Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Klein Bottle Asteroids

by bucketh3ad - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Asteroids played on a variety of topological surfaces.

The theme "Beneath the Surface" inspired me to dig deeper into understanding surfaces themselves and the effects that take place when non-orientable surfaces are projected on a 2d plane.

EDIT:
Since many players are finding the game too difficult to progress, I changed some constants related to player responsiveness. No new functionality was added, but please rate the original version of the game before you play the "caffeinated version" Thank you!

Klein Bottle Asteroids: Caffeinated Version
http://share-elm.com/sprout/535ecbc9e4b0e548f3686d80/stable/view

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#674Innovation2.90
#960Fun2.53
#961Overall2.75
#1018Audio1.53
#1028Humor1.65
#1034Graphics2.42
#1042Theme2.50
#1135Mood2.18

Comments

porglezomp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

This seems really interesting but it's SO HARD. I think only having one bullet at a time makes it a bit unfair. I never got past rectangle, but it was a nice challenge.

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44am

I agree- even the old asteroids game (I think) let you have a few shots at once. Excellent concept, but frustrating execution imo. I at least got far enough in (the second level) to see what you were doing - I was curious at first since the first level didn't have anything weird about it.

bucketh3ad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52am

I wish you weren't finding the early levels so challenging, as the unique mechanics aren't until the later parts of the game. Unfortunately, I didn't have time to implement multiple shots, but you can fire as soon as your shot hits something. Using that, a good strategy is to get close to a large enemy and then take them and their spawn out rapid fire.

Please keep trying, guys! I would love some feedback on the Mobius and Klein surfaces.

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

Insanely Hard

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:20am

Very difficult... Cool game mechanics though, enjoyed the game a lot.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25am

Two shots at once, tops. I like how you did it.

I got up to Mobius. Despite what people are saying, I don't think it's too hard, you just have to get used to it. The Mobius is an interesting concept, although I almost think it might have worked out better if the ship was a tad more mobile. Again, though, it might just need to have a little getting-used-to on my end. :)

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38am

Super tricky, but you got to love topology. Kudos.

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58am

Really hard with only a single bullet at a time. Great concept though.

eteeski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:15am

hahah looks like I'm not the only one who thinks it's hard. but I think it's a good hard. I really like that it's a simple yet really smart change to an old classic. i like it :)

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:38am

Interesting concept. I agree with the difficulty complaints, but rather than making the stages easier I'd prefer if there were a way to toggle between them, lest something be lost in the experience by making things simple.

If anyone is determined to make progress, the dominant strategy for me is to sit still and aim at oncoming asteroids.

bucketh3ad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:53am

I wanted there to be a way to choose any surface, but ran out of time to add that feature in.

However,if you would like to choose your starting surface, the code is hot-swappable here. http://share-elm.com/sprout/535debbce4b0e548f3686d4f

Change the defaultGame surface from Rectangle to one of the SurfaceTypes listed above it, click compile, and once it is done you can play on the right side.

thaaks says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Too difficult for me and too annoying with the single shot.
Would love to see more levels...

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

absolutely love the concept. gimme more bullets though :P

Khopa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

That's a weird, but really interesting interpretation of the theme (After reading your description).

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Cool concept. I agree with other that it is a little difficult. Often it's easiest to sit in the middle and only rotate (especially with the bullets respawning as soon as you hit something).

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28am

So, you made Asteroids?

IcyLava says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Was hard at first but I got used to it pretty quickly. It seemed kind of discouraging to warp around the edges because of the inverted rotation, so I just sticked to the middle meaning there really was nothing new in each stage. It's an interesting idea though. Got to chaospehere.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:34am

Dont get the relation with the theme but it's a nice clone of Asteroids except for the inertia. It makes the game too hard!

yokcos700 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:30pm

And now for some tangential learning: WTF is a chaosphere?

Having never played Asteroids, this is new to me, and the different forms of screen wrapping ate interesting, but I don't think they add anything much to the gameplay.

MattV says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:07pm

wow! The most innovative game I've played so far in rating like 80 games! My one criticism is it's too much work to get to the interesting parts of your game. I bet a lot of people will play and rate after only seeing "rectangle". I beat every surface though, I had to see what was next! I have no idea what a chaos sphere is. Maybe a picture of what the surface is or some kind of in world indication would help (if you polish post compo). Again though, really innovative great job!

Crefossus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Was interesting to have each level change the way space works. Although the enemies are a little repetitive. The ending felt rewarding.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:55pm

This was GREAT. I played the decaf version and managed to get through to the end. I actually don't think it changed the core gameplay very much, unless one normally plays asteroids with an unusually cerebral approach. I just waited in the middle and shot

a. Oncoming traffic, if it existed
b. Traffic on the verge of grazing me, if it existed
c. The largest thing on-screen

This algorithm pretty much did the job, as I wasn't worrying very much about the edges of the screen, or about what was coming out where. It was fine with one bullet and being slow, since I have more ability to aim than I do twitch reflexes.

I found moving around much too difficult as there was no way to stop, and then suddenly everything on the surface would be moving about and it was a more difficult physics problem than I really wanted to solve or think about.

You might want to consider having the shapes, rather than disappearing shortly when they reach the edge, displayed partially as they move over the edge (so that the whole shape never goes out of view, but is seen in two places at once); this would be more interesting if some shapes were not regular, because then we would have a better sense of when they are "flipped over" on the mobius strip.

Thanks for the game! I enjoyed it quite a bit.

porglezomp says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:06pm

That was really fun! I'm glad I came back to play it. I managed to get to Möbius on the normal version, and played all the way through the caffeinated version. That's some really cool game mechanics.

TheColorMan says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 11:21pm

This game is really really hard but I still thought it was fun! I didn't make it past cylinder unfortunately but the idea was really unique

mark.goetz says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:48am

I love the concept, and I'm glad you made adjustments based on people's feedback! The concept shines in the later levels, so it's great to avoid players getting too frustrated at the start. Even still, it got a little confusing on levels like the Moebius, where you cross the screen boundaries and suddenly left and right are swapped. I see what you were trying to do with the red and blue circles on your ship, but that's nowhere near strong enough to overcome your innate muscle memory. But as a math nerd, I loved the idea and it was strong enough to keep me playing through the whole thing.

Rabbits... says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:33pm

An interesting concept, I did notice the difference between the surfaces, it made the game rather interesting

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]