Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Bigger Fish

by jhrrsn - Jam Entry

Pilot your deep submergence vehicle (DSV) into the depths of an unfamiliar ocean, in search of an ancient lost city.

Just remember, there's always a bigger fish.


Made with love by @jhrrsn, @gavinpinkney & @fenixtao.

-----

02/05/14 : Small fixes in final level to aid completion!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#125Mood(Jam)3.66
#150Audio(Jam)3.57
#151Theme(Jam)3.60
#326Graphics(Jam)3.50
#358Overall(Jam)3.23
#391Innovation(Jam)2.97
#434Fun(Jam)2.90
#451Humor(Jam)2.37

Comments

Gaeel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Got stuck, I blew rocks into a tunnel and couldn't get through...

Otherwise, nice movement system and graphical style...

Lizzip says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26pm

I really liked the visuals and the audio in this game. The sound gave it a really good underwater atmosphere.

I was doing well until I got to a bit with 2 black spray parts where I managed to shove the crab across but then I got stuck on the other side, and I couldn't figure out how to progress after that.

All in all a nice little game. Shame I got stuck and couldn't make it to the end.

urisensei says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Installed but couldn't move. I'm on win7

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:40pm

The windows build doesn't work for me (windows 7). Once I get past the intro text, the sub just sits there. No mouse or keyboard presses make anything happen :(

Junber says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:43pm

The DSV doesnt seem to move for me.

nSun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Nice artworks and sound-design.
Also get stuck into walls in last level : http://past.is/zhGZ
But I reach the ending point and see the big fish (nice ending scene).

jhrrsn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Anyone who struggled to move in the game , that's now fixed! Thanks for playing & rating!

Nichii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Fun game, cool puzzles but its hard to control that hermit crab T.T

jomomomo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Ugh couldn't get the damn snail to block the big vent! Neat game, thanks for making & sharing it.

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Really like the puzzles in this game. Too bad the sound of the engine was louder then the music. I did enjoyed myself while playing.

trueyomic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Neat little exploration game. Couldn't get very far because the rocks would get stuck on things very easily making it frusterating to advance. I liked the atmosphere, especially with the glowing objects in the darkness and the music.

Bekokstover says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:22pm

I'm on OS/X and the DSV does not move for me either. I think the controls are not configured properly. Changing them in the setup screen does nothing to help. Fix this guys, so we can play your game!

urisensei says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:17pm

This time, I was able to move, loved the peaceful mood of the game. Great music!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:40pm

pretty nice game!

Sparrow says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Cool game with nice graphics. Love the mood you guys invoke! Good job.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:04am

Loved the graphics and audio. Played 6-7 times and got stuck on the snail/black jets at the bottom. Got past 3 of them and a phys bug had the 3rd tube putting the snail on the roof and I had no way to get past 4th. I really loved the mood here and just exploring. Would keep working on it and polish up the physics. Nice effort.

Linkigi says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:27am

cool game with a great atmosphere.

Lafie says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:53pm

The graphics and sound design complemented each other very well, and created the scene for a nice underwater adventure.

The movement and air blasting mechanics were intuitive and enjoyable, although I did manage to get myself stuck in a plant because of the way the player's hitbox flips when you change direction.

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Just played the fixed win7 build. Nice job! The audio and atmosphere here are great. It was really fun to just move around and explore, looking at all the neat stuff. I did manage to get stuck in the physics a few times, and moved out of the level completely once. You should fix up the colliders and release a post-compo version. Fun game! :)

osthekake says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Very nice graphics and pleasing gameplay. I got stuck where I couldn't get a shellfish to block a vent. It moved over it randomly at one point and I moved through, but then there was another vent right away.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]