Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

ScubaBear

by _Rilem - Jam Entry

ScubaBear is a collecting and exploration game. A true Beneath the Surface Metroidvania! Scuba the bear aims to collect all of the hidden treasures of poseidon. As you collect treasures with ScubaBear your set of abilities will grow and you can explore even more areas. Finally, when you collect all of the treasure you can be proud to call yourself the true King of the Sea. Controls: Arrow keys and 'D','F','return' keys When in Chrome some game controllers are also supported. Credits: All (fantastic) audio: Shannon Mason 'Pongball' Art / programming: Richard Lems 'Rilem' Level design: Diane de Wilde 'Ziryf' Known issues: - Artifacts between tiles on older browsers. - Random flickering on outdated graphics cards / drivers. - empty chest *fixed*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall(Jam)4.59
Fun(Jam)4.46
Audio(Jam)4.59
#5Graphics(Jam)4.75
#19Mood(Jam)4.24
#26Humor(Jam)3.96
#42Theme(Jam)3.91
#222Innovation(Jam)3.34
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

HacksawUnit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16am

Amazing sound, amazing music, amazing gameplay. . . this is real quality!

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:17am

Wow, really great work! Love everything about this.

omgnoseat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24am

Loved everything about it :D

IvanDashSmith says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:30am

I love it!

IvanDashSmith says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38am

Any Hunger Games fans? When I see him with the trident I want to name him "Finnick Obear"!

Garris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:40am

Yes am bear, but always wondered: "Why am bear? Is there more than bear?". No longer! Am bear for scuba! Am bear for good game! Am more than bear. Am ScubaBear!

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46am

WOO!! Love it!

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55am

This is awesome. Great quality.
But... when I got to the last chest, it didn't do anything. So I have a missing slot.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:59am

Man, this is awesome. I'd buy it if it was commercially available. Good work guys, keep it up!

Boodog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:27am

The graphics and audio are amazing! The only thing I couldn't figure out how to do was dive :)

jdmoser says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:45am

This is amazing! I would gladly throw money at this if it were further developed!

ghostmaple says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:05am

Lots of fun. Was expecting a boring left to right platformer. Was nicely surprised. (Also was one treasure short. I think there was a chest in a cave near the left side of the map that didn't fill up a spot on my list. 2nd column, 2nd row of list?)

Kyatric says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:25am

Very nice production quality (as often with your game), nice graphics music and audio. I like the changing music when you go deeper/go back to surface.

I too add an issue where a chest just gave me nothing so I end up with one slot missing when I've got all the rest of the treasure, it is a bit frustrating ^^

The game directly crashed for me when trying it in FireFox, but it is because of the gamepad API.
Nevertheless, it works good in Chrome.

Congrats to you and your team for this nice game made in a week end and submitted in the jam !

Mago says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28am

Oh my GOD! Amazing. Best game so far.

_Rilem says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:44am

@gaming_ray: Where was that chest? I might have made a typo somewhere.
Might be the chest ghostmaple is mentioning.

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:45am

Adorable, cute, amazing pixelwork, great sound, great controls, lots of content! Crazy this was made in 3 days! The map is a bit "walk back and forth" but it is really exciting everytime you open a chest! Awesome work!

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:52am

AHHHH THE MUSIC IS SO GOOD this is perfect

_Rilem says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:59am

I've fixed the empty chest, it was indeed a simple typo. -__-
You might need to clear your cache to see the changes.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:07am

Yes! Yes! So much yes!

Valandre says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:09am

Amazing. Wonderboy V gameplay, I love it so much!

zell2002 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28am

this is amazing. very polished game. sound art game play, design all nicely done !
congrats guys!

MerlijnVH says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:54am

Possibly my favorite game so far. The gameplay, graphics and music have a super charming and polished feeling to them.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:54am

Very fun and polished. When are you guys gonna release a full game? I mean if you can create these things in 3 days, show us what you can do with 6 months :)! Good job!

Nimmrod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Awesome. This is inspired by TreasureBear I would imagine.

