Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Surface Dwellers and Pit People

by Joseph Miller - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The pink surface dwellers always walk right, and prefer to exit the screen above the surface. The green pit people always walk left and prefer to exit the screen below the surface. You gain points for manipulating the platforms so that the people exit on their preferred level.

Left/right - Select platform
Up/down - Move selected platform up or down.

The game ends when there are 30 people on the screen. The quicker you help them leave the screen, the longer you can play. See how high of a score you can get!

I got 960 on my last playthrough, it took about 5 minutes.

Made in about 5 or 6 hours with Stencyl. I had a busy weekend :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#34Innovation4.12
#702Overall3.04
#709Fun2.85
#833Graphics2.73
#952Mood2.53
#1083Theme2.40
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45am

Interesting idea.

moonmagic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51am

This is cute! I wish it wasn't so easy to score points; after I raised the center bars to make a mountain, I just had to sit back and wait for the people to spawn and I didn't really have to raise or lower the side bars very often.

nesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:18am

A nice idea, the gameplay gets pretty frantic (and fun!) once the little guys start piling up onto each other and you need to start thinking of how to juggle them across platforms. Good effort for the time you had available to put into it.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59am

Awesome! The gameplay is really unique, it's a great game to zone out to.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Simple but interesting mechanic, could see it working well on a mobile.

MikeyPB says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Neat idea! I found balancing and juggling the guys quite fun, where they had battles fighting each other which I was forced to try to resolve! Pretty innovative mechanic :)

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Interesting game mechanic. Like others have said, this would probably be cool to play on mobile.

sam101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Simple concept, but well executed !

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:21pm

had fun with this. Nice execution. good work.

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Game mechanic is very original, and the difficult have good design, good work!

ThingoStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:40pm

I found it really fun to try to get the pink people to fall beneath the blocks and crush them. But actually playing the game as it was meant to be played was kind of frustrating. You probably could have made it more clear what you were supposed to be doing in-game, though. Color the arrows green and pink, respectively! Make the screen rumble when the screen is almost filled! As of right now it's really bland. But the core gameplay is simple and (hypothetically at least) fun!

Joseph Miller says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:04am

@ThingoStudio: If you found a way to enjoy it other than how I intended, I count that as an extra win :)

Good suggestions about goals and gamestate feedback, I think devs (including myself) tend to assume that the goals/game state are obvious since we designed it, but more feedback is always good.

pvwradtke says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:27am

That was fun, loved the mechanics. Seemed obvious at first, but had a hidden depth that I didn't anticipated. Also, being able to make character walk over other was a nice touch. Congratulations.

M4rw4 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:33am

Very nice idea and graphics

poxpoxpox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:18am

Fun! Nice idea.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Hi. Interesting idea. Shame no sound. Negative points can accumulate surprisingly quickly !

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:55pm

I think the core game mechanic would work better if you could drag the blogs with your mouse. It would feel more intuitive, direct and allow more fast paced gameplay.
It also would be interesting to have a NPC changing directions of NPC he meets on the way. And some visible effect when a creature leaves at the wrong level (explosions! :D).

All in all a great idea, which needs some more variety and an other control scheme.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]