Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Transfiguration of the Eternal Monster of Crypts

by Mihael Medan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Was too tired to make more levels.. My first Ludum Dare entry, I'm quite surprised with the achieved, providing I got wasted yesterday. O:)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#276Graphics3.62
#282Mood3.33
#350Fun3.28
#394Audio3.00
#459Overall3.27
#729Humor2.20
#980Theme2.65
#1015Innovation2.42
#1651Coolness42%

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:19am

Nice graphics I love the lighting!

Flam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:29am

Cool game. I loved the audio! Would definitely played more if there was more levels. :D

sirikan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30am

Fun game :).

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32am

I liked the minimalistic pixel style.. nice skull torches.
More levels! that was fun!

The enemies were cool :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46am

This is real good.
Like the graphics, and the eerie mood.

Good going!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:35am

Nice little game with a good learning curve. Even a little final boss (Nice touch at the end too!), overall? Pretty cool! :D

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:51am

Pretty enjoyable! (By the end, was starting to do jump-attack combos...I can see a whole other game based around that)

Also, any game that uses auto-tracker.py is alright in my book :)

Norse Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:19am

Nice game, liked the lighting and the graphics, but I didn't really see how it tied in with the theme. But otherwise, it was fun, and the fighting mechanisms were really cool. Overall, good job for your first LD, and congratulations for actually completing it.

pyrogames says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:19am

I like the simple graphics scheme, but the jumping feels floaty or something. I don't know... it just doesn't feel right.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Wow, this was nice! The graphics with their white outlines have a distinctive look, the lighting is great, and the level design is really nice, too! I had trouble a few times and had to think it through and plan things out, which is always a good sign.

Two minor tuneups I'd recommend: the SFX were a little aggravating, especially the "weapon-swinging" sound in combination with the enemy death noises--you can especially hear this on the last level, when you're constantly swinging your weapon and stuff is constantly dying. Also, the jumping's a little bit fluffy. It's workable, don't get me wrong--pretty good, but the ratio of time up to time down didn't quite do it for me, and would have helped the mood/feel of the game a little.

Thanks for the game! I enjoyed beating it--a good experience overall.

Waterman7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Good job! I liked the enemy design and overall aesthetics a lot.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]