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14pm

cool game, also had an open chest somewhere at the bottom of the level

bitserum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Hahaha that splashy fish treasure made my day. Love the game, everything about it. Was hard avoiding those sea urchins though.

Kyatric says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Note, with FireFox 29 everything works just fine (controller, music, gameplay all good), and thanks for the fixing the issue with "the last chest", I was able to see the end that way.
Again, congrats on a game well done !

cavf88 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:45pm

My favourite game of LD48, nothing else to say!

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Well this is just pretty marvellous, isn't it? :D Reminded me a little bit of Treasure Island Dizzy. I also liked that the music changed a little bit when you are underwater!

awanegenebayo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Wow, amazing work!

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Absolutely great work for 72 hours. Very polished

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Great Work ! This game is amazing !

magicspark says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Awesome game! Could find 21/24 treasures.
Was really happily surprised by the different changes in the music while diving deeper and deeper :) I love the deep abyssal side of it!

_Rilem says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:14pm

@Kyatric: Yes I just saw the firefox release. Awesome that everything works now. :)
The 'ending' was thrown in last minute, but now people will at least be able to see it. xD

Zyper says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:15pm

One of the best games of this Ludum Dare!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Really fantastic. Entries like this always make me so jealous. The dynamic/contextual music was a great touch, and the treasure/stage progression relationship was rock solid.

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17pm

The only problem is that it ends at all, brilliantly done.

Yword says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Perfect! The game is very complete, and the graphics and level design are awesome too.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Very polished. this is impressive.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Wow, definitely my absolute favorite Jam Entry. Honestly, I can't find anything to criticize, you should be extremely proud.

rogberth says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30pm

I hate the game. I don't know how the f**k I managed to get all the treasures from the dark area without the light bulb.
10/10 game, but I hate it right now haha

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Wow that's a lot of content you've got there, and it's super professional. Great job, especially on the feeling/screenshake/particle stuff, it really adds something :D

JoeProgram says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Great work! Maybe you should group all the usable items together? I wasn't really sure which item allowed me to swim through the strong current.

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:44pm

And so you became king of the sea! (That's all i'm gonna say.)

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:58pm

This game was awesome! one of my favorite! really, the art is beautiful, music is great and well merged, design is awesome. Great job, really. I have nothing bad to say about ti.

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:59pm

just finished it, cool indeed, wasn't sure what items would do what but maybe that's my lack of knowledge of the referenced games.

too bad about the anti-climactic ending :P

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Damn it. You guys really made one hell of a game.
The game has a lot of great content.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23pm

This game is amazing, the pixel art is beautiful, the gameplay is great and relaxing, the musics fit the game perfectly and I loved the references! One of my favorite games for sure! :D

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:59pm

My favorite Jam entry thus far. Simply perfect on almost every level. The music... oh my god... and how it changes... I can't even deal with how beautiful it is. The sprites, the controls, the humor with the different treasures... the progression... GAHHHH it's just so amazing. Wonderful work all around. You should feel very accomplished!

_Rilem says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Thanks for the kind words, we did our best! ^^
@rogberth: respect to you for finding those treasures in the darkness! That's insane o.o

Chronoberry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Please export a mobile version of this! http://cf.geekdo-images.com/images/pic1735297.jpg

I played for so long my food got cold >_< Wooooow, just wooooow.

How did you guys make this in 3 days? Could you give a quick summary?

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Ok, this was awesome. Great everything. Very *VERY* nicely done!
Also thanks for making this HTML5-enabled. There aren't many games that work under Linux, so this is always welcome. That said though, the tiles weren't aligning correctly. I expect this is some kind of bug in Construct or Chrome?

_Rilem says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:04pm

@chronoberry: there will be a postmortem in a few days which will give a more in depth view. But a quick summery was that all 3 of us like exploring and collecting hidden treasures. So we settled on one of the first silly ideas of a bear. Then I set up a quick workflow from http://www.mapeditor.org/ to our construct scene. From there it went pretty smooth, but it was hard work till the end. o.o

@frozencow: That's a rendering bug that is most likely related to the gpu or gpu drivers. Then again it might also be a linux specific thing. But I'm just guessing here. :p
Windows/osx/linux builds are coming later, so that might fix the issue.

maffydub says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Really nice graphics and audio. Smooth scrolling and gameplay. Good job!

