Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sunny Day

by lasergans - Jam Entry

It's sunny today. Nice for you, but you know, who has to suffer because of it?
Let the sun enjoy some new places!


Game made solo from scratch with JS+HTML5 Canvas, GFX: Pixelmator

Because I hadn't much time to spend, it became a very short game.
So enjoy every second ;)


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#281Theme(Jam)3.33
#658Innovation(Jam)2.33
#731Graphics(Jam)2.13
#738Overall(Jam)2.25
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

Gaeel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Controls feel very wonky, it was only on my 4th or 5th attempt that I got through the first trap, and I'm still not sure if there's a technique or if I just fluked...

I like the idea of a no-jump platformer though, maybe this could be a mobile time-waster with a little polish and some tilt controls?

JoshOS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:35am

Hey there;

great concept but I personally don't think it was executed as well as it could have been. I like the previous commenter took about 5 attempts to do the first challenge - I noticed that the sun's size decreases; great concept indeed, however, because the sun's too busy freaking out all over the place it took me a while to identify it was getting smaller. I think if the game mechanics were explained better (sun gets smaller) - and the sun appeared stationary when you weren't moving, that would greatly help the playability of this game.

I do again, agree with the other commenter. Interesting idea of a no-jump platformer, and this would work very well in a mobile environment! Perhaps after the compo refine this game and it could work out to be a little gem of a game :)

mattpattie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Very nice concept. struggled at first :)

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39pm

I gave up after about ten attempts to get past the first spike, there doesn't seem to be anything I can do to control the sun.

Nice idea bout the sun falling though

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Can't get past the first trap either. Not going to rate it since I only saw the first three screens.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Can't get past the first area, it's an interesting concept, but it definitely needs some control refinement.

iMer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:47pm

"Sun got poked to death".. had to giggle
Silly game, controlls are a bit tricky though

RadioLemon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Hey, nice job finishing a game!

I was only able to get past the 3rd screen before dying immediately after entering the 4th screen. The sun was hard to control..

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:07pm

I couldn't get past the first trap.

elefantopia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:54am

Interesting, but too difficult to control the sun past the spikes.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:42am

Woah, kinda weird.
But fun that I actually play the sun!

Belvar says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Cool game but the physics could be enhanced. I didn't feel like I had a total control over the sun.
Also, having to press Y or Z two times to restart isn't intuitive at all, especially for a "die and retry" game like that. It doesn't seem important but having to press enter or a direction key would have been really better and would have made the game more addictive.
The drawings are cute and original.

davidwparker says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Neat concept, reminds me of falling in old-school mega man games... but the collisions were a bit off. I died in the middle of nothing.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]