Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Truth

by Jason Lay - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What happens when you scratch and scratch and look beneath the surface? Does it reveal our true selves? When we are locked underground in a dimly lit dungeon, is it not a reflection of us, and our struggles?

Play my game and find out!

I went a little out of my comfort zone with this entry. It's very much a story, with maybe a little metaphor thrown in. I hope you enjoy it, I definitely enjoyed making it and learned a lot along the way!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#464Mood3.09
#473Theme3.35
#520Graphics3.22
#758Humor2.17
#999Overall2.71
#1022Audio1.50
#1037Innovation2.39
#1155Fun2.16

Comments

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:23am

Sadly the web player doesnt work for linux, will you please add linux binaries? Looks interesting.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29am

Feels like making a simple turn in the dark takes too much trial-and-error, and the text goes by too quickly unless you frequently pause your normal walking pace (making them feel unimportant, even though the text is most of the story), but I like the ambience of it, and I like the idea of using a series of hallways as a metaphor.

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:15am

This game is very deep not bacause of all the stairs but because of the meaning it has: very well done.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Really nice atmosphere

flrn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:50pm

I really enjoyed playing this game. The distances werent that long though, it could have been much longer, don't be shy playing with the player's frustrations and make his life too easy! ;)

Taffaz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Good mood. I didn't think the text stayed on screen long enough though. If I kept moving it went off before I could read it sometimes.

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Loved the ending, loved the journey. Sound must improve a ambience a lot

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Huuuum, a philosopical game... I leave this comment and I'm going to think about it... Mmmmmh...

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Very nice graphics, but you could have turned down the lights even more for my taste. Text messages should stay longer/be replayable somehow. Still, a very good effort. Just needs some sound/music! :)

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Very cool, except some moody music would've been a plus. Was there? Still, very deep (har har) and cool. Also, graphics were really cool too.

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59pm

I liked the game, it was a bit short-lived. The text was interesting...

loxo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Great concept! Only the dimensions of the hallways don't fit the story I think. The hallways should be longer and sometimes higher/wider to truly trigger the described feelings.

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

The text doesn't last long enough unless we stop moving to read it. You should make it disapear based on a timer

Khopa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:12pm

I like graphics, and it's like a mix between a text based game and a dungeon crawler. Nice :)

Text should be bigger though or have a black background, it's hard to read.

drnick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17am

Interesting, even though I am not too much into metaphors.

Artylo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:53am

Very nice dungeon-crawler. Pretty linear, but it has it's charm. Anyway, a pretty decent game. Much can be done to make this a full game.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:59am

I have to retract my previous statement about turning corners feeling like trial and error. I've been fiddling with my computer brightness lately so that's my fault.

Jod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:05pm

That was good, a story with a beginning, middle and solid ending. I liked it! A good use of limited resources backing up a plot.

The thing that I can see improving is the time the text stays in the screen. At first it dissapeared before I could read it all. Later I realized if I don't move, it stays on the screen.

superzac says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30pm

I really like the way the dialogue is done, its well paced and allows you to just stop walking if you want time to read it. Solid graphics for 48 hours.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:20am

The unity web player does not play on linux. Can you please release a linux binary?

b_bertoldo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Great job man!!! Awesome work!!!

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:03am

First of all, congratulations on going outside of your comfort zone. Seriously, props to you.

The dungeon elements, though repetitive, worked well with the claustrophobic atmosphere you created. However, possibly due to this being the first story game you've done, I feel like there was too much text telling me how I was supposed to feel. In this case I didn't think I was controlling some sort of in-game personality, like you do when you're playing as a character in a Final Fantasy or Tales series game, for example. I felt, essentially, that I was supposed to be playing as myself, since the game was first-person and there weren't much in the way of markers for the narrative voice.

But then, I was told how I should feel upon finally coming across the yellow cube--and each crest of the terrain--rather than simply getting to feel it.

And the thing is, without the narrative cues telling me how I'm supposed to feel and react, there's not much game here. Yes, I'd feel all the things you wrote out: "Okay, can't get through this door, got to go down. Great. It's a cube." But, I guess the question is... if you're just telling the player how they already likely feel about the mechanics of the game they're playing, what are you as a game creator adding to the experience?

minibutmany says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:25am

Excellent job on everything, especially the graphics. I liked the titles a lot too.

brodavi says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:06am

Great job! At first, I didn't think I would get a feel for it, but you kept the anticipation going with the narrative so well, I had to keep playing until I finished. The mood was great, kept me hooked, but the metaphor was a little heavy, and for some reason when I looked I couldn't walk and vice-versa. But, all in all, a fantastic achievement for 48 hours! :)

udo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:24pm

For some reason I thought the dungeon looked more like an assortment of hotel corridors ;) Anyway, well done!

jujule says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Interesting text serving an interesting take on the theme. Reading other comments I was thinking about what music would fit and I realized I like the silence. But even if the game's mood is already pretty strong, I agree with others that it coudl greatly benefit from darker lighting and longer distances. A good entry nonetheless. Good job!

stvr says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:20pm

How was it worded? An open door is the easiest to go through, even if it doesn't lead where you want to go? Pretty deep.

petey123567 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Needs some challenge or tension, preferably in the first 30 seconds. Long hallways can raise suspense, but only when there's some kind of pressure or danger.

May 13, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Hi Jason! Nice idea! Very good job for 48 hours. Some music in game would be nice but I noticed music is missing after I finished the game and saw Audio category during rating. :)

rojo says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 3:40am

Cool atmosphere. I liked the graphics as well. The mouse sensitivity was extremely high for me which made things difficult to control by default. Some of the text that popped up disappeared a little too quickly. Also, I think some background audio would go a long way toward solidifying the experience.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:27pm

I wouldn't have added any colliders to the torches, since bumping into them just means you get stuck (I read some of your post-mortem). I would also make the messages stick around longer, I often couldn't read the entire message. The script could be better, but the art is great.

May 17, 2014 @ 6:09am

Wow! This is a very deep game...

The storytelling of this game is very good, I liked the great metaphor that this game tells to the player.

Some audio might've been good, though... But, overall, playing this game was a great experience for me!

mcapraro says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:35am

i love the concept, well done!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]