Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Down Through Sins

by Toki Anholmes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
Mood4.53
#7Audio4.23
#45Graphics4.30
#53Overall3.93
#168Innovation3.68
#281Fun3.38
#299Theme3.56
#595Humor2.38

Comments

tanjent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53am

Very good atmosphere and art style. The ambient, droning music is very fitting.

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:50pm

The mood was awesome. Great audio, great graphics. Wonderful. Can I please see your source? I couldn't find it.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Really fun game

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Amazing atmosphere, but it crashes for me when it says to press space... :(
The art style is stunning!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Wonderful atmosphere and really fun gameplay ! You did an excellent job !

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Really good game. Audio, Graphics, fun, mood, innovation, all this was very good. Good job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Beautiful game. Love the mechanics, your audio and graphic style is brilliant.

Superb.

FGM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Amazing style. The music and graphics really work well together.

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Very cool graphics and sounds, creating a good atmosphere. I especially liked all the spike-y-circle-y-spinning things.

Akz- says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Really a beautiful game. Difficult towards the end, but enjoyed all of it :)

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Very atmospheric, music and graphics both used to great effect.

muramasa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:08pm

This game is so strong. Love the graphical elements used, the sound feedback. Everything is so beautiful.
The gameplay is pretty addicting too.

And I think the message is pretty easy to get. Or the motivation. The "artsy" part. I still find this game can be enjoyed without taking into account that aspect.

Very great.

Strandmullen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:08pm

This was a very cool experience. It looked a bit like Limbo and it was amazing art and map design. The game mechanic was as as well very cool to see.

reheated says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Beautiful art & sound and a fun, original idea. Wish it was longer!

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:12pm

The style and ambience is fabulous. The platforming is fun, if a bit too "trial and death" at times. The premise and core mechanic both work very well, though.

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Wow, impressive visual effects and music for such a short development time. I like the concept, never played a game like it. Great job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Awesome mood and sound. Sadly it closed midway after i've pressed ESC by accident :(
Kudos!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01pm

great art effects, tone and mood. Nailed it. very enjoyable.

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37pm

I liked it! Nice atmosphere. I hated when I got killed in the end of a level...

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:26am

c kool

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:49am

I'm not sure I got the meaning of all this, but I enjoyed the trip

Helopol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:13pm

This is soooo cool <3

geekdrums says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Really unique game. I need some minuits to understand the basic system, but I could get it through the gameplay. Great work!

someone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:21pm

That was cool. Interesting mechanics, though I'm still not entirely sure what the other rings did even after completing it. Great atmosphere and interesting visual style.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Like everyone, I love the art syle here.

Crabman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Awesome, love it!

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:37pm

This is a really great entry. I got stuck on a couple parts and was tempted to quit playing, but pushed through and got to the end. I think checkpoints in the 2nd level would be helpful. Audio was great, visuals were subtle and nicely done. Good job!

Switchbreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:28pm

This is my favorite game I've played so far. I almost didn't go for it because it was download and not web, but I'm glad I did. I loved the mood and the graphics, and especially loved the music. Great job!

Rustam says ...
May 5, 2017 @ 6:02am

This is very educational content and written well for a change. It's nice to see that some people still understand how to write a quality post.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]