Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

DeepStep

by AlbertoSM - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Phew! Submitted 8 minutes before the deadline! O_o

DeepStep is a little rhythm game where you control a little compass that moves in a grid of squares. Some of them will light up in a different color, so your goal is to land on as many of them as possible to score more points!

The game's flow is done, but sadly I wasn't able to complete the full track of the song! Still, this could lead to big things...

It was done with Unity 4.2 and NGUI.
Graphics are from several collections from OpenGameArt.com.
The main theme of the game is the song "Remember Me" by Matt Reeves (mattreeves.co.uk)

Hope you guys like it!
===================

UPDATE: Web version available now!

Thanks to all of your reviews :) And yes, I'm a button holder as well xD
i'll make sure to review all your games too! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#32Audio3.97
#168Innovation3.68
#385Mood3.18
#545Graphics3.18
#594Overall3.15
#596Fun2.97
#1008Humor1.74
#1175Theme2.14

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52am

Cool idea, though I seemed to have some synchonization issues on my end. The rhythm of the mover and the music went out of sync pretty early on. I was generally terrible at timing the direction and found it easier to just hold the button.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:29pm

nice idea for a puzzle game. like the title as well, has a nice ring to it. well done!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Nifty little idea. Went a bit out of sync towards the end but still pretty cool! Managed only 265 in the end though.

TomboFry says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Rhythm games are awesome, I'd like to make one myself
However, I wasn't entirely sure what I was doing, even though I had instructions.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Another button holder here. :D Nice polished graphics and a clean interface.

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Didn't feel the theme was quite there, but spent a good time playing this. Weird/unpredictable controls, but there's definively something.

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16pm

I also found the game a bit out of sync. I'm bad at rythm, but not that much! The concept and the music are awesome. Good job!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Good puzzles and use of The theme.

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Failed to download the web content - looks good though.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:37am

Beautiful song ;)

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:06pm

(Te comento en español, porque te he visto en anait ;) )
El juego no esta nada mal, la idea me parece muy original, felicidades!

May 1, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Good game, the rhythm mechanic is cool.

Tuism says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:42am

Interesting concept! I feel like it could have been communicated better or worked a bit differently. For one, I'm used to four beat so a three beat really really confused the crap out of me. Then, the flashing green thing is too fast - as with all music games, I think instead of flashing, a trail of some kind that you can look anticipate would work best. Then the controls - instead of having to hold down the button until that moment, I think if it just took the last input and applied it as held down it would be better. It would also give it the ability to score differently according to accuracy in pressing, like other music games :)

Interesting but needs some more care in design! :) Great music!

Rodaja says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:54am

Tener que mover al ritmo al final dificultaba el movimiento más por no poder parar de moverse que de ritmo (era mucho más fácil mantener la tecla pulsada). La música y los gráficos pintan bien.

Thorig says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:43pm

The controls are not really as I excepted to be, but the idea behind the game is nice. If the controls were better to understand this would have been a really good game.

dj_pale says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Very nice idea! Seemed like the tick became out of synch after a while. Also, would be nice to add some more feedback, also before transitioning.

dj_pale says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Also, this should be listed as a Jam entry since it uses pre-made assets from other ppl.

Jeffalisk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Liked the idea and the feel of syncing the gameplay to the music. Good stuff!

ActionRemix says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Is it possible to get all of the squares on a screen? I tried to pass through them all but I couldn't think of a way to do it if the distance between them wasn't a multiple of 3.

kevinAlbs says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Cool concept. I would have liked it to have been a little more difficult, as in having more red squares. But very nice!

Kingtrez says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Nice idea :) A man with out beat and rhythm like myself can not play it but i showed my brother and he enjoyed it as well. Gj :)

dkkarate says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Game was perfectly synced for me. I really liked the idea and the music was great. All in all the game looked really polished and nice. Very well done :)

vigrid says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:43am

Interesting game mechanic - a rhythm game, but with a twist. I wish the game was really synced to the music it played.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]