Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Pond

by SunShiranui - Jam Entry

The Pond is a place, hidden from view, where small creatures fight for life.

They live, they reproduce, they die.

You can watch them, or maybe help them.

But in The Pond, everything starts and ends the same way: with life and death.

---
Left click to move the water.
Right click to drop food pellets.
---

This is a simple simulation game I made in a few hours. I usually make something with a team of people but I had an exam on the 28th, so I quickly made this instead.

How long will your colony survive?

Twitter: http://twitter.com/SunShiranui

- Behind the curtain:
For every creature born, there is a chance of genetic mutation. This increases or decreases life expectancy and is hereditary.

Occasionally you might get colored creatures. If you can get a colony composed only of those, post a screenshot!

Food temporarily extends your creatures' life. It's not necessary for survival. Make sure your first two creatures live enough to mate!

Every creature has a randomly generated name. Hover over them to see it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#31Mood(Jam)4.15
#84Innovation(Jam)3.73
#91Audio(Jam)3.78
#163Theme(Jam)3.57
#178Overall(Jam)3.51
#359Fun(Jam)3.01
#490Humor(Jam)2.27
#578Graphics(Jam)2.82

Comments

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02pm

I love this game. So simple. Great idea and very nicely executed. It also has one of my favorite songs :)

Seme says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Wow, just.. Wow. What an amazing game. So simple, but still greates huge impact to the player, at least for me. Music was perfect to build up the mood.

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Incredible. It perfects mood; wonderful minimal design and wonderful music. It's captivating too. Definitely one I'll replay later.

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Great execution of a simple concept. I know it kinda defeats the purpose of the game, but a neat trick I found was to drop pellets in the middle at a slow and constant rate. This causes them to all converge onto one pixel and mate a lot.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Original game, and really realistic "water".

PartyBoat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Super relaxing. Loved it.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Easy enough to continue by placing many food pellets in, but at the same time a beautiful simulation.
Water physics are marvelous and the song fits it perfectly.

Crabman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Wow, that is beautiful!

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Very relaxing and fun. Giving the fish their own names was a nice touch.

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50pm

wow I actually felt a little sad when all my pink ones died! So much from so little! Great job!

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Very relaxing and fun. Giving the fish their own names was a nice touch.

drnick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Very interesting and certainly innovating concept. I like the way you used genetic algorithms. Also, having water mechanics was unexpected: many of us would have just made some semitransparent blue rectangle. The music complements the game quite well. Also, what Custard Games say is true, but it won't detract from the game as you have a choice to use it or not

spartangeek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26pm

funny thing

weazen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Very soothing. I left it open for a while while I was doing other stuff just for the music!

dosER_42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Crashed on start

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: ThePond.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 535eb84c
Fault Module Name: ig4icd32.dll
Fault Module Version: 8.14.10.2230
Fault Module Timestamp: 4cc50139
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 002092cd
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

SunShiranui says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Have you fully extracted the archive?

ViKing Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Relaxing and beautiful. The music fit the mood very well, and the water physics were fantastic. Good job!

Crabman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Yesssssssss! http://imgur.com/xrylD01

SunShiranui says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Haha! Well done! :D

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Feel so mellow now

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:00am

I loved how you named them all, somehow my first 2 times they kept dieing

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:41am

This game made me giggle, because the first time I had an explosion of life without food. On the second and third try the beasties died within 25 seconds and they had food and the water was moving.

rylgh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:16am

lovely

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:32am

So simple, yet so addictive! Very relaxing and cute. Nice job!

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:37am

An outstanding work of art!

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Sweet! Wonderful simplicity!

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Nice one. Its a cool idea :D

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:52pm

I liked this one a lot. One of the more relaxing entries :)

Almax27 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Wonderful mood, good choice of music, well done!

ioboi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Super cool and kind of addictive entry :D

robcozzens says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:33am

Sweeeeet!
So peaceful and pleasant.

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:41am

really neat feel to this

iambored2006 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:14am

I love this! Also, thanks for making the font available, been searching for this one for months.

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:11am

Nice!!!

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:01am

A relaxing good game.
I love the water physics

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:19am

Great for relaxation. Nice and small, maybe a bit too small for my taste. More details in the system would have been nice.

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:41pm

A good, minimalistic simulation, and the water animation is really, really well done. Great work!

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Very calming, good job (:

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:32am

I like this. So soothing. I would totally dig if you expand the concept. Awesome entry.

anissen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Great little game. Very tranquil :)

tomvert says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:50pm

A charming and relaxing game, I love the music, you could add different pond, or the passing of seasons (I don't know). Nice game :)

King_Mew says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Beautiful but simple! I love it!

KayZ says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Nice simulation. But it was soooo sad when Uuxiu, the only child of Xikou died a lonely death, not leaving any other red creature behind. The same goes for Vivii, she never even had a parent of the same color and was always excluded from everything :(.

At one point I had 5 different colors at the same time, with white coming back. https://imgur.com/cvL28h8

gre says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:46pm

quite cool.

whendricso says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 4:17am

Couldn't install, got an unknown error on my Android

ChuiGum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:57am

Very simple yet entertaining

csanyk says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 10:05pm

For black and white dots, they're fascinating to watch.

May 18, 2014 @ 6:50am

Nice little simulation and liked the touch of giving the little creatures names.

Diptoman says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:53am

Relaxing and engaging. The colored mutations made it all worthwhile. Has a great feel to it.

Jeremias says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Retro Aquarium Simulator 2014 :D

jorgemoag says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:34am

mood +5 thnks for making it!

jsmars says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:48am

Lovely idea!

DavidErosa says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:36am

Nice little game. I found that it fits amazingly well on my phone :)

jerombd says ...
May 27, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Really great simulation game (but is it really game afterall?).
The audio track - Erik Satie <3 - is a nice touch

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]