid the perception of correct typing while not being a nuisance.

Overall you made this entertaining and really challenging.

ehtd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Superb! Excellent everything

Ditto says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:29am

Fuuuucking amazing! So Japanese, so intense, so damn entertaining! I actually died against "you from the future", but dammit I will come back and get revenge! Great game! Thanks a lot! :D

Lyje says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:11pm

A totally ingenious way to prevent players from skipping dialogue and not getting the story of your game. Also - it's so fun!

Snoother says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Wow, quite possibly the most innovative gameplay so far. The challenge ramps up nicely and the whole package is fabulously polished.

conormn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:37am

Excellent typing game!!!

Raiyumi says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:57am

Haha, now that was unexpected. I would love to see the continuation of this. :)

kiririn51 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:34am

HAHA oh my god this game is amazing, 10/10 made me fell off my chair. Loved the story to bits, was like "how's this beneath the surface" until that guy mentioned it and all made sense.

ChuiGum says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:41am

My favorite game so far! Love the graphics, music, innovations, and gampelay!

woodenrabbit says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:03am

Hahahaha I had a good laugh from this :D

Kara Jayde says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:55am

So. Much. Fun!
I found this game super hard though :P had to play it a lot to finish it. I eventually realized if you press space in between words (even though you don't need to) it helps your hands increase in speed. Must be habitual.

Mase says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Very nice scenario.

My hunt & peck technique was maxed out on the second fight... the third is too much for me.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:50am

really great game - added to my faves!

Crooksister says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:56am

That Was SOOO Difficult!! damn you slow typing. Great idea :)

neekobus says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Fun !
You really should enlarge the size of the text.
And add a special power (every 10 word or something) to "push back" the words, because when you lose a word, it's hard to get back in the race.

But nice little game !

jtpup0 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:04am

pretty fun game, I was only able to make it to the clone

DonovanWu says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:47am

This game is the funniest I've played XD

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:43am

bahahaha. I don't know if everyone will appreciate the humor here as much as I did. <3

Difficulty settings would be nice; i'm sure this was too hard for some people but others of us are 100+ WPM typers here ;)

Acuity says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:59am

Bahaahah that was pretty amusing. Good work!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:06am

Ahhhh I was hoping for a sweet ending or a choice at the end but the awesomeness of this game made up for it! Fantastic job! It was kind of an aha moment for me when the first robot said beneath the surface, don't know how I didn't see that coming haha.

caranha says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:20am

That was pretty cool! The connection with the theme was a bit of an stretch, but I have a thing for word-typing games.

I think the robo-student should show some sort of damage as her life gets low.

Great graphics and music, Cheers!

May 13, 2014 @ 4:03pm

You have been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I7etD3Gtqvg

NightShadow0 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Hahaha this is absolutely brilliant! I love how you made the plot itself into the words you need to type, very clever design. Do the choices affect anything, though?

jsmars says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Fun game I love typing games, too bad there was no real ending tho? (right?)

mechabit says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:34pm

"to be continued..." NOOOOOOOO

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:32am

Jeez, what an awesome game. Needs some difficulty settings, I found it a bit easy!

Jeremias says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:14pm

The third stage was too hard for me :D I like the game, it was a lot of fun to play. The graphics and the sounds and music are really great. Very, very well done!

jorgemoag says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:10am

wow! time travel included ! :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]