Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fathoms

by dook - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Instructions: Shoot flares to see what is hiding in the water. Shoot tags to mark all the fish. Don't touch the fish with your boat! Both flares and tags have a cooldown, wait for the text to turn white before you can fire again. - WASD to move - Space to break - Left click to shoot flare - Ctrl+Left click to shoot tag at fish - Press "Esc" to restart when game is over

UPDATE:
Added native Windows, Mac, and Linux versions. I haven't tested the Linux and OSX versions yet, so let me know if they work alright :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#98Theme3.88
#153Mood3.60
#168Innovation3.68
#231Graphics3.72
#297Audio3.17
#484Overall3.25
#826Fun2.72
#849Humor2.00

Comments

dook says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Things I'd like to add for a later version:
- A better looking boat, that's the one thing I'm most disatisfied with.
- Weird creatures instead of fish, I made an animated octopus-thing, but didn't have the time to put it in the game :/
- More audio and music

eatsleepindie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39am

Great concept and the artwork is top notch.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32am

Nice idea! The water-sounds really add to this

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I like the mood. nice art too

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Nice idea, graphically very pleasing. Sound could do with work, though what's there is decent.
Gameplay is a little shallow, needs more content, perhaps harder difficulty levels.

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Ha! "Shallow" I get it ;) Seriously, though, thanks for the feedback :) More levels, more creatures and sound is probably next on the list if I keep working on this. (After I draw a new boat)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Really interesting premise!

borrismoose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Nice idea, it plays smoothly and has some suspense. Is there any scoring or progression in place?

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:09pm

There's no scores and only the same fixed number of fish, moving in set paths. I'd rather have something more organic, spawning creatures and such, but that's for a later version.

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:15pm

nice game, it's very similar to the one i made for this jam. If your interested, my game is 'It came from below'.

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:16pm

finally a game where you are not a violant inhabitant of the game world. I love your take on the theme!

Slader16 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06am

I really liked the concept of tagging the sharks!

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:34am

Nice mood (:
I look forward to see more !

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Very original idea, I liked the mechanics, but I found it a little difficult.

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:12pm

This one is tough, but cool idea! Tagging makes a world difference in comparison... and trying not to disturb shark life is a cool idea. I feel this could be developed into so many different things. Excellent job!

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

As others have said, really peaceful yet challenging. A great take on the theme. Congratulations.

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:31pm

like that cool dark atmoshere. sounds are nice too

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Really nice use of the mechanics and the visual masking effect!

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Very nice concept here, quite tricky. As mentioned, it's nice to have a variety of non-destructive games in LD.

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:49pm

In my opinion it needs more difficulty. But a nice entry!

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Nice game. I would like some sort of highscore.

porglezomp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Ha! This is really cool! I loved the sound, and the little blinking tags were great. This is a pretty fun game, and could really become awesome! (I might buy it with some more animals, some improved graphics, and a little bit more depth of play.)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Fun game, hard! Great graphics.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Nice theme for the game. Only trouble is moving is a bit pointless. You can just stay still and tag all the fish. I think if the level was larger and if you had a limited amount of flares it could have some more game play. Apart from that good game.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:13pm

This is a clever idea, implemented well. The sounds are simple but very effective.

td1801 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:29pm

The arts and the mood are awesome. It's quite hard the first times but it's cool !

Dominator_101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Nice! Liked the art and sound!

aisenhein says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Very nice idea!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]