Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Through Shadows

by sockfolder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is an action RPG game where most things are not as they appear. After learning your abilities in a short introduction, you must face off and defeat the Lord of Shadows before he defeats you. However, his many abilities hold secrets that must be revealed to survive...

Controls:
WASD to move. Mouse to look.
Left click to attack.
Right click for spells. (See below)
Space to pause and unfocus the screen.

Right click is used for your special Revelation techniques. Hold right click to create a long lasting area effect on the ground. Anything near this spot has its true form revealed. Double right click for a rapid and wide area reveal effect, though it doesn't last very long.

Walkthrough for the beginning, just in case my instructions are not clear:
1) Attack the rope with left click twice to break it and go past.
2) Go near the double angel statues and hold right click. You will find they are in fact demons, and the path is now unblocked.
3) Use your double right click special to find which angel is false. Get past the false angle with revelation magic.

Defeating the boss is up to you alone.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#394Audio3.00
#457Graphics3.31
#532Overall3.20
#540Fun3.03
#588Mood2.95
#613Innovation2.97
#849Humor2.00
#1094Theme2.38

Comments

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02am

This game is 3d and interesting, very well done (where is th theme)?

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:07am

Really enjoyed the graphics, in a N64-classics kind of way.
Also the soundtrack was rockin'

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Good game, just a little difficulty when you want to turn the camera , if you are just near to a wall, the camera didn't move... but it is nothing compare to the gaming experience :)

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Very impressive for a 48 hour game!

sockfolder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:23pm

The theme is that, in this world of shadows, many objects have a deceptive appearance, either appearing as something they are not, or being invisible. You must look beneath their surface to determine the true nature of these objects to better combat them. And of course to do that, you use magic.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:32am

I definitely liked the mood of the game. The boss fight is super difficult :P

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33am

Well done! great work in such short time.

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:51am

Cool! Wow that's so much work! I really enjoyed the concept, many rough bits could be worked out, but damn it's already so far along!

The damage you do is too low! That made me feel really weak :P

The mechanics gel together well. The pacing is good except for the low damage. It's almost like it was trying to be AAA. Goodness :D

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Hard game, but its cool ^^. As other people said, it feels like a n64 game :)
Boss phases were good ^^

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Sockfold, your site is down, but you have to message me as soon as it's up :P

You've, like, earned a place in my heart as someone whose games I must always check now.

sockfolder says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:32am

The site seems to be up now. It is unfortunate that you couldn't play earlier. Hopefully you enjoy the game =).

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:19am

Man, that was intense. I think I won? He had no hp left and all the orbs and he disappeared etc.

The beams from their faces were mean :P . Although, at first I was like WTF THAT'S NOT FAIR but then 10 seconds later I was like "Okay, yeah, that's completely fair".

The mechanic's really cool, it's just a shame you didn't have more time to explore it. I also really enjoy how the character runs, it reminds me of Sakon from Majora's Mask.

Also, vastly different from your last game, so mad props for that.

sockfolder says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:30am

Yeah I didn't have time to make an ending screen, so if the boss disappears, you won! So congratulations =)

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:34am

I liked this, while your graphics were very simple I appreciate how difficult 3d modelling is and was impressed.

wicht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:05am

I like the reveal mechanic and how you used it in puzzle as well as in the boss fight. Nice entry!

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:14am

Pretty awesome! Reminded me of the good 'ol N64 days, and it had a boss fight! (well, it's basically a boss fight anyways)
Enjoyed a lot, controls felt super natural during the boss fight. Loved the camera work, but some sliding when it collides a wall would've been better.
Loved the boss and its AI, when I thought it would be easy then it spawned yet another new skill! Great job!

akymos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:14am

Great interpretation of the theme! Good job!

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:34am

Hey this is a cool game! It's awesome that it's in a 3D and it's a lot for a 48 hour game! It was fun dodging the boss's many different attacks.

One thing I would have liked to see would be a bit of instruction, just because I don't usually read the descriptions before trying games, so I didn't know what right click was doing.

Another thing is that the controls weren't as smooth as a game like this would ideally have. The camera is cool in how it zooms in and out, but it does indeed sometimes turn weirdly. Also, the way you attack and move doesn't feel as smooth as it should for a fight against a boss that keeps running away from you.

After reading what the right click ability does, I really like your take on the theme! The mechanic is a great idea and I like how you incorporated both a puzzle and a boss! I'm also a fan of the chess-like flooring you've got there :b

Overall, pretty awesome game, especially in 48 hours!

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Very original theme interpretation! Amazing that you managed to create this in only 48 hours!

Hamsternator says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:57am

This is really impressive. Sure it got some rough edges but this is way better than I expect from a 3D action game made in 48 hours. Really nice interpretation of the theme =)

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:07am

Really cool, That boss battle was quit balanced and using the revelations in order to detect which phantom was real was clever as well

v_n_j says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:11am

Great job! But where have my estus flasks and rolls gone? :D

I hope you'd improve mechanics and fix small bugs later, i'd really like to see it more polished.

Just some bugs to mention: red orbs don't seem to do anything most of the time, white orbs are just overwhelming and killed me after i killed the boss :) and boss can escape through the fence.

sockfolder says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:27am

I suppose I will spoil some of the abilities, though you shouldn't read until you win =p.

Mines: The red orbs are mines. They slowly drop and explode when they hit the ground.
Shadow triangle attack: A moderate range cone attack. It can start at one of three different angles. You can reveal a yellow indicator to show where it is targeting.
Mirror Image: Teleports and creates 2 illusions at random locations. The illusions take damage from being revealed.
Lasers: Just a laser, and the only attack illusions can use.
Balls: One color of ball is fake (and transparent when revealed), and the other is real. They double every so often. A good tactic is to run into the fake ball so it doesn't double and the number of balls stays managable.

v_n_j says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:14am

@sockfolder

Problem with red orbs is that they do no damage most of the time. Before boss starts to clone himself i just stay close to him and smash left button and take NO damage no matter how many red orbs there are. I dont think that was intended.

D2FXRayG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:29pm

I could see where you were going, just needs refining. Good effort though!

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Hi. Great idea, slower reveal if you had more time would have been cool. Idea of seeing things hidden is nice. Final boss fight took ages

greg-anims says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:09pm

pretty awesome, reminds me of net-yaroze games on PS1 demo disks

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]