Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

FedIt!

by zedutchgandalf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There's something lurking underground.
And you have been tasked with feeding It.
Combine little pieces of food into bigger chunks and feed them to "It", but be careful that It doesn't eat you.
There are others trying to steal your food. Stop them. And certainly don't let them eat you. Or It's food.

Please rate FedIt and leave a comment if you liked it! (and if you didn't!)

BEWARE: The Flash version is locked at 30fps and rotating has been disabled in the Windows downloadable version because of the engine's limitations.

EDIT: I just noticed the Flash target's window size was still set to 480, while it was meant to be 720. According to the Ludum Dare rules, I'm still allowed to change this after release, which I now did.

Controls:
WASD / ZQSD / Arrow Keys to move.
Left click to shoot.
+ and - to change the volume.

Check out my website: http://www.zedutchgandalf.be
And tweet me the link to your game! http://www.twitter.com/zedutchgandalf

- Zed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#606Humor2.37
#786Audio2.29
#823Innovation2.70
#873Fun2.65
#989Overall2.72
#1053Theme2.47
#1061Mood2.37
#1131Graphics2.19

Comments

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:12am

Really hard game xD. It should have been a bit slower on the first minute :)

EnigmAraigne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Preety good

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Super hard, but really fun!

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Nice game.

Root says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Pretty cool idea. I got like 135 points. I like the game a lot :)

erdos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:36pm

This is really hard with a trackpad, fun though!

voxel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Interesting and original :) I haven't played anything like this before, which is always a nice change in an LD entry. Tiny shots are tiny though, especially in the flash version.

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Cool game ,but everything is very small.

quill18 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Love the idea of feeding the beast below!

I think I would have liked all the graphics being a bit bigger to make the shooting less tricky.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Really clever, unique!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Damn that got hard really quickly. Pretty good, Everything seemed a little too small though. Really nice job

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26pm

If you play the downloadable version, you can resize the screen and play in fullscreen mode to make everything bigger :)

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Ok game, but the music is soooo.... bad :)

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Collision detection was kinda lacking, making it hard to push the food around. Fun game though, and it got hard really fast.

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:42pm

+ for having a "tutorial screen" in the beginning. Cool game :)

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43pm

My score: 116
Funny game!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44pm

So small, can't see

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46pm

@bzizizi Haha :D Yeah, it was pretty late when I figured I should probably write some sort of "music" :P

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Nice going!

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Interesting that you can shoot the food itself if you're not careful. It sure was tricky to push it around though. :)

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Hard but fun, nice job.

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Fun and simple and gets hard nice idea

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Sweet game you've got here, interesting mechanics at work too

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:02pm

I thought that game is way to easy at first, but than it became reaaaalllyyy hard. Well balanced game :)

Cawrtz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:15pm

This game is hard ! But it's fun to play. I like it :D

stoo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13pm

That gets really hard but is a lot of fun!

Belingo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Hard and funny game. I like it.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Pretty cool.

jomacel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:22pm

A bit hard to control but its fun

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Hard game, I liked the concept of grouping food together and feeding it to a monster. Might have been easier to play with larger bullets and enemies.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:50pm

You have a decent start to a somewhat unique tower defense game. Needs some polish, but keep it up!

shuanDang says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17am

Nice! I fed myself to the monster

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:04am

I had fun playing this game once I figured out the controls and everything. I played it for awhile. The intro was eery, creepy, and awesome! lol Liked the background you used and not bad pixelart.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:36am

Nice game.
A little slow paced for my taste. Maybe you could make it get harder faster or add more enemies.

Garris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23am

Well done on ramping up the difficulty curve. It really felt well-balanced.

sink_t says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28am

A mostly-original idea and mostly fun, but the mechanism of
friendly fire against food made it a little too hard and finicky to play to be really fun.

Tweak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05am

It's very difficult to see what you are aiming at. I think the bullets should have been bigger! Well done, congratulations on finishing your game!

praporomsk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:18am

cool game

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05am

Fun game, thanks.

