Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dany's Room

by tomvert - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore Dany's Room and discover his super fun activities.

Point & Click Control.

EDIT: I have made a post-compo version with an ending and other stuff to do, I have included all the nice feedback you gave me, thx everyone !

Alexandre Szybiak
a-szybiak.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#63Graphics4.25
#204Mood3.49
#207Humor3.10
#394Audio3.00
#471Innovation3.18
#506Theme3.32
#532Overall3.20
#731Fun2.83

Comments

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:19am

Quite cool game ! Bugs are very funny but i need more activities for Danny

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Nice game and beautiful bugs ++

realtutsgml says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Pretty cool, took me a second to realize what I should actually be doing in the game. Nice job! Great art.

atterday says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Very nice graphics and enjoyable game. Good job

oal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Great visual style, but I was hoping for a little more things to do.

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

I could not get the web link to work unfortunately - it looks good!

minibutmany says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Danny lives a very interesting life! Nice work. I wish there was some way for Danny to escape.

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Small sandbox :)
Need more features for players to discover!

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Wow, really polished and stunning graphics. Music was good too, if a bit repetitive.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Aw! Poor Danny! Lovely little concept, and well executed. With a couple other activities, and a long term goal (break free?) This could really be something special. Nice job, keep it up!

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:39am

Yeah, I wish I could have made an ending like that... I didn't planned enough. Thanks !

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:51am

Nice pet-raising idea, could have used more activities though.

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Really neat little game, really like the style, so much room for expansion =D

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Love the art style and fresh idea, would be pretty awesome with a bit more gameplay

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:11pm

In the future, i'd like to add two or three more activities and in the activities you could gather objects wich would help you to escape, what do you all think about that ?

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Great art, great mood. Definitely makes me crave some old school point-and-click puzzle games like "Gobliiins".

Christophe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Really good!! Cute bugs and lovely graphics.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Enjoyed the bug racing and style.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Huh. Interesting game. I would have liked more stuff to do, but everything that was there was very polished. Good job :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:01pm

The activities inside of the room where interesting, but there was no overall game objective as far as I could tell. Winning the bug race gave you a gold cup. Would be nice to be able to leave the room. I definetely liked the art style and the mood. Would have loved to see more of the creators ideas.

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:12pm

I think this game is just the way it needs to be. At first, I thought the same, meh, no real ending, no ebjective, laaaaame. But then, after playing it for a few minutes I discovered the details and realized, this boy is trapped there and will NEVER get anything else to do than paint on his sheets of paper and do bug races. Ever. That made me really, really sad. Nice piece of work, almost poetry!

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:22pm

This entry made me sad... (which is good!)
The audio and graphic style build the mood of the game quite well!

Gameplay is obviously quite limited and I'd love to see what you can add to that.

Well done!

namuol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:13am

Nice graphics! Would like to have seen more things/places to explore. What did you have in mind, originally?

tomvert says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:36am

namuol: Originally I wanted to make a multi-activity game that would be a parody of sandbox/educational kids games like Adibou, Mario Paint.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Lovely graphics! Everything is so crispy.

Ellian says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:16am

Wish there was more to do; The art is lovely, and the little details too. Great work here!

May 1, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Good game. I wish there was more to interact with but overall I enjoyed the game. Good job.

Luis Anton says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:12pm

This entry is disturbing in so many ways 8( Poor boy! Well done!!

conormn says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Ha, very well done. Really liked races :)
You had asked about my other work, for now it's only my LD entries. I'll have something up soon tho.

Cirrial says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Absolutely love the artwork. I wish there was more gameplay, it feels like there was an escape planned or something similar!

Covenant says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Wish it had some more stuff to do, but excelent work! Good job!

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Really nice presentation, though there isn't much of a challenge. I liked discovering what the game was about, but I would have liked to do more stuff.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Nice work. Lovely gfx. I liked the surprises along the way. Was kind of hoping for an ending, but was fun nonetheless.

voxel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:24pm

The music really made this for me. Lovely art style too

May 2, 2014 @ 9:10pm

A well done game, the pets are cool. I felt sad for Dany. :/ (I'm assuming he was kidnaped, due to the door being locked and that book in the bookshelf)

terraco says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:16am

When bugs are a GOOD thing in a game

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:28am

"How to kidnap children" hahaha. Not much to it, but I'd definitely play a more fleshed out version of this with more activities and things to do! The content that is here though is very polished and works well.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:28am

So dark, I love it. Really crisp graphics.

May 3, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Awesome graphics! Cute game

cirolve says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:06am

Interesting art style, to say the least. I'd love to have more things to do, but the stuff that you can do already is surprisingly fun!

May 4, 2014 @ 9:45am

Nice art and moody music. I tried to rig the races by betting on the best fed bug but didn't really work :P

May 4, 2014 @ 10:34am

Nice art and interesting idea. Maybe gameplay needs more depth though, felt a bit monotonous...

Nanolotl says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:17am

Really nice art style

zebi24 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:37am

Looks really cool and it is fun to play. Would love to see more content in the future, it really has potential. :)

garygreen says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Really liked the art and the music was atmospheric too. Poor Dany!

01101101 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:56am

really nice, little sounds when you feed the bugs would have been great and a race song also. Good Entry!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Really nice audio and graphics, gameplay is bit flat on the other side :)

Gwinnell says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:21pm

I like how Danny's eyes follow the cursor around. The bug races were cool, as were the wall sketches. Obviously the art is amazing. I'd love to see more! For a point and click though (i.e. quite important), the cursor does seem a bit loose - is it accelerating towards the actual mouse point?

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:26am

This game is really depressing, as things like these actually happen. Really good entry! Delves a bit further into the theme than most entries do.

udo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Very nice idea, and I totally loved the bugs!

Rabbits... says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 10:39pm

not really too sure what that was, but the art was spectacular

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]