Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Evil Tentacles!

by Wuhao - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Evil Tentacles | Featuring Cocos2d-js and Chipmunk2d. you play as the Kraken, wreck havok on the sea and eat surviving sailors. The game is 100% physics simulated.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Theme4.22
#101Graphics4.00
#113Innovation3.83
#221Overall3.56
#269Fun3.39
#742Audio2.40
#2022Coolness20%

Comments

Joseph Miller says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:16am

The graphics work really well. The sounds are a little incongruous, and the controls don't always respond the way I expect/want them to, but overall good.

Wuhao says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39am

Thanks for the feedback

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:55am

Great fun, would like to be able to get a little closer to the water line. Seeing the people spill out of tipped over ships and eating them was too much fun, good job! :)

nxT says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:58am

I like the gameplay a lot, and I played for a while even though there wasn't any win or lose.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:00am

The graphics on yours are definitely better than my Kraken game. Looks amazing

Kirito says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44am

Good graphic

mortus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:36am

I think I was getting too much fun, because eventually one of my tentacles got stuck somewhere offscreen (beneath the screen surface) and I couldn't move much.

I would love to see how it looks in replay with above-surface only looks, should be creepy! (multiplayer remake?)

Wuhao says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Great idea, thanks

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:13pm

One of the most original games gameplay wise.

Once you get the hang of how to control the kraken, its a lot of fun trying to get all the ships flipped over. I wouldve liked a way for the game to end/the kraken to die, so you could actually set meaningful highscores.

Still really liked it though, great job.

Lancelot Gao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:06am

Simple by beautiful graphics and fun game play based on physics! I hope there will be some attacks from the battle ships(cannon, torpedo...) to make the game more challenging! Also, some blood while eating the sailors will also be a great add-on! Hope to see your wonderful HTML5 entry next LD!

TheGameFather says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:48am

Awesome game! Very innovative control of an octopus! Very impressive!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:00pm

I love the art style, reminds me of LUFTRAUSERS. Too bad there isn't more depth to it (no pun intended)

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Playing with physic is always fun! And what could be better to play with psysics as a kraken?
It's true the controls are sometimes a bit confusing, but wrecking havoc is fun. I miss a possibility to loose or a reason to push my performance further. It's a great concept and I would love to see a post portem version.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:07pm

When I read the Eaten score at the bottom I thought I had to catch tiny drowning people with the kraken's mouth. Fun game.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:06pm

The audio sounds a bit more like I should be collecting coins, not like I'm devouring hapless humans. I like the basic mechanic and the graphics though. It'd be cool if the battleships started dropping depth charges or something that I needed to dodge.

Daveloper says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:41am

I like the concept and it's visual presentation, however the controls make the game difficult to fully enjoy.
A good effort overall though :)

U77 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:13am

I like it!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]