Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

THE SKIES ARE A FALLIN'

by glbs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

BEWARE : SANDBOX VERSION!!!

------------------------------------------------------

I didn't have the time to create a proper level, nor to implement what I intended to justify this title...

I also discovered a bit late that using too many transparent blocks was a serious problem with performance!

Anyway, you can still have a look around and try to activate or destroy some stuff, maybe also blend some lights. Don't fall off the platform though, unless you see a sort of inviting surface!

--------------------------------------------------------

WASD/ZQSD : move
MOUSE : look around
ESC : pause & unlock cursor


Thanks for trying!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#332Graphics3.52
#388Innovation3.31
#395Mood3.17
#803Theme2.96
#830Overall2.90
#832Fun2.71
#849Humor2.00
#899Audio2.00

Comments

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16am

I love the concept and the art. You should have done different levels, because the idea works really good. Game runs a bit slow but its playable :)

Kate Kligman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:41am

Interesting concept! While waiting for the sky to fall I managed to fall off the platform. :)

https://www.flickr.com/photos/katekligman/14106073833/

noom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:29am

Very neat concept

jayemjee says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:59am

It isn't bad, though I'm not catching the "beneath the surface" theme for this.

Cash says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Cool concept but is it over after activating the black thing?I didn't know what to do after that

May 3, 2014 @ 9:20pm

This has the makings of something interesting, but it doesn't really make much sense at the moment. It certainly looks quite nice, and the light beams coming from the squares look cool. I'd like to see where you're going with this.

glbs says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Thank you all for your feedback.
Well, nothing's really implemented yet and there's actually nothing else to do after activating the black thing... I spent too much time coding bricks that aren't even used there!
But I'll try to finish it

May 4, 2014 @ 10:27pm

that is some fun work with the lightshafts! Also like the gag of the world turning around :)

ChuiGum says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:17am

Love the graphics!

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:57am

Neat! I got one of the ships (?) to fly off by lighting up the colored circles. Very abstract, but interesting. I liked the transparency and color scheme. I hope you finish making the game.

May 5, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Good concept. Do you make post-compo?

Martin Ysa says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Nice Concept, the game runs slow sometimes... but it's cool anyway

mrbungle says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Really liking the graphical style, would be intrigued by a post compo version.

DonovanWu says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:47am

Yea, the game's a bit laggy, but looks absolutely beautiful!!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]