Tamik says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:45pm

That was really awesome! Thanks for making it!

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Hey, I'd say you pretty well nailed what you set out to do, the music is wonderful, there's a ton of awesome artwork. Nice job. There isn't much to it-- it's pretty much just "scour the level for collectables"-- but for what it is, it's awesome.

There were a couple parts that were a bit unclear to me-- using the double jump ability comes to mind, as does finding the last button. And I never actually found the final collectable. Aside from that, I liked it.

You successfully made 2D Banjo Kazooie.

Anoarith says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Awesome, just awesome ! :D

KayZ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Amazing game. Woke up some nostalgia in me. Reminded me of an old Genesis game. Wonder Boy in Monster World. The Graphics, the happy music, the crabs, the chests. Wonderful :).

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Very Banjo-Kazooie - I hope that's what you were going for!

gigitrix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:00pm

This oozes charm, great soundtrack (loved the dynamic playback when it comes to being underwater, always a fantastic sight!) Highly polished, lots of content... it's great :D

If you want something constructive, all I can offer is a minor UI niggle: the inventory showing up after each "item get" was a little unusual since you had to manually close it. I'd be cool if that only showed up for ~2 seconds and then went down by itself!

Really though, it's a non-issue. The game is great :D

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Wow. I'm very impressed with this one. One of my favorite games made during this Jam. Nice job :)

rxi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Absolutely oozing with quality. A perfect example of a game.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:46pm

This game is of a very high quality. Definitely on the top of my list. Graphics are great, sound and music is awesome! It's spot on!! Good job.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:30am

fantastic work. fun gameplay, and great sounds. I did run across an issue where if I attacked while my ghost was floating back I could move my "body" out of the way and it got lost off one side of the screen.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:22am

Awesome game! Amazing visuals/music. Great work!

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:47am

Looks good, feels good to play, fun world to explore, and props on the context-sensitive music. Only problem I had was that there's not much you can do to control the height of the bear's jump, and it's not 100% consistent in the water, so I kept running into enemies, but that's a relatively small complaint.

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:35am

Very nice pixel art style.

scottyb says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:05am

This is definitely my favorite game of the jam so far. Excellent all around. Love the health indicator, what a great touch!

k.escoe says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:51am

This was awesome loved the concept of it, only problem was it was freezing alot, and you can see the lines in the tiles. other than that awesome game great job!

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:37am

Holy Win. When can I buy the full version?

neekobus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:34am

That's a great game !
That bear remind me Rocky the Raccoon (from Pocky and Rocky SNES).

Well, some constructive critics :
- I love the "FPS" inventory. But it could disappear after some seconds when we collect a treasure.
- About the one big level : That's good, but I'd liked a map as a treasure (showing only where a already go) to help me to figure where I have to go next.
- Really need a save command (or checkpoints).
- Have you considered mouse / touch command to port it on tablet ?

Good work ! Can't wait to see the full game.

_Rilem says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:38am

@neekobus: A map would be a very good idea. But alas 3 days wasn't enough time. :<
I haven't experimented with touch controls yet, but it's on the todo list! :)

rezoner says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:33am

bear-o-quality

Valandre says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:08am

Great work, where can we find the music?

Rad Star says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:24pm

I really loved your game! Nice job!

lonewookie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Everything about this game is fantastic. I loved every second of it, and I got all the treasures. It's actually kind of what I wanted my game The Puddle to be like, but my current skill set wasn't enough for that scope. FANTASTIC GAME!

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:05pm

I found all the treasures! :D
http://imgur.com/Ugcqfot

One of the best games of this ludum thus far. Impressive graphics, catchy music, cool sfx and a lovely bear.

The only downside is that the game has only one enemy and one trap, so the last half of the game a bit monotonous by the lack of new things. But is understandable knowing the time limit in a event like that.

