Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Creature Below

by hissssssssss - 48 Hour Compo Entry

***05/11/14***
The first of hopefully several Post-Compo versions is up! It comes with a lot of changes and bugfixes.

After falling into a hole, you stumble on a frozen underground lake, and at its center, a palace of ice and stone. Can you brave the palace, and the creature lurking
beneath its depths, to find your way home again?

Search the dungeon for the tools that will help you escape.

If the creature gets too close to you, it will break through ice and snow to kill you, but on stone you have a little safety.

----CONTROLS----
A, S - switch tools, if you have any
SPACE - use tools if you have any
Arrow Keys - move

SPACE will confirm at the title screen and continue at the Game Over screen.


*****
Sounds like this wound up pretty difficult! Here are some tips:

TIPS:

1. If you stand on stone for a while, The Creature loses track of you and goes away for a bit. He`ll start hunting you shortly after you walk on ice or snow again. Use patches of stone to your advantage!

2. The Creature isn`t very maneuverable. Sliding in different directions while on ice helps keep him away from you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#490Theme3.34
#508Overall3.22
#514Mood3.03
#535Innovation3.09
#540Fun3.03
#669Audio2.55
#965Humor1.83
#1010Graphics2.47

Comments

Enzo42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:07pm

So hard

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Enzo42: Which parts did you find hard? Was it a problem with how the creature tracks you? Or was it the regular enemies?

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:38pm

I think that the creature is very fast, or you very slow, but quite nice Legend of Zelda's like game

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38pm

I really want to try this out, the graphics look nice, too bad I'm on linux

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24am

Conchlab Games:

I should have been more clear! The source is .py, so it should run on Linux too!

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33am

Conchlab Games: Let me amend that: it's Python 2.7, but has a dependency on Pygame 1.9. Pretty sure Linux and Mac come with Python 2.7, and Pygame can be downloaded at http://www.pygame.org/download.shtml

xbcw says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:24am

Nice and creepy.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:29am

Great try! :D I like it :)

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30am

I like the sliding mechanic! The game is pretty difficult, I couldn't get too far away from the starting room.
Also kudos for using Python and packaging it :D Python ftw!

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:32am

XrXr: Thanks! Getting the movement on stone vs. ice took some tweaking, so it`s nice that the ice has a good feel to it.

If you stand on stone for a while, the creature stops hunting you temporarily. And of course, he can`t kill you on stone either. Patches of stone are your safety net.

gene-z says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:34am

Interesting,, but hard

ajfischer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:34am

Quite nice but hard!

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:44am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This is neat, though due to the nature of the graphics I had a pretty hard time figuring out what to do and how well I was doing it. I really like the design of the player character, though I think that the game could generally feel more "featured" with either smaller rooms or a quicker walking pace. I wasn't actually able to get much of anywhere.

However, I really liked the way the different textures of ground made me move in different ways, and the combination of running from monsters aboveground and below was pretty new! Thanks for the entry, and good luck~

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Like the game, as constructive feedback: it was unclear where i had to go it would maybe be help full if it had a minimap, it took me a long time to find out that one of the rooms was bigger than the others and that it moved along with you, this could have been easier to notice if the door was placed in a position so that you see the map move

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Pretty fun Zelda-like gameplay. The creature's pretty creepy, thanks to the sound! :)

Rusky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:14am

That was intense. Good challenge level, awesome atmosphere. Pretty engaging.

Also btw, it runs fine in Wine if you don't want to figure out Python versions.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:45pm

I don't find the game too hard. It might be too hard if creatures reset when you die, but they don't. The hardest thing for me to deal with were the blue snowman things. That last run through the tunnel with the wings was tricksy.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Crowbeak: The tunnel escape was definitely designed so that A) it's impossible without the wings and b)it looks dangerous and you panic even if you have the wings.

SuperMsp10 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:09am

nice graphics

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:52am

Very, very hard game. Had a hard time figuring out some of the puzzles. But! It was fun to explore and discover the mechanics that made progression possible. Keep it up!

XenosNS says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Very nice. Like the idea of avoiding the creature below you. Reminds me of Adventure on Atari somewhat. Sliding was fun too.

Almost says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:01am

When I go through stairs it puts me below the other side making me go through again if I am holding up. it would be better to put me on the opposite side of the stairs so that I am moving away from them.

Also the blobs have a ton of health.

There is a tall vertical section where I walk slowly. I made it really far by juking up and down but eventually died. I do not know if it is meant to be possible or if some equipment elsewhere makes it easier. (A bit later I found an item to move quickly, so I assume it was not meant to be possible)

It probably shouldnt say game over since you don't lose any equipment. Instead, it could respawn you instantly at the last room you entered (or at the start as is)

I did beat it though, with 3 deaths.

ChuiGum says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:14am

Fun, like the graphics too

javierecf says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:23am

This was interesting, but really hard, (really loud too). The fact that you can only use one item at any time, made it really challenging, you need to really think everystep. I did not pass the last tunnel though.

ActionRemix says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:28am

I'm loving all of the short Metroidvanias in this jam

v3games says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:44am

This definitely gets a 5 for fun. I've played very few LD games where I thought "I wish this was longer". I played all the way through and really enjoyed each mechanic. Good work.

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:48pm

I had fun with this one, even if it was a bit frustrating at times. For instance, it's a bit tricky to control which direction you're facing (which is important for using weapons), and the monster is probably a bit too fast (and maybe even follows the screen? It felt like it when going through the final corridor).

Despite that, this is a fun submission. And let me say that the sound used for the monster was perfect, as it did a great job of both building tension and indicating when you're in danger (I'm giving you a high Audio score just for this).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]