Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Crustacean Farm

by LandoSystems - Jam Entry

Thanks for checking out our Ludum Dare 29 entry: Crustacean Farm!
-----------------------------------------------------------------
##### CONTROLS #######
####################
Move left or right: A/D, Left/Right Arrow, or move mouse to edge of screen
Push up blocks: 1-8 number keys, or click the block icon in the middle on the bottom of the screen
####################
####################

Your goal is to get the surface dwellers off the planet. Help them achieve this goal by raising resources through the planet for them to harvest.

The faith of the surface dwellers is required in order to create new resources. You push the resources up to the people on the surface, and they will use them to create the structures they need to be able to get off the planet.

A few other notes:
------------------
Different types of blocks require different amounts of faith, so if a block is grayed out wait until you've built up enough faith to push it up. You can push up dirt if you just want to get an existing block up to the top layer cheaply.

The surface dwellers won't harvest a resource if they don't have space for it, if it looks like they don't know what to do, push more block types up.

** Winning requires refined resources: fuel, circuits, and steel **

Meteors will crash occasionally which provides the meteor resource when harvested.
Factories can turn Gold into Circuits, Iron into Steel, and Meteors into Fuel.
A Temple will slowly turn grapes into Faith.

========================================================
Team:
-----
Doug Graham, Brian Ploeckelman, Brian Rossman, Ian McNamara, Colin Kennedy, John Hoopes, Jason Ploeckelman

========================================================
Asset Sources:
--------------
Art:
Surface dweller sprites: http://opengameart.org/content/victims-and-villagers
Resource icons: http://opengameart.org/content/100-glitch-icons
Some user interface: http://www.kenney.nl/assets
(all other art done by team members)

Music: Jason Ploeckelman

Sound effects from freesound.org: usernames
Benboncan, j1987, nfrae, reinsamba, moonfisher, uagadugu, sonsdebarcelona, Bekir_VirtualDJ, CosmicD, stevelalonde, dheming, jobro

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#14Innovation(Jam)4.10
#27Theme(Jam)4.00
#89Overall(Jam)3.71
#111Fun(Jam)3.50
#259Audio(Jam)3.32
#292Humor(Jam)2.77
#292Mood(Jam)3.22
#321Graphics(Jam)3.52

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48am

Couldn't figure out how to get blocks to push up.... :/

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:51am

this game is crazy. I like it. won in 6 days? I feel like a champ.

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:52am

Wasn't entirely sure what I was doing, there was a lot of UI to take in but it looked like I was making progress. Pretty neat.

Exeneva says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:55am

Very innovative take on the theme. I had fun, but found the game a bit hard to get into since I wasn't quite sure how to gauge the citizens' reactions. The game is very well done, the audio fits nicely, and there is a significant amount of polish.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:55am

Nice game, the concept is very interesting and original. Great idea. I love LD for those kind of non traditional games like yours :D

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:56am

Very unique use of the theme!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57am

Very nice, liked the twist on the god game genre. Pushing resources up makes it stand against traditional games where you make changes from above.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:58am

Really nice game! I really like your theme interpretation (it's pretty unique) you don't know what resources the people wants.

mneubrand says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:02am

Nice graphics and polished gameplay. Was a bit hard to figure out what to push so I just ended up pushing a mix of everything to the surface :)

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:03am

Nice job. Once I figured out what I was doing, it was quite fun.

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:12am

wow this is amazing for only 72 hours! i had myself playing it for a lot longer than i should have haha. great job!

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17am

Nice job! I played this game for quite some time, it's strangely addicting! I do think it could use a bit more feedback, because it took me at least 4 days before I figured out that the people actually wanted specific things! I was originally hoping if I gave them enough stuff they would all just go away :)

yo_milo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:18am

I did not know how I won, but I won, and it was really satisfying...

Took me 8 days... Nice game once you get the hang of it... Will replay.

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:20am

I won in 7 days haha, really nice game, played until the end!

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

Cool idea. (8 days 4 hour, 2 min).

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03am

Neat idea! A lot of things to keep track of, but very well polished!

SecularBaron says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:52pm

That was a really cool game. Fun = 5

Kep says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:25pm

I took me a while to understand what I was supposed to do, but nothing bad happened, so I kept going. I eventually got into a groove and started giving people the resources they wanted. Learning how to play naturally was kinda fun in itself.
Well done! (5/5)

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:36am

What a strange concept. I liked it. So weird though. :) Took me awhile to figure out what to do but then it was strangely hypnotic (maybe the music helped) as I attempted to figure the system out. I played for quite awhile and even though they didn't get to space, I did manage to build out a factory, temple, a ton of houses and had a good bit of fun along the way.

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Excellent visuals

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Concept is interesting, but missing instructions and feedback.
Didn't explain how to push blocks, and if it was a good move or not.

But still, very original, and has potential.

tacs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Best game for me so far. I completed it in just under 7 days. Now I rest.

jellymann says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Loved this game :) Reminds me of Reus, but its quite different. The earthquake mechanic is brilliant.

Frump says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Awesome! I had to stop playing so I could rate more games but I felt like I could have kept going. Very cool and interesting.

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Brilliant, good take on the theme. At first I was confused how it worked so but after pressing a couple of the buttons that you posted on this page I saw how the mechanic worked and was immediately hooked.

ninjascript says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:15am

Nicely complex.

LPGhatguy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:40am

A really fun game. I loved the concept. Great job!

giordanno92 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:52am

Damn, took me 10 days to win this. Very unique game, the theming is very well used in this one. I liked the fact that it would slowly get harder as time progresses and I wasn't sure if it would end. Great idea, great gameplay, good graphics. Congrats. And it uses LibGDX \O/

mollymus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Awesome! I'm not sure exactly what it is about this game that I like so much, but there's something thats for sure!:) (Beat the game in 6days 22hours)

xandy says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:52am

very innovative and interesting game design and good implementation!

benmcnelly says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:28am

Didn't take long to get the hang of, nice mechanics and loved all the small touches.

GAFBlizzard says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:10am

Oddly addictive. Became very laggy 4-7 days in, on Firefox 28.0. I was never sure if wheat/stone/wood/trees did much.

ZYXer says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Wow! This is a great game! Took me quite some time to understand what the different resources do, but once you get a hang of it, it's quite rewarding. Well done!

jsmars says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:06am

Really nice game! a bit hard to understand exactly what to do from the start

binasa says ...
Jul 9, 2017 @ 12:19am

Update the app for: New Article Views Performance enhancements Bug fixes. http://ultrafreewaredownloadplace.top This application lets you view information about Web sites based on their domain name, but it suffers from some stability issues.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]