Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 29

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beachcomber - Mase - Jam Entry

Use your detector to find things under the sand.
-------
Controls: Arrow keys, Spacebar, & Mouse. Use the space bar to interact with objects or begin digging. Use the mouse to control hands.
-------
This game has three endings.
-------
masonlindroth.tumblr.com
-------
"Sea Waves" recording by Eelke Dekker. https://www.freesound.org/people/Eelke/sounds/144827/

View Mase's journal. | View all entries by Mase

Ratings

Coolness75%
#7Mood(Jam)4.44
#15Theme(Jam)4.10
#25Graphics(Jam)4.54
#27Innovation(Jam)3.98
#31Overall(Jam)4.02
#99Audio(Jam)3.73
#106Humor(Jam)3.45
#122Fun(Jam)3.48

Comments

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10am

a very brief but intense experience. well done.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:28am

Wow, wow, wow. Wonderful.

Are those treated photos of modelling clay?

Helopol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Woah this is so lovely. The visuals, the atmosphere, everything..!
<3

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17pm

gorgeous \(°0°)/

DanielSnd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Got the ending with the coins XD really nice art, loved the digging part

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Absolutely wonderful, peaceful, interesting experience. Thank you so much for making this!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:27pm

lovely style as usual. loved digging the clay with my hand

abrie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:17pm

A deeper game than a quick glance reveals.

KayZ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:26pm

A very unique experience... I think I destroyed everything. But I don't know why^^.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:57pm

At last! I can grab your graphics with my own hand! Feels so good. Thanks.

samooJAM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Your art style is incredibly awesome. I wish it was longer.

tchem says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:16am

My God,,, your artwork is so awesome,,,, i loved all in this little game....

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:59am

Love the graphics, very interesting game.

kevinAlbs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:07am

Breathtaking artwork and lovely theme. Bravo.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:09am

I thoroughly enjoyed those endings

mneubrand says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:09am

Well done. Quirky in a good way, not what I originally expected.

Fasox says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:13am

Woderful art, i didnt expect such enfding

Nizar89 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Very nice and original graphics!
It was a great experience.

copain says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:30pm

wow

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:10pm

art is great

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:19pm

I definitely like the clay graphics, it make for a kind of strange, yet cheerful sort of mood. The gameplay was all right. It was a pleasant surprise to get the raft and find out there was more to the game than is first apparent! Three endings, huh? There is definitely potential for a lot of stuff here...

HybridMind says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:07am

What a really unique looking game! I love the style! I don't think I've ever played anything quite like this before. Very cool. I found one ending. I want to see a whole adventure game in this style now. :D

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:26am

I love the innovative look and artistic approach to game design. Very refreshing. :D

tenpn says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:05pm

really liked the aesthetic. minor quibble but would have liked cursor controls on WASD if you're going to force mouse sometimes.

Mase says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:07pm

@tenpn: I wanted to differentiate the walking and digging parts... and make the digging parts feel more visceral. I mean, there was some logic behind the control scheme. Though I would normally find inconsistent controls to be a pain... and I'd understand if anyone felt that way about this game.

@everybody: Thanks y'all. <3

conormn says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Incredibly well done. Tip of the hat to you :)

May 1, 2014 @ 7:28pm

lol, trippy. Well done bro

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:09am

I danced along with Beachcomber, together we danced, enjoying the activities we had undertaken and thinking about them all. Dancing together, holding each step in my hand next to the Coin that paid for it, dancing, falling in between Sand Plants and listening to the waves.

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Wow... Amazing!
Really different... Good use of theme
The final is fun!

Lokarunith says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Really nice aesthetic, I love the atmospheere of your games.

Draknek says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Well that was... err... something.

DustyStylus says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Haha, I knew I was missing an LD favourite from my list. You didn't disappoint, sir! The jukebox made me jiggle my bits as well.

hyouko says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:20am

The 1-bit visuals remind me of old Mac OS shareware games that I used to play over at a friend's house. Very well done!

XenosNS says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:23am

Wow, beautiful

BadgerPriest says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:29am

My god. Simply spectacular. Never stop doing what you're doing.

lekochen says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Wow this is beautiful.

Pitoum says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:35am

As usual, art is just perfect.
Thanks for that experience!

glbs says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:46am

Amazing art and mood! Your game really stands out of a lot of what I've seen. Your simple yet profound visuals are really inspirationnal.

May 12, 2014 @ 2:00am

It's the most beautiful game of this Ludum dare. You created an atmosphere and a world, it is really great! REALLY.

Marcellus says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:33am

An UFO in the mole-something / mine-blahblah galaxy of this ludumdare. Sounds made the atmosphere really deep and those graphics are truly an art. It doesn't feel like a videogame, more like an interractive piece of art you could find in a museum. Congratulations for this entry.

Simon says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:28am

You had me dream and travel for a little while, thank you and great job!

Anoarith says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 5:19am

I think I had the best ending. Ever.

Striwx says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Love the mood !

May 18, 2014 @ 9:35am

Thanks. I like this. I especially like the digging scenes. he contrast between the far view and the close view helped me feel like I was really on my knees, trying to look carefully into the ground. Though I think having each dig action being tied to 1 mouse click made those scenes go too fast. Maybe 1 dig per second or half second would be better.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]