Integershift says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Pretty good, but also really challenging

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Fun game, but I wish the graphics were bigger, was kind of hard to make out the bullets.

I like the idea that the reds would eat the fallen blue and get bigger.

Challenging and fun game, good work.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

nice effort :)

Mandlebar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Was really fun! Thought I was doing well until I managed to sacrifice myself :(

vigrid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Everything seemed too small for me. I'm sorry, but the music was... truly bad :)

Ismei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:32pm

I liked the idea of this game, but found the little guys too hard to aim at (my aim is pretty bad though!). Still enjoyed it and kept playing.

ninjabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:34pm

The bullets could have been bigger!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:56pm

nice game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Grats on the game. I would increase the size of the entities. They are quite tiny, making it hard to relate to them.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

good entry, very challenging. Music becomes a bit boring after a while.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Man I was confused, I wasn't sure if I was meant to let the blue guys reach the bottom (so they got ate) or kill them. I seemed to get points when he ate them, but heard a ding when I managed to feed it the brown pixels. Not sure if my scaling was off. Really like the concept though, well done buddy.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:20pm

this was really fun but the music became a bit annoying

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Unique. Fun. Hard!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:56pm

This was pretty fun, I liked the concept. good job :)

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Good Job. Clever!

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:06am

Interesting concept. Pushing food around was tough though

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:41am

A bit hard, but still a good game.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:36pm

The graphics seemed tiny in the web player! But good work, nice and playable.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Hi. Strange game ! I like the soundtrack particuarly

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Pretty fun, but getting the food together was difficult when it is really small...

Gins says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Very hard, but cool idea :)

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Cute little game, sort of trance-inducing.

hanoth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:44pm

I really like the idea behind this one. Very innovative.

stvr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Really unforgiving! I kept shooting the food on accident, but it didn't seem like there was a point to stockpiling food?

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:47pm

@stvr There is. Living monsters are worth very, very little (regardless of their size). Food is always worth more. And everytime you combine two pieces of food, their combined value is more than their separate values added together :)
So if you want to get a lot of points, it's always best to stockpile as much food as you can. Downside to that is that it's easier to shoot the food by accident and it's an easier target for the evil guys...

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:11pm

A surprising amount of depth to this game, it's also really difficult. Those red dudes are so aggravating! I enjoyed it a lot.

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:09am

I found it quite easy, but unique game!

hyouko says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:55am

Rather hard to play with a touchpad, as it turns out. I feel like it would be good to start out with larger blocks and then work down to the smaller ones as time wears on.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:20am

Pretty good! Had fun playing it, nice job.

Kuchalu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:25am

Fun, addictive and difficult. Well done.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:26am

Nice idea! A bit hard though...

EpiphanyG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Cute little game! My first instinct was to run around destroying everything but then moving the food was quite tough. Was much better when I stood near the beast hole and destroyed stuff close by. Quite interesting that it forces you to play different to what you'd normally expect to do.

It gets hectic very quickly though. :D

SzRaPnEL says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Enemies evolving is a nice feature :)

Pinktreeleaf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Never got how to combine the food.

Grafter says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Fun Game! Well done!

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Nice game!

GamerTaters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:56am

Challenging game. Simple and fun.

atombrot says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:41am

Very funny idea but it's rather hard. Could imagine that this would be very fun to play with a twin stick shooter control scheme on the gamepad.

0Creds says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Pretty cool, but quite difficult :D I enjoyed it. Good job.

noom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:55am

Tough!

jsspiegel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:25am

Nice concept, very challenging!

May 3, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Cool idea but it's really hard. I think it could benefit from an easy mode where the game speed was halved or something

littleball says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Good, but I think I needed a proper mouse rather than a trackpad to really enjoy it. Well done.

