Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Indie Space Miner

by Supersonic112 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

STORY:
You are a young miner who has just been given the opportunity to start his own independent mining business. Unfortunately, you don't have very much money so for now you'll have to fill some asteroids with artificial air inside and mine them manually.
Be careful, though, these small asteroids are often very unstable so cave-ins may happen (and kill you, in case you stand in their way) if you mine too many adjacent walls. If you cause more than 10 cave-ins, the whole asteroid will collapse and the game is over...

GAME CONTROLS:
arrow keys to move your character
('w','a','s','d' can scroll the map but there's no reason to do that since the map is limited to the window)
hold 'ctrl' to mine/destroy walls
'1' to go to main menu
'2' to give up
'r' to start a new game

INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS:
- Windows (x64),Compo version: Download the .zip file and unpack everything to a folder of your choice, then click the .exe file to start the game.
- Linux/MacOS/Windows(x86), Compo & post-LD version: I'll try to provide binaries eventually, but for now you'll need to install the love2D framework which you can get at http://love2d.org . After installing Love2D, download the '.zip' file provided as 'source/Love2D' and change its type from '.zip' to '.love'. Then, you can double-click on the file or open a terminal in the folder and write 'love [file name]' to start the game.

NEWS:
2014-04-28: The LD contest version has received fixes for a few small issues (see the commit text at the 'github' link below for more information on what was fixed)
2014-05-07: Work on a post-LD version of the game has begun. So far, it features a complete list of controls on the start screen and when the game is over it'll tell you why. More improvements will be added over time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#860Theme2.88
#1011Humor1.73
#1015Innovation2.42
#1051Graphics2.38
#1132Overall2.51
#1148Mood2.12
#1162Fun2.15

Comments

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01am

Doesn't run on Windows XP, says it's not a valid Win32 application. Is there something I need to install?

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:35am

I got a Game Over and didn't know why.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Interesting idea! In-game instructions would be nice.

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:34am

Interesting game, maybe character's movement can be more polished, but is good!

DarkMaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:36am

It's more like a engine than a game. It's lacking instructions at the title-screen and there's no mention about what we have to do.

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:02am

interesting concept =) cute tiles)

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:02am

Hey, this is a neat game! I really like the premise, mining tiles and collecting minerals and stuff. I could see, if you had more time, you could add enemies or upgrades or whatnot to give it more depth, but the basic mechanics are pretty solid!

I definitely agree that in-game controls would be nice. I don't usually read the game descriptions before trying them out and you seemed to give some instructions on the title screen, but none of them mentioned the actual gameplay (especially because Ctrl wasn't very intuitive to me as the action button). I think it also might have helped to make the game's rules a little more clear, just so we know what causes cave ins and how our game over happened and what the differences in the tiles are. (Like the darker brown tiles or the tiles with little pebbles).

Oh the movement is pretty cool by the way! It's a little hard to control, but the way you accelerate and decelerate is pretty neat to watch! I think if you had more time, this could be a really addictive game! :D

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:06am

It seems like there is no way to avoid losing. 10 cave ins will happen sooner or later. The game need some depth and is more a start of a game at the moment.

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Cool idea, and good execution. I would change the cave-in meter to be more prominent and eye catching.

Covenant says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:54pm

I liked the idea from the description, but it was not clear what was happening in terms of cave ins...

allinlabs says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:10pm

It needs clearer way to indicate what's happening. A meter or something

f7f5 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:35pm

It needed a bit more work. The only end I could find was to cause 10 cave-ins. Maybe a target amount and then you could move to the next asteroid. And sound would have been nive.

As a sidenote, to run it on Linux I had to extract the zip to a folder and execute:
$ love LD29-Indie-Space-Miner-LD29_Indie_Space_Miner_final_fixed/

DarknessFades says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:35pm

I liked the idea from the description :3

eckcz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Mine mine mine. I love mining games.

HybridMind says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Wasn't really sure what I was supposed to do after mining an asteroid for a bit. Managed to get about 2500 points but then the game restarted when I went back to my "hatch" on the level. I thought maybe I was supposed to return to my ship to upgrade some stuff. Seemed it restarted the game though. I guess it just feels like there isn't much of a challenge or focus to the game yet. Yes, I can collect the rocks, but it wasn't particularly difficult. I did like the concept/setup of the game.

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:51am

An interesting idea, though the character movement was odd, and the view panning controls were backwards.

frogcheese says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:18pm

It wasn't very clear what would cause a cave-in as I sometimes got killed on squares that were marked "harmless". The idea is nice, but the game would really benefit from more and clearer communication.

PriorBlue says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:41am

I was confused at the beginning, but after a while i understood the mechanism. Interesting concept.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]