Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sand Shark

by Recursiveanomaly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sand Shark

Life is hard in the desert... for everyone on the surface.

Controls:
Use WASD or Arrow Keys to move.
Use Space Bar to Attack.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#126Humor3.39
#157Theme3.75
#187Audio3.42
#350Fun3.28
#398Overall3.33
#440Graphics3.33
#455Innovation3.20
#514Mood3.03

Comments

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36am

One of the most original ideas so far! Cool game!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39am

The movement sound and shark graphic are both incredibly satisfying. Simple but fun gameplay, but I kept playing for the sound haha

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:40am

Personal fav from this jam

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:56am

Really enjoyed this one, so fun to play as a shark :D

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:58am

Didn´t get the goal. but nice to look at

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:28am

Had a little problem because of not having the necessary libraries, but just in case anyone else gets an error asking for MSVCR110.dll, here you can find it: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679
===
Now, about the game. One thing for sure, first time I ever see not just a sand shark, but a shark that swims in reverse!
The perspective, controls and the way the scenario rotates reminds me of an specific arcade game named Metal Hawk. But this one includes the natural badassery of a shark!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:27am

This is a really neat idea. I like the base mechanic but the skeletons kept spawning right on top of me most of the time, so I'd get instantly killed. The sharks "NOM" noise is great and I think you did a nice job with the theme.

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:16pm

LOL, I had fun with this one! Graphics are very cool, congratulations!
Have you seen this (or were inspired by this)?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_qEfO5iNicI

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28pm

superb! my high score is 20

Rusky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:20am

He who controls the spice, controls the universe! I mean-

Toki Anholmes says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Hey great game here ! The gameplay is very cool and Itried several time to beat my score.

The fact that we need the mouse at the titlescreen and the game over screen is also a little bit annoying... Maybe there is no need for a game over screen and the game could automatically restart (think Super Meat Boy). And I think that less rocks should be better, to make player movements easier.

However, it is a great entry, with great fun potential.

GlowingSnail says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:10pm

When I try to run it, I get this error: Not a valid Win32 application.

:(

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Shark is a little bit slow for me. But idea is very nice.
Also liked your music!

Idkfawin32 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Excellent animation/audio

aelita1992 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Haha, lots of fun :D But some graphics could use a rework, hope the game will be further improved

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]