Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Enderscope's Game

by Arakade - Jam Entry

Incomplete but gives general idea. It's about 8 hours work due to RealLife(tm) intervening so it's more "tech demo" than game/compo entry. All feedback *really* welcome (or ping on @Arakade). Worth taking further?

So, that said...

You are performing laparoscopic surgery (using an endoscope) to excise (remove) a life-threatening cancerous tumour from this patient. You must remove as much tumour as possible while damaging as minimal healthy tissue. You will (would be in finished version) scored on surgical outcome -- least damage to patient through minimal back-and-forth of endoscope, minimization of healthy tissue removed and, most importantly, removing *all* of the cancerous tissue. Failure to remove some can cause metastasis (spreading of infection to other parts of the body).

Aim with mouse, move forward and back with up/down or w/s fire laser with left click. ESCAPE to exit.

This is built with Unity3D, TerraVol (which I hadn't used before!), Livity (also not used before) and much sweat and silent swearing ;-)

Design Google Doc with dev notes and future plans can be found here: http://goo.gl/BDDvXX

<spoiler alert> Enderscope's Game! Playing this game, in the finished version, the final rounds has you unknowingly treating live patients! ;-) </spoiler>

UPDATE 1: Added extra ports and fixed shader.
UPDATE 2: Notes updated to remove web build and mention time & feedback.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#23Innovation(Jam)4.00
#67Theme(Jam)3.83
#203Mood(Jam)3.45
#321Graphics(Jam)3.52
#449Audio(Jam)2.88
#491Overall(Jam)3.00
#645Fun(Jam)2.35
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

Kashaar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:36am

Hmm... When I load the link, all I get is the red laser, but the entire environment is black. Could this be my browser extensions?

Arakade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:12am

(FROM THE AUTHOR)

Argh!!! I'm suffering from "WHHHHHY did I leave the Web build to the last minute!?"

There seems to be a known bug in Unity's Protobuf which I'm using to load the level data! (hence you get an empty world)

I've just spent 3 hours trying to fix it (from 2am to 5am). I've gotta be up in 3 hours so I'll upload some native builds and ask people's patience with getting the Web version working.

Really sorry and thankyousooooomuch for trying my gamelet!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Really neat idea! You should totally work on this a bit more - the engine is working well, just needs more game!

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:44pm

It's a nice idea. I wonder what it would be like if you had time to finish it. An indication of how much there is left to remove would help greatly to make this feel more like a complete game.

Andy Gainey says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:41pm

I take it the confined controls are meant to simulate an endoscope, but I just found those limitations frustrating more than engaging.

Was the cancer actively spreading while the game was running? It might've been interesting if there was some warning about where the cancer was going to spread to next, like a blinking area that was under threat; could give the player the sense that they can strategically get ahead of the cancer.

Maybe also include some mechanics about how the cancer spreads, and how they player's actions impact that spread. Maybe different tissues impact the spread in various ways. Or different laser frequencies affect the cancer behavior.

It was an interesting tech demo that could be taken somewhere, but it was lacking in mechanics, and I doubt that a scoring system would be sufficient to add the intrigue that a good game needs.

Garris says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:50pm

I just jumped into this without reading the description first and will now have nightmares xD Seriously though, this is a really unique idea for a game, and once I tried it again with a little context, I really enjoyed myself. I'd like to see this fully developed eventually. Well done.

May 3, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Quite an eerie game, with the heartbeat and darkness and everything. I like the deformable geometry tech, very cool. With some work this could become a neat game!

Waterman7 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Nice concept and great mood! Pity there's not much to do yet. Would love to see this developed further, maybe with some minor horror elements?

Udell Games says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:51pm

This is so weird. I love it.

Empyrealhell says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:04pm

I never found any tumors, or if I didn't I couldn't tell them apart from the healthy tissue. The controls made it annoying to try and aim at anything, so I just flew around shooting holes in some poor dude's colon until I got bored.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:30am

Cool tech demo, if rather disgusting. xD

CiderPunk says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:46am

pretty harrowing game really! I think I left my patient in quite a bad way, really cool though.

What part of the gut has all these branches? :)

lajos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:44am

Very cool idea, wish it was more finished.

Zer0XoL says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:07pm

I have a bit of problem with the controls, cant turn fully and i when i go backwards i go at an angle. Very cool interactive level thought.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:33pm

When I was younger I downloaded this game called Maestro. It was this MMO designed by Mike Oldfield (you know, the Tubular Bells guy) where you walked around in this low-poly dream world and ambient music would play and I had no idea what was going on. It was great; strangely expansive, totally surreal, and weirdly fun despite the lack of real gameplay objectives.

This game reminds me of that, but really squicky. The gameplay itself was minimal, but it was sufficiently creepy. And it's original too-- how many games have you played about laparoscopic surgery? Not many. It's incredible.

Snoother says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:14am

Peculiarly wonderful idea that is a joy to explore. Definitely one I'll be watching out for post-comp. But I too am unable to turn fully at certain points.

May 8, 2014 @ 3:34am

Like the concept, the game is pretty creepy - being inside someone... I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-VvtqXfr-Xs

Jeff0029 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:56am

For a tech demo it does some pretty remarkable things. The tools you are using for the dynamic terrain is well implemented.

Moosefly says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Hm, I think I got all of it, exept for a tiny cancerous blob floating in air which I couldn't hit. The controls were quite stiff, maybe it should be made less "realistic" in favor of being more fun. I think Wii's Trauma Team's endoscopy sections handled it pretty nicely.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]