Great good job to all the team!

ioboi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Everything is amazing, sound, graphics and the especially the humor (A diving bear) :'D

HernanZh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:43pm

THIS IS AMAZING. Best jam entry I've played so far! I love it!
One small criticism: I couldn't see what the last treasure was I collected because the end screen popped up right away.

leafo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Great music

_Rilem says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:08pm

@valandre: You can find the soundtrack on Pongball's soundcloud. https://soundcloud.com/pongball

_Rilem says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Now also available on Bandcamp! http://shannonmason.bandcamp.com/album/scubabear-soundtrack-ludum-dare-29

Patacorow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Lovely entry. I wish I could vote on this :(

BadgerPriest says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:16pm

A charming, incredibly polished exploration game with a huge amount of things to find and a wonderful dynamic soundtrack!? Where do I sign up?

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:56pm

So well designed and magnificent. Argh!

Elforama says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Awesome job! I felt like I was playing a game on the N64 or gameboy.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:26am

Wah...
It's incredibly awesome game =)
It's not serious at all, but pretty fun to play and relax.
Visuals make me jealous =)

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:36pm

This is very impressive. The art, the gameplay, the level, the audio, the small effects here and there... Nothing was left unpolished

Fantastic job

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:21pm

The general level of polish and competence are worth repeating.

My major gripe is the lack of a map. Going to look for the last piece of treasure really didn't entice me enough after finding all the others.
Another point is separating the inventory into two parts: Items and treasure. It wasn't entirely clear to me, in the beginning, that only the first row gives me abilities.

Apart from that the game is also a bit uninspired.
It's a 2D Metroidvania with regenerating health out of all things! (it makes sense though, the player being a bear and all!)
Nothing really made me jump out of my seat, spewing out sentences like "Wow I've never seen that before!".

I'm just raining on the parade here.
Overall it's an extremely well done and fun entry.

blay09 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Absolutely brilliant. Collected every single treasure. Thank you for this great game.

Tifu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:39pm

King of the Sea! This is awesome, love the whole thing, reminds me of that Kirby Treasure Hunt game. Did the beard make me swim faster? H..ow?

dector says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Awesome game

Kyle Parsons says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Impressive, very fully realized!

May 2, 2014 @ 12:40am

Beautiful job! I just wish I had a map of some sort so that I could keep track of where I'd been. Maybe something with like a Fog of War as I explored.

Kep says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:05am

Just finished. Great work!
I love how expressive the bear is for health.
It never was too easy or too hard, just a solid enjoyable experience from end to end.

I would have really liked having a map. I spent some time searching for places I had not been to yet.

I never knew when I got a new power, or what that power was. I accidentally found double jump and I still have no idea which item let me swim through the strong current.

Still one of the best I've found and I'm at ~60. Will share.
Thanks for the game!

LTyrosine says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:47am

After playing 50 games this is so far the best of LD29.

cirolve says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:47am

Wow, great game! It looks well done, the art is amazing, the music/sfx are pleasing, and it pretty much looks complete. Well done, seriously!

GFM says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Why didn't I read the description before playing... I got to the bottom of the cave playing with the keyboard... while I had a X-Box controller connected to the pc. >_<

Well, that aside. XD
Amazing game! Really, wow!! It was really fun and so goddamn polished! Fighting felt great, but I had some troubles adjust to the new range after I got the trident. The graphics are great, and the hud with the controls reminded me of GBA games.
And the music!! Changing it when you go underwater was awesome!

Really, amazing entry! :D

FGM says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:02am

Incredible. I always love these short collect-all-the-treasure games. The pixel art is amazing, as is the music and transposition depending on location. The controls are tight and lots of little details (puff of dust while walking, bubbles underwater, etc) really added up to great effect.

malmazuke says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:49am

Truly a fantastic game

CiderPunk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:53am

pretty much perfect

Penguincat says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:02am

If there were a nostalgia category I'd give you all the stars! I had so much fun playing it. The graphics and music were absolutely perfect, and I loved all the nods to other games.

Venturelli says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:51am

Holy crap how is this so polished? How is the music so good? How is the bear's face so adorable?

Muciojad says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:40am

The most polished game I see so far this LD, really amazing music and graphic. I had small problem with run it on my Win7, but compability mode solved the problem ;) POKEBALL!

