Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drillo - The Happy Driller

by SkyWolf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

THE IDEA:
Alright, i had not so much time, so i thought of "previously seen mechanics" connected to the 'Beneath the surface' concept. What instantly came to mind is Mr. Driller by Namco.
I basically tried to mimic that.

I wanted to expand the concept introducing "seeded runs" with online leaderboards, like Spelunky does, but as always i was short on time so i had to give up on that.
----------------

CONTROLS (KEYBOARD):
Left Arrow / A : Dig or Move left
Right Arrow / D : Dig or Move right
Up Arrow / W: Jump
Down Arrow / S: Dig downwards

S (when prompted): Start the game
R (when prompted): Restart the game
----------------

TOOLS:
Unity 3D, Photoshop, Cubase, SFXR
----------------

FINAL COMMENTS:
I greatly appreciate feedback, so comments are very very welcomed. If you made it reading down here: i love you.
Also i would like to thank my closest friend Giuseppe for giving me the idea for the character.

PS: Sorry for any poor english.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#192Graphics3.80
#297Fun3.36
#388Overall3.34
#476Humor2.54
#503Audio2.86
#655Mood2.89
#688Theme3.12
#948Innovation2.54

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:16pm

It's a really cool game with a good environment.
All is very interesting and you have demonstrated a nice imagination. THX ++

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40am

Solid work! It's a small, simple game, but polished. I like that. :)

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41am

Mr. Driller for the GBC was one of my faves back in the day. This is a pretty good start on that kind of thing (colors don't recombine and can't jump and drill, but for the most part still works fine)! Felt like oxygen was a little hard to come by and went too fast, but that might just be me not trying hard enough. Good work soldier!

sirikan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:42am

Really interesting gameplay idea. Was a lot of fun :).

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51am

I'm pretty stable on this one.
It's quite fun and challenging.
I'm not sure if it's only me but I mostly got the oxygen more on the left side.

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:58am

its pretty tough but i ended up playing like 10 times. that is also the happiest half man half drill that could ever exist

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:00am

Nice little recreation! Oxygen spawn seems a bit unfair though, can never find any! :p

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04am

Pretty fun and well polished game! I went to the finish by just drilling in one single column, though! Maybe that's a design flaw? Really love the art.

Sanguine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:05am

Cool combination of different game mechanics! I would like a pace that is a bit higher though.

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:05am

Very cute. Good presentation.

gnerkus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30am

This is the solution to one of the world's biggest problems: "Match-3" glut.

I'm finding it really difficult to find anything wrong with the game. I would have loved a scoring system.

Jase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:34am

Nice game with an interesting challenge with the piece destruction :)

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:01am

Really great graphics, and classic (derivative, but still fun) gameplay. Got to the finish by drilling straight down, was hoping for some sort of reward (or next level!)

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Awww, I love it! Def one of my favs so far!

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Yes I also love peoples who take the time to read the full description ;)

Nice game, cute art, catchy sound... I just had to get lucky with the oxygen spawn

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07pm

wow pretty cool game

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Well done ! I love the concept and the graphics. It's well polished, congratulations ! (the character is so cute :o)

lonewookie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:08pm

I love the character! I like the graphic style, it's very cute. Gameplay is solid. Not much innovation, but you admitted as much, haha. Solid game!

foolmoron says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Super polished!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Nice graphics and music! Gameplay is nice, but the cooldown on the drill made it feel a bit slow.

Great job! :)

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:04am

Consistent art. That's hard to come by in a jam. Needs some rebalancing for the oxygen IMO

4KbShort says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:45am

Super fun to play. Very pretty. Simple sounds and good background music make it engaging. Took one run to figure out how the game mechanics work (Never played Mr. Driller) but that acted as a self creating tutorial. Excellent work!

Vandash says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Nice and simple, and the music is now stuck in my head :)

MattV says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:04pm

cool concept, but it seems like just hammering the down button is the winning strategy (moving around increases your chance to get crushed).

AlbertoSM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:55am

Simple game, doesn't reinvent the wheel lol! Drillo is super cute :D

May 19, 2014 @ 5:37am

Sometimes, the old is the best. Great entry, congratulations!

Rzial says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:48pm

The playstyle makes me remember good ol' times! It's pretty awesome ^^

GrooveMan says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Ah, the problem with working to an existing puzzle game so closely is that you can really tell when the 'feel' is off. like-colours not combining (or at the very least vanishing as a chain reacion) made things feel a little tame.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]