Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fluid Mind

by tinytouchtales - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fluid Mind by Tinytouchtales.

"At the surface of our own mind we become uncertain.
Finding order in chaos is what we desire."

I took the theme more metaphoric than direct and created a little puzzle game about finding order in chaos. The middle of the game board divides the game in two parts. At it's intersection (the surface) the game tokens change their shape. Like thoughts they become clearer or more blurred, hiding or revealing their meaning. Once all uncertainty is cleared the game resolves.

Use the mouse to interact with the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2090Coolness14%

Comments

Skencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10am

amazing game. it took a while for me to figure out how it worked but once I did it was so fun. The music helped to keep the whole game in a relaxing mood.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:18am

Took me 85 steps. I guess that's a lot. :D It was a bit hard to understand what to do at first but that's always the way in these kind of games.

I also like that you didn't take the obvious route with the theme. Overall fun and relaxing puzzling!

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:00am

Really cool idea! It took me a short while to get the hang of it, but I really enjoyed the experience (music was so calming) and it's a great interpretation of the theme. Simple, clean and fun.

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:57pm

I'm not really sure what to do... I got all white on one side and all black on the other side with no numbers, didn't win. Got all 1s on one side and all zeroes on the other side, didn't win. Does the game end? I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:13am

@MattV take a look at the Let's Play linked above, in the end you can see how the game should look like. All hollowed white circles with a 1 above and all hollowed black 0 ones below.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:26am

Interesting concept! Quite original puzzle mechanics for LD. Watched the Let's play to understand what is going on, but still didn't grasp why sometimes circles got hollow or unhollow and sometimes not. Improving the animations would go a long way for communicating what is going on. For example my brain has a hard time perceiving the swapping. Right now sometimes it feels like both pieces touch each other, but then move back to their original position while having changed shape/color instead of feeling like they exchanged positions. Also a hollow/unhollowing animation or something like a coin flip animation would help. Didn't manage to beat it so far, but I'll come back later and try again :)

Katamori says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:30am

Didn't really understand the game mechanics, but playing it was a huge fun.

javierecf says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:42am

Very interesting game, took me 148 steps, damm. Really good music.

NicoM says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:06am

Great game, never fully understood the mechanic, but I did beat it (probably would have paid more attention if I wasn't so lulled away by the great music) but ever without fully grasping it, its very relaxing to just play around with:) Great job!:)

GFM says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:22am

I couldn't figure out how to play without the video... I just tried to keep the (known) '1's above and the '0's bellow, since the ones without numbers were never mentioned...

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:21pm

It took 217 of somewhat aimless swapping, but I did manage to complete it. Still not 100% sure about how the mechanics worked :P.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]