Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the surface of colorful bricks

by galeswift - Jam Entry

Didn't get to polish this much, but was able to at least get the gameplay in a spot that was fun.

Mix of puzzle fighter and mr. driller? Try to send your 'crash' bricks into the center to advance to the next level.

Directions:
Use special 'crash' bricks to smash through the surface!
Arrows move/rotate your brick.
Spacebar drops your brick immediately.
Occasionally you will get a wildcard brick that will break all bricks of the color it landed on.

Credits for the music go to:
https://soundcloud.com/twc-3

Make by Keith Miron

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#16Fun(Jam)4.06
#84Overall(Jam)3.72
#102Audio(Jam)3.72
#143Innovation(Jam)3.55
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#557Theme(Jam)2.74
#572Graphics(Jam)2.83

Comments

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26am

Neat idea. Wasn't sure what I was doing at the start but it soon became pretty clear.

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32am

Good job! Had fun, it seemed a little too easy though.

simon02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32am

Nice game. Reminds me a little of Super Hexagon. It works and plays very well.

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:38am

When it kicked in why you referenced Puzzle Fighter, I got super into this game. Making a chain of breaks is just as satisfying, and you made the breaks sound nice and meaty. I hope you go back to this later and add VFX/SFX for chains and combos, it'd look so dope.

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:40am

Not a bad puzzle game

yo_milo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:09am

I played this game for a good hour... It is pretty good.
Music is pretty Juicy. The best feeling is destroying layers and layers of blocks, and hearing them crack one by one.

Sadly, the wildcard destroys all the blocks at the same time...

wheelsx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:13am

Totally reminiscent of Tetris. Fun and addicting, yet maybe a little too easy. I had to commit suicide at level 50 so I could stop playing and rate it :P Great concept, would like to see it polished!

xhunterko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:49am

Very nice jam game sir!

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:17am

Nice puzzle game, clever game design.

jedeen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:17am

It was really easy to get invested into completing the levels. With a little bit of polish, this would be downright addicting. Good job!

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:19am

Great! That's the kind of game I was hoping to find in the LD. You should make an infinite mode, where pieces start 'falling' faster, like tetris.
Look to me like combination between super hexagon and tetris. Loved it.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:22am

Very nice. Like music, game play is very fluent.

Nimmrod says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:54am

Really really fun. I love how seamless the game is between levels, I could play it for hours. Got to 28k before I stopped which isn't even that much

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:34am

Pretty cool idea, I had a hard time understanding the "win" conditions, but I still won!

dj_pale says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Overall good work. A bit confused by the colors and the fact that you could expand the pieces. Good soundtrack, feels like a good start. Could also think about difficulty scaling.

Zarkith says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Awwww, the music stopped for me when I got a massive combo on level 32. :(
At least that actually gave me a reason to stop playing. :P

mrexcessive says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Hi. Didn't find a strategy, plays nicely.

euske says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:27pm

This game is dangerously addictive. I was kinda tired at level 35, but wonder how long I was playing. Nice take of the theme too.

PetorialC says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:47am

Being a Tetris fan, I see the greatness of this game. It's always nice to see to chain effects!! :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]