Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Juno's Garden

by Dining Philosopher - Jam Entry

A game about asteroids, goat plagues and love.
First time I did LD all by myself, since Anneroos is in Istanbul for a course. I did not have time to make any music, but I'm happy I finished.

Tested in Firefox, audio does not work in Chromium. Please report issues you may have with other browsers.

Toptip: zoom in your browser to get a comfortable size for your screen.

SUMMARY OF THE MECHANICS
Use the arrow keys. More controls are unlocked as the game progresses. You have to protect your asteroid against incoming meteors.

Roots spread through your asteroid from the heartroot, which provides them with food.
Roots cannot grow near eachother.
Roots grow only once, but you can reseed them if they have enough food (press 'F').

When a root reaches the border of the asteroid, a starflower grows on it. Starflowers generate sundancers that bring food to the heartroot.

Goats eat sunflowers and turn them into asteroid (the goats have severe constipation). This helps you grow your asteroid against the rain of meteors. You can buy a goat with 'D'.

There are limits to the reach of heartroot nourishing; you can take food from a heartroot with 'A' and use it to create a new heartroot on a normal root somewhere else with 'S'.


Good luck!

And never mind the pseudophysics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#68Innovation(Jam)3.78
#284Humor(Jam)2.79
#350Mood(Jam)3.09
#458Overall(Jam)3.07
#485Theme(Jam)2.93
#551Audio(Jam)2.52
#604Fun(Jam)2.48
#661Graphics(Jam)2.52
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

Exeneva says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:47am

Interesting take on the theme, but hard for me to find out the fun factor in it.

wicht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:57am

Nice idea, interesting story. Thanks!

Hermes says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Not bad, and a good story!

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Insufficient Nutrients! Funny audio

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:46pm

nice little game (- :

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Really well put together!

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:28pm

A cute, enjoyable game. Remeniscent of The Little Prince, which was nice. I liked the idea of turning an asteroid into a self-sustaining garden or ecosystem; asteroid grows flowers, flowers provide energy, energy makes goats, goats eat flowers and build up more asteroid, etc.

The asteroids always come too fast and heavily for me, and I wish I had more direct control over protecting my asteroid... perhaps the ability to move it out of the way, or rotate it to make sure they impact away from my flowers. I feel terrible when my goats get blown up! It might also be nice to have more time to grow your home and flowers (and time to get used to the controls) before the asteroids come. Actually, I think the game would really benefit from a slower pace in general. Gardening is a slow, thoughtful exercise, so it would fit the feel well.

Thanks for putting this together, and sharing it!

Good job.

May 2, 2014 @ 11:32am

Haha thanks for the comment VictoryGarden! You're right, it does resemble the little prince somewhat :-)

I ran out of time before I could implement placing turrets, or balance the game... The pace is indeed more of a debugging pace. I'll see if I can put up a post-compo.

XenosNS says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:38am

Nice story, unique idea

anvoz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:34am

Great job. The idea is really interesting. But I am not sure I can understand clearly about the root, how to reseed it and how much does it cost.

copain says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:13am

cool, remind me the little prince too.
the root thing is hard to understand first.

jsmars says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:47am

Interesting game but it was hard to understand the mechanics, maybe a bit more UI helpers to better understand what did what.

Snoother says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Yeah, the mechanics were kind of overwhelming to start of with. But I recommend for people to stick with it. The story is cute and the premise of building a sustainable garden on an asteroid is really good. Though I too agree with VictoryGarden that if it were a slower, more sedate game the gameplay would probably be noticeably better and more suitable. Nevertheless, it's still a good entry as it stands and worth people's time.

Shivur says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Interesting concept, but the voice sounds break the ambiance I think is meant to be more poetic than silly.

jujule says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:50pm

I concur with everybody else. I was a bit confused but the art and concept is fantastic. I didn't want to zoom, I liked the tiny graphics.

ashdnazg says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Asteroids with names? Goats? Sunflowers? I like that!
While the gameplay was confusing (walls of text don't help much) I understood enough of what's going on to win, so I suppose it's alright.
Graphic style works well, and effects+voice acting are excellent. Music could do wonders in this entry!
For your next game, keep the wackiness but try to convey the gameplay better! Maybe by showing and not by telling.

Good job!

Benjamin says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Wow great concept, but the controls... :-/ I wish I could only press space and select from a secret-of-mana-ish menu if I want to greate frog / grab food or anything else. Just arrow Key + action key could really help.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]