Katamori says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:44am

Annoying after a point, but I love it overall.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:57am

hahaha

Tuism says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:15am

Mechanically interesting, I really like the idea, but a few implementation problems leave it difficult and unfun to play.
1. The fact that you can shoot the food to diminish disincentivises you to shoot the red guys (or the blue guys)
2. The tinyness of the targets (food and creatures) makes it REALLY hard to get a hit or to roll them around.
3. I ended up just letting the blue guys through and killing the red guys, which got really boring after a while.
4. Needs more feedback on behaviours you want to encourage - like getting food to roll into a big one should make you feel WOOO! By providing visual feedback (juice). Maybe some kind of combo indicator.

Overall great idea that can use some polish :)

JaJ says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:34pm

I have to agree that everything was a bit too small, it was really hard to get anything done in terms of merging food. The concept is really nice, though!

May 4, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Very tough game. I wish you could right-click move haha

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:00pm

It needs bigger bullets, better graphics, screen shake, recoil and better sounds. I like the idea, though!
Good thing to destroy the food when shooting on it and the enemies going to it! That allows some tactics.
As many of my arcade games this soon gets repetitive.
What helps is adding levels/waves (with upgrades, stronger enemies etc.) so you've a feeling of progress as player.

All in all this idea has great potential, but you still got a lot to learn when it comes to implementation.

May 5, 2014 @ 12:05am

Some enemies are so little and hard to shoot. But is a great game!

wschorn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:33pm

wow squinty but fun

ALobker says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Totally frustrating but fun!

Snoother says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Shooting is a bit slow when you consider how small both the bullets and enemies are, but it nevertheless was fun. Audio works really well too.

jsmars says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:19am

Nice game but music got annoying quick :)

Toby Pinder says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:18pm

I like the concept, I think it could use a bit of polishing though. It'd be nice if there were powerups or something. I'd prefer if the enemies were larger and tankier though, which would add incentive for weapon upgrades etc.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Simple but effective. Starts easy but ramps up the difficulty nicely after a few minutes. Good game.

mustaine says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:34am

So tiny. I think these sprites could be much bigger.

ChuiGum says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:39am

Like the innovation!

romandtom says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Cool idea :D
It was a little too hard for me.
But yet it was quite fun ;)

fullmontis says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:39pm

The concept is great, I wish the sprites were a little bigger cause it's quite hard to have fine control when you have a hard time even seeing stuff.

May 8, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Could not quite figure out the game in a min. but I liked it. I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/f3WpQDAZRnI

hbocao says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:38pm

I got 222 :D
Congrats on finishing the game! Simple and kinda addictive. Good job!

Martin Ysa says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:18pm

nice game.

alvivar says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:45pm

I like the idea. Feed something by dragging food (?) from killing things. If you add some fx, it could be an interesting arcade.

Two recommendations:
+ Make the bullet bigger.
+ Screen shake when you shoot/hit something.

BadPaul34 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:37am

Funny little game! Would have like different levels. But it's a nice try for a 48h compo ;)

Sheepolution says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:39pm

I like the idea, but not the execution. Everything is really small, so it's very hard to see and hit stuff. The idea of pushing food in the hole is also annoying.

mark.goetz says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:53pm

I like the combination of mechanics! There's a lot of interesting tradeoffs for what you should try to do. I did think the movement for pushing food was a little clunky, and I thought it was a little too hard to kill things, but the idea is great.

XenosNS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Cute game, liked the controls

JoshOS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Nice game, music is a little bit repetitive though.

elefantopia says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:58am

Cute fun game! The objects may be a bit too small to aim for or to combine food, but adds to the challenge.

ninjacharlie says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:45pm

It could have used a little bit of a steeper difficulty ramp (it was pretty easy at the beginning), but I liked the sharpshooting-in-the-crowd thing. Pretty cool. Good job :)

foodzilla says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:06am

Really hard... but kind of fun.

Meedoc says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Nice game! Slow at the beginning but in the end, it becomes quite challenging!

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:45am

Hard game, but I enjoyed playing!

soy_yuma says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Good game! I found pushing the food around a bit hard. Maybe because the game plays in a small screen? But the idea is original :-)

aelita1992 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:31am

The game is still in very early development stage, some upgrades would be awesome to see. Hope you'll extend the gameplay

Make A Game says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:10pm

So tiny and hard.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]