Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Murder Clown

by Just_delete_it - Jam Entry

"Under the surface"
We all find meaning when there may be none; searching for reason underneath the nonsense that is everywhere.

Oh, and a clown is just a person with silly make-up on. So that fits too. And this game is played in their mouth. Triple score.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#36Humor(Jam)3.84
#338Mood(Jam)3.11
#393Audio(Jam)3.00
#466Innovation(Jam)2.78
#564Fun(Jam)2.61
#594Graphics(Jam)2.77
#608Overall(Jam)2.78
#663Theme(Jam)2.42

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:36am

I came hoping to enjoy a family-friendly clown-murdering experience for the PC, and left sorely disappointed. The game...was not available on the website.

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:27pm

scary !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! funny sounds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! haha!!!!!!!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:28pm

My apologies, the game had a crash issue so I took it down for a quick fix. It is now 100% up and stable for PC play. Currently, I'm working on getting the web-version working again (GameMaker can be fickle at times).

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:33pm

same

Afal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:37pm

"Are you sure you want to open Murder_Clown.exe"

Yes windows I.. OH GOD OH WHAT. WHAT THE HECK. DARN. DARN IT. DANG. MY GOODNESS

Moosefly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:38pm

This is the second time today I get to ponder whether something is genious or just plain madness. And I've only rated 5 other games so far. This theme might be too deep for me :D.

Certainly the best interactive clownscape so far though!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

mimic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:43pm

This game is hilariously creepy.

Waterman7 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45pm

i love you

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Well done sir!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09pm

I can't believe I actually finished this game.
Haha them clowns...

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Wtf :D

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:06pm

What did I just play!?

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34pm

If you scrolled the comments just to see if this is actually creepy: nah
Good game though!

larouxn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Was decently enjoyable. Mostly creepy though.

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Da hell did I just "Play" O_O

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Return to real life? Yes please. Very funny and weird game that makes you eyes sparkle and bleed at the same time. Though is this really a game? I guess that's all just relative to the person who plays it.

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Sooooooooooooooo creeeepy. And funny!

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Why did I try this game? I'm gonna get nightmares about clowns!
Strangely disturbing entry

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:21pm

What did I just play :O

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:30pm

I dunno what I was expecting but it wasn't what I thought xD good job!

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Got stuck on the Ansel Adams quote. Is that the end of the game?

SK16Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:03pm

HAHAHAHA this was so hilarious! You've shown me the beautiful in life xD

fueelin says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:45am

Daaaamn.

PriorBlue says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:53am

Can't sleep anymore. x.X

KuGrou says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:55am

Return to real life? No, I wanna stay on Mr. Clown's wild ride. :D

garygreen says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:29pm

That was unique. :-D

kevinAlbs says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:18pm

This was by far one of the most memorable games. It was certainly creative. And despite the silliness, it was definitely not poorly put together, so bravo.

udo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Well... that was... different :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]