Tanner says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:48am

Nice game. I like the graphics!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:04am

Oh man! L-O-V-E this game! THIS IS SO AWESOME!
Polish! Music! Graphics! Levels! The best game I've played so far out of more then 200 on this LD.
You've guys made the perfect jam entry.

May 3, 2014 @ 11:27am

It might be the best Jam Game I've seen on this LD!! <3 Kudos you guys, top marks on everything. It's fantastic!

Turnipnose says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Wow, I just played throught the entire thing and it was awesome! The map is really huge and there is so much to explore. I am really impressed what you guys created in this short amount of time! awesome!

GrooveMan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Wonderfully polished. So many classic video game callbacks (both in treasure and design decisions), but it's working for me here. That there's a dynamic soundtrack change for above/below water is just magical~

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Fun as hell! Found all the treasure but still wanted to explore a corner of the last area, oh well. This reminds me of that unreleased game, Treasure Bear.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Fantastic job! Really polished, impressive that you made it in 72 hours. Love the music, particularly the dynamic music change when you go underwater. Awesome graphics. Really satisfying when you attack enemies too (I think its the screen shake that does it.) Great game!

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:13pm

First and only game with all 5 stars for me... All the references (Flappy and Banjo&Kazooie) and more! Just wow! Amazing all around! Hard to believe this was done in <72 hours! As others have said, "Would throw money at" if made into a bigger game or if the same studio made another Metroidvania with the same feel/style.

AlbertoSM says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:04am

WOW! Love it overall! Specially the music transitions between the different depths... superb job!!!!

ActionRemix says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:20am

I do not know what half of the items did. Do you have a list?

May 4, 2014 @ 3:07am

Really cool, but I had trouble with the framerate.

May 4, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Really nice GFX

Lacaranian says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Very nice exploration platformer! Kudos, team.

FREEZX says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Very cool!

Lyje says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Amazing graphics and sound, solid platforming, extremely polished and definitely one of the best of the LD. Well done!

May 4, 2014 @ 11:32pm

So cool, I love this sound

Nelly says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:58am

Amazing!!!

darke_shard says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:41am

Hahaha, how is this not more famous? Scubabear, you should be the poster boy (poster bear?) for LD29!

I'm sorry that I don't have anything constructive to add; as it is, the game feels more like a fully polished indie game that should be on Steam instead of a 72 hour jam entry.

Also, from a web dev's perspective: you coded this in HTML5? HARDCORE.

Diamonde says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:45am

I'm so impressed with the amount of effort you guys put into this game! It feels so polished throughout the entire game, especially the graphics, music and the core gameplay.
One thing that may be good to think about is how the treasures that does and does not change the gameplay are presented. Some times I saw the cosmetic difference to the bear and understood that something had changed (like the weapon), but then the beard was changed and I didn't have a clue what to do with it.

I loved the game and I did finish it after some trial and errors. Overall it was very enjoyable. Thanks!

01101101 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Great game, congrats to you guys! So much attention to details in so little time, it's impressive. I loved how the music changed depending on the environment.

May 6, 2014 @ 3:13pm

This is a class act, everything feels right. The whole thing is really well put together. Great work!

NightShadow0 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Oh wow, this is amazing! The level of polish and amount of content is really impressive! My only complaint is that the ending showed up too quickly and i didn't get to see what the final item was haha

Ithildin says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:32am

Brilliant entry! It reminds me of all those great old-school platformers <3

Congrats!

May 8, 2014 @ 11:08am

Pure, undiluted fun! And it looks and feels absolutely stunning, too. I especially like the user interface, the representation of health is just wonderful. If I could wish for anything it would be for more enemy types, but the game is fantastic nevertheless!

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:27am

This is amazing for a 72 hour game. I do have a few nitpicks like the effects of items could be more apparent, place the light bulb in a barely dark area for example. I liked the game references though and I think this game has enough polish that I'd pay for it even in it's current state.

~AlucardX60

DragonXVI says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:34pm

King of the sea! VERY polished little game. Big game level, excellent mechanics... Biggest complaints I have are it's not immediately obvious what some of the upgrades actually do (And I'm still not sure what gave me the ability to bypass the current - suspect it's the beard?) and a few annoying dead-ends-unless-you-have-the-ability here and there, but beautifully polished and fun little platformer. Top job all of ya! :D

thaaks says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:02pm

What a wonderful game! Thanks for that!
So polished and overall just pure fun!

May 11, 2014 @ 2:01am

Unbelievable! Such a polished and well-designed entry. Loving the vibe and treasure-collecting mechanic, it brought back memories of the treasure hunt mode in Kirby All Stars. There's not a doubt in my mind that this will place very high in the results for jam entries.

gre says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Awesome graphics and audio, cool concept.

May 12, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Hey! You have been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HrGIZzJZ1DQ

sorceress says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:58pm

I got all the treasures! Perfect game. I had a wonderful time playing this! It would be great if you could find a way to generate maps procedurally, for replay value.

May 12, 2014 @ 10:45pm

best game so far. although the web version definitely made my computer chug a little bit. not sure why because i have a pretty powerful cpu...

madflame991 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:18am

By far one of the best games I've played this LD. The gradual gathering of power-ups reminds me a bit of Knytt... The music is perfect. Congrats!

namuol says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Outstanding! Easily the most "complete" game I've played yet. Easy to pick up and play. Needless to say, superb graphics and sound. BRAVO!

jsmars says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Easily one of the best entries so far, nice work! Really great graphic style and great audio! :)

joe40001 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:32am

I was going to give the programmer a hard time for the flickering, and then say that the art is the absolute best art of this LD, but then I saw the art/programming was the same person, and that the flickering was from my graphics card.

So with that in mind I can find literally nothing to complain about with this game, it is perfect. Amazing music, Amazing art, perfect fun LD entry.

When a game is this good you almost have less to say about it because with good game they'll have a few great elements but with this game everything about it is great.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Couldn't be better!

wdebowicz says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Top entry!

Nanolotl says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:57am

Really well done in all aspects. My only complaint was that it got quite difficult to remember where you had and had not yet explored.

mechabit says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 8:31am

Wow, so good. Can't believe this is a jam game! Very well done.

rnlf says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Cool game. Would have almost missed it, if it weren't for the Button Masher Bros. I really love all the small details and the treasures were so sweet tributes to so many cool games!

I liked how the music got filtered under water and the looks of the bear when hurt. Really cool game.

May 16, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Great art style. Very nostalgic. I think the part I enjoyed most was the situational health bare tied to the condition of the Bear's face. Awesome touch.

As a side note Scuba Bear ended up in a Youtube showcase =D
http://youtu.be/HB1A8GTxm5Q

deepnight says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:36am

This is excellent :)
But... you know guys that EVERYONE absolutely hated the underwater levels in Sonic, right?
Your entry was top notch: controls are very good, the art is amazing, and all the details were carefully thought and properly implemented :)

Good job guys!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:06am

This is exactly the kind of game that should be coming out of LD, haha. Great job, guys. And props to pongball for the 3-phase music, was a great touch!

mcapraro says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:44pm

nice job guys! the graphics are really nice and the game feels super smooth

illugion says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Okay, this game is really awesome but.. WHERE IS THE LIGHT BULB ???? I just need that item to really finish this game oh my god

Mallot1 says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 2:14am

Simply amazing, well done! :) Best regards, GameGrape Corporation -Mallot1

mechabit says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 7:51am

Wow, top place in the jam. Well deserved. :)

RowdyGhosts says ...
May 21, 2014 @ 6:35am

Honestly, I'm surprised this game did so well. The HTML 5 version, at least, is super buggy to the point of being almost completely broken. Anyone else have that problem?

Domantas says ...
May 24, 2014 @ 6:50am

Got stuck after first two chests, when that big pit of water was the only available way. Am I able to swim faster somehow?

Domantas says ...
May 24, 2014 @ 6:52am

Ok, whatever. I'm stupid :P

CMLSC says ...
Mar 29, 2016 @ 10:41pm

Really fun. :3

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]