Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ant Slaves

by Kotucz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You control swarm of ant creatures.
Their purpose is to feed the queen and replicate.
Ants have one common mind - so they behave all the same if possible.
Ants can walk, climb (when facing wall), dig and carry one object.
The queen cannot move, but it can spawn new ant when fed properly (leaves are best nutrient).
Each consumed leaf will give you additional ant to your colony. The more ant the better. No victory condition - only fun.

Controls:
WASD or arrows - move
F or spacebar - dig/take/drop/feed

Enjoy! ;-)

Created using:
Java + LibGDX, IntelliJ IDEA, GIMP

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#143Innovation3.73
#166Theme3.73
#574Overall3.17
#654Graphics3.00
#832Fun2.71
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

Gaspard_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Good Idea! Like the simple game-play however it's not perfect:
you can get 2 ants on the same square(they become useless) when one falls on an other.
Nevertheless, good game!

Stepperz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:32am

I really like the idea!! It needs a bit of work but still a nice game so far, i see alot of potetial :)

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Well, it was quite fun indeed :-) I noticed that you can have more ants on the same square, so they usefulness depends on how many are them on that "shared" square. Also it lacks some goal or some threat for the ants.. But all in all it's good entry.
---
A taky zdravim sveho krajana ;-)

KevinWorkman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:45pm

This was pretty neat. I would play an expanded version of this, could make a fun puzzle game.

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:06am

good little game but really difficult to handle

TheOZone says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:09am

Nice concept for a puzzle game. If you would add some way for your ants to get killed it would make it a tricky game where you have to think ahead what actions to do to keep your ants alive.

pkenney says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:13am

Neat, but not enough danger/reward to keep me going for very long... I did have some interesting puzzle moments trying to get a few leaves down. What I liked was trying to get the leaf, you would create a mess in your wake (or with the other ants) and then you'd have to try to get the other ants to dig out the leaf-carrier and make a path for him.

JoeProgram says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:19am

Very interesting! The mechanic is really fascinating, particularly when the ants start crawling on top of each other. Would have loved some animation or alternate frames for the ants so it illustrated them standing on diagonal blocks or climbing. The light mechanic seemed unnecessary, particularly when a bunch of ants got together in an inferno of light. The ant theme fits the mechanic so perfectly though - I love it!

noom says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:31am

Cool, got a bit too bright with too many ants in the one place. Nice graphics and innovative concept on controls.

littleball says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:41pm

I like the lighting. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]