Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

KA-25 KAMOV

by lief - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first LD entry! \o/
(timelapse http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WxyAJZKkgsI)

KAMOV KA-25

Baltic Sea - 1967

You are piloting an anti-submarine helicopter - the KAMOV KA-25 (NATO designation HORMONE)

Use your sonar sensor equipment and depth charges to detect the American submarine before it can surface and launch a deadly nuclear missile.

WASD or Cursor keys to fly the helicopter
1,2,3 or 4 to change selected item
Space or ctrl to use selected item
Press space again to detonate sinking depth charge

ALT-Enter to toggle fullscreen mode

Retractable sonar pod - sonar on a rope, lower it up and down
Active sonobuoy - a floating sonar buoy that will show a general direction to a submarine if within range
Passive sonobuoy - a floating sonar buoy that will show a general distance to a submarine if within range
Depth charge - a large explosive device to destroy submarines


This game was great fun to make! I have learnt a huge amount over the last 48 hours...

Sorry about any bugs, I hope the game is a little bit fun to play.


Tools Used:

Game Maker Studio
Adobe CC Suite
Sfxr
Bfxr
Chronolapse

Copyright 2014 Lief Jorgensen
lief.jorgen@gmail.com

Distributed under GPL3

Thanks to everyone involved in Ludum Dare!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#35Graphics4.35
#62Theme3.94
#147Overall3.68
#148Mood3.62
#181Innovation3.65
#218Audio3.33
#340Fun3.29
#362Humor2.74

Comments

jrap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44am

This game is thematic, cinematic and incredible

NTR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:14am

I like the sparse feel it has. It feels like Risk of Rain almost.

Yozz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15am

For mother Russia and good ratings on Ludum dare!
Good game.

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:25am

Very neat and clean :)

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46am

The game looks amazing. Figuring out how to play took a few tries, but in the end I beat the game. How exactly to use the active sonobuoy, I have no idea.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50am

Great work, like the graphics and sounds, everything works nice. Only thing I don't like is flat chopper while rotating ;)

thristhart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:25am

Extreeeemeeelly stylish. Looks great! I like the flat effect while turning, but I would agree that it doesn't fit the rest of the art style. I'm not convinced that the active sonar actually does anything. Chopper sound eventually grated on my nerves.

Karmalis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32am

Wow, very well done indeed! Though it felt short at first, but with each new start I found it to be both rewarding and unforgiving. Really nice looking graphics and the controls aver very smooth. Loving the style.

mmbls says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:48am

Enjoyable game, short but technical. Took a few goes to successfully use the active sonar bouys but really helped with the hunt once mastered. Top job brother.

BigRat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42am

Very Interesting

frankbsad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:53am

I had no idea what I was doing but it's a really well made game.
What font were you using? I really like it.

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:38pm

The faux-cyrillic font is Kremlin, available from www.dafont.com

Little (tiny?) marks appear around the active sonar buoys to indicate the direction of the detected submarine. Both buoy types have a maximum detection range.

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14pm

This game is a bit easy but the graphics and the theme is awesome

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Wow ! Well done, the game is amazing ! The ambiance, the stress I got trying to find the sub ! The graphics are perfect, the controls of the helicopter are nicely done. Awesome job !

Therrato says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:16am

Very good looking game, i ran in to one problem, the time it took for the submarine to show up was (i think completely random) the first play through it took that long that i already used my bombs before it finaly showed up, the second time i had barely time to get near the submarine. so it might need some balancing, further more i would like to be able to hunt more than one submarine and buy new items, Good Job

Khopa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Great game, graphics are amazing.

rojo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:22am

Good looking game. It was a little tough to translate the depth reading to actual screen space, but i managed to get the sub with my last charge.

pyrogames says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:28am

Seriously impressive graphics. I like the idea of not knowing where the submarine is, but I've found that I never know where it is until it's about to surface

Idkfawin32 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Great audio, great visuals, great fade style, etc.

It gave me chills when I saw that submarine

hirngespinst says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:00am

Very nice art and lots of depth (ha ha). Really impressive for a 48 hours job. Wow!
Really liked the theme and the gameplay - found it a bit hard, but that might be me.

01101101 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:34am

Very polished game, great job! Too bad the end screen is disappearing so fast, not time to read anything (at least